Ultimate space simulation software

 
kedijack12
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 May 2023 21:14

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

09 Sep 2023 21:16

I would like to report a bug which I have only found occurring at one planet so far.

The issue is the planets moons aren't casting eclipse shadows(The planet itself does though as it should)even when I have eclipse shadows
turned on.

I haven't found out why this is happening or it occurring anywhere else so far.

I have attached two photos as an example.
Attachments
20230909183128_1.jpg
there should be an eclipse on the planet.
20230909183818_1.jpg
you can see the moon which should be casting a shadow.
 
Mihajlo
Observer
Observer
Posts: 12
Joined: 12 Nov 2017 16:24

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

20 Sep 2023 13:56

Today I've found a neutron star and it changes color from blue (https://ibb.co/yFdDTjK) to white (https://ibb.co/ZVqVLr5) when I change distance or camera angle.
Attachments
se.log
(162.68 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
 
nepenthes13
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Sep 2023 05:17

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

30 Sep 2023 05:39

Hello. This is the first message I'm writing because I need help solving a bug that's causing a lot of issues in my work. I'm a planetarium specialist, and I create my shows using Space Engine.

The problem I'm currently facing, which probably appeared after the latest updates, is as follows:

The video capture mode through script execution is no longer able to properly execute a spline path. In fact, the same issue occurs even when I try to execute a spline path from the console without recording any footage. What happens is that when the spline path starts, the camera remains stationary at the center of the celestial body to which it's attached (usually at the center of a planet). It only becomes free at the end of the spline path, continuing the rest of the script if applicable. The only way I've found to correctly execute and record a spline path is through the spline path editor, starting the video capture from there. However, this is not a suitable solution because it's impossible to synchronize the spline path with other scripts (e.g., to speed up time or adjust exposure or other parameters during the execution of the spline path). Are you aware of this bug? I don't think it's my issue because I've uninstalled, reinstalled, and even formatted my PC to see if I could resolve it, but it persists.

I appreciate your attention and sincerely hope that a solution to this problem can be found.

Thanks
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1781
Joined: 24 Oct 2016 11:34
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

30 Sep 2023 08:56

Hello. This is the first message I'm writing because I need help solving a bug that's causing a lot of issues in my work. I'm a planetarium specialist, and I create my shows using Space Engine.

The problem I'm currently facing, which probably appeared after the latest updates, is as follows:

The video capture mode through script execution is no longer able to properly execute a spline path. In fact, the same issue occurs even when I try to execute a spline path from the console without recording any footage. What happens is that when the spline path starts, the camera remains stationary at the center of the celestial body to which it's attached (usually at the center of a planet). It only becomes free at the end of the spline path, continuing the rest of the script if applicable. The only way I've found to correctly execute and record a spline path is through the spline path editor, starting the video capture from there. However, this is not a suitable solution because it's impossible to synchronize the spline path with other scripts (e.g., to speed up time or adjust exposure or other parameters during the execution of the spline path). Are you aware of this bug? I don't think it's my issue because I've uninstalled, reinstalled, and even formatted my PC to see if I could resolve it, but it persists.

I appreciate your attention and sincerely hope that a solution to this problem can be found.

Thanks
Hi, thank you for your report, with this I have been able to easily replicate the bug. We will pass it to the devs right away.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1781
Joined: 24 Oct 2016 11:34
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 Oct 2023 11:39

nepenthes13, the cause for the bug has been found and the fix is in testing, it should be available in the next update for the beta branch.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
ITOKAWA
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Oct 2020 07:04

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

12 Oct 2023 04:43

I want to install DE431 (lnxm13000p17000.431) in Space Engine.
I downloaded lnxm13000p17000.431 in data/ephemerides/, changed JPLEphemerides in main_user.cfg and started Space Engine. 
se.log shows [MT] ERROR: Analytical orbit model "Mars-DE" is not initialized - check ephemerides files! 
What should I do?
I forgot to attach the Log.
I noticed some other issue in my log when I tried myself, I'll get back to you with more info, thanks
Have you found out about that issue?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1781
Joined: 24 Oct 2016 11:34
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

