Page 6 of 109

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 22 Jan 2017 09:59
by Mosfet
wangzixun,
wangzixun wrote:
Source of the post The textures are really bad without any bumps, mountains

could you please attach screenshots from a couple of planets, taken with Ctrl+F11?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 23 Jan 2017 17:57
by FutureRaptorAnim
Sorry to bother you, but when I play SpaceEngine, and I go near a star/planet/object, I dont see it, if its a star, I see the light of the star but I dont see the real star. Planets are invisible unless im far away and they are bright. Help?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 23 Jan 2017 19:47
by JackDole
FutureRaptorAnim,
I guess you have a computer with an old Intel graphics card, for example an 'Intel HD 3000'.
These graphics cards no longer work with SpaceEngine.

If not, please post the 'se.log'. This file is in the 'system' folder in the SpaceEngine installation directory.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Jan 2017 05:50
by Gnargenox
Oh, wow look! A Polerizing Nebula :)
scr01040.jpg

Just installed the newest Nvidia drivers last night, Previously, I had the current drivers before this update. I must admit, things noticeably improved from what I thought was pretty good already. I kept all my settings the same since before installing the update. The major improvements were moving around quicker, moving the camera view was alot smoother, rotating around objects was more fluid, landscapes generated alot faster (@LOD 1), & movies I made were easier to do. I checked out many places and objects with no issues displaying any of them. Sometimes Galaxies in the distance would need a half second to generate but I did notice when making a movie at the time, if I ever saw them disappear from the screen for a second, they were always captured in the video with no moments of "invisibility". I love nebulae so I certainly viewed a handful of them with the new drivers installed.

The only weird thing I ran across was this "polarized light" Nebula (Barnard 68, shown in picture above) with stars behind it clearly visible through the gas. Clusters were only slightly visible through the black clouds and other near by nebula were not seen, as they should be, just as other nebulae block the view. As you might notice all the gas from the Milky Way was blocked from view, just not the stars. I've run across other dark or black nebulae but never as transparent. Is this normal for other people on their systems? Just hoping my driver update isn't going to remain a problem. Any quick and easy fixes? If not, no big deal, I can live with the better speed, clearer pics and faster loading speeds. THX!

BTW I tried to visit RCW 147 & RCW 160 but when I clicked on the name in the browser and clicked go to, it said object not found or doesn't exist, something like that. That's a first for me. Oh and one other thing, 54 Piscium did not appear as a binary pair of Brown Dwarfs as I thought they were know to be. Thanks again.

GeForce Game Ready Driver
Version: 378.49
Release date: 01/23/2017

Nvidia GeForece Experience
Version 3.3.0.95

GeForce GT 730
AMD FX-8350 Eight-core
1920x1080, 60Hz

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Jan 2017 09:24
by JackDole
54 Piscium is not a double-star, because no one has created corresponding scripts.
But I have posted such scripts here.

Why RCW 147 & RCW 160 can not be found, I do not know.
Maybe you should post your 'se.log' here.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Jan 2017 15:17
by Mosfet
RCW 147 is the Trifid Nebula also known as M 20, does anyone of those designations exist in your object finder?
RCW 160 is the Omega Nebula / M 17, can you find it with those designations?
In my case I can find RCW 147 but not RCW 160, but Messier designations and common names worked fine.
One thing I noticed is that Omega Nebula is number 6618 of the New General Catalogue, but NGC 6618 points to an open cluster.
I have the MoreNebulas3.5,pak addon. I will check the catalogs to see if I can find the error in the weekend.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Jan 2017 21:09
by SuperSaiyanPan
1) I can't even install this. I try to open this and it just doesn't. The mouse cursor has the busy icon and Windows acts as if it will install but never does. Windows 10...

2) Why is this not Windows 10 friendly yet?

3) Why can I not make new threads anywhere?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jan 2017 04:42
by JackDole
Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post In my case I can find RCW 147 but not RCW 160, but Messier designations and common names worked fine.

It sometimes seems to work and sometimes not. Sometimes with the one RCW number, sometimes with the other.

The reason why it does not work seems to be the NGC numbers.
There are open clusters in SpaceEngine with the same NGC numbers.

If you extract 'cluster-open.sc' from the 'Catalogs0980.pak', remove the two clusters with the corresponding NGC numbers, and then save the file to 'data\catalogs\clusters', it works. (Folder must be created if necessary.)
Of course you could also remove the NGC numbers from the 'nebulae.sc'.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jan 2017 07:01
by Mosfet
SuperSaiyanPan, this is working in many computers with Windows 10. Your issue could be the