12 Oct 2023 09:00

Have you found out about that issue?
Not yet. Actually, since the results in my log are different, can you post a direct link for the source of your DE431 file? That would be helpful, thanks
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
ITOKAWA
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Oct 2020 07:04

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

14 Oct 2023 10:22

Have you found out about that issue?
Not yet. Actually, since the results in my log are different, can you post a direct link for the source of your DE431 file? That would be helpful, thanks
Sorry for the delay, but I found the file to download and will post it.
https://ssd.jpl.nasa.gov/ftp/eph/planets/Linux/de431/
 
ITOKAWA
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Oct 2020 07:04

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

15 Oct 2023 02:27

Have you found out about that issue?
Not yet. Actually, since the results in my log are different, can you post a direct link for the source of your DE431 file? That would be helpful, thanks
Sorry for the delay, but I found the file to download and will post it.
https://ssd.jpl.nasa.gov/ftp/eph/planets/Linux/de431/
Here is the direct link https://ssd.jpl.nasa.gov/ftp/eph/planets/Linux/de431/lnxm13000p17000.431
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 289
Joined: 09 Dec 2016 14:29

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

17 Oct 2023 02:14

Hello, I just noticed the Milky Way looks pink/purple now and initially I thought it was caused from an workshop addon item named The MilkyWay Overhall so I uninstalled it but it looks the same. I moved the camera outside of the milky way and although when you are outside of the galactic plane it appears more normal there is a definite pink/purple hue/aura at a zone around 20-50 % from the center and edges i.e. at the zone where the solar system is found.
I deleted the shader cash folder just to be sure but still it looks the same. I am including the SE.LOG file for reference.
Also I checked Andromeda galaxy in case it looks pink/purple too but it looks normal. My 2ry thought was that the issue may be caused because I upgraded my OS to 11 this weekend but the issue also occurs on my 2ry older PC which is on 10. Thanks for any help.
PS: The monitoring RivaTuner overlay is not causing the issue as I disabled/enabled it with no change.
Image
Image
Attachments
se.log
(647.32 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
shader.log
(122.27 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
MSIX299MB,[email protected](8C/16T),[email protected](CL16),GTX1080Ti@11GBGDDR5X,OS:WIN10x64@2xSSDSATA3RAID0
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1781
Joined: 24 Oct 2016 11:34
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

17 Oct 2023 09:02

Hello, I just noticed the Milky Way looks pink/purple now
try this:
  • Check consistency for your local files: From Steam Library, right-click on SpaceEngine > Properties > Installed files > Verify integrity of game files 
  • Update / reinstall your graphics drivers, latest for your system are 545.84.
  • Use the program with no mods, which means moving temporarily the /addons folder outside of the /SpaceEngine folder, deleting the /cache folder like you did before and use the Workshop configuration and uploading tool to disable all workshop items installed.
 
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 289
Joined: 09 Dec 2016 14:29

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

18 Oct 2023 13:40

MSIX299MB,[email protected](8C/16T),[email protected](CL16),GTX1080Ti@11GBGDDR5X,OS:WIN10x64@2xSSDSATA3RAID0
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1781
Joined: 24 Oct 2016 11:34
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

19 Oct 2023 08:46

Ow, noted. Thank you.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1781
Joined: 24 Oct 2016 11:34
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

23 Oct 2023 11:09

Hey, the issue has been found and it will be fixed in the next update.

You all can test latest fixes by using the public beta build on Steam:
From Steam Library in the Steam client, right-click on SpaceEngine > Properties > Betas > Select "beta - public beta branch" > Close
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
tin_nim
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Oct 2023 08:08

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

27 Oct 2023 09:02

Image
Look at the earth and mercury temp, its -206,and yes i have no mod, restarted pc, installed latest driver, delete cache reinstall game
almost all planet are this way
Log:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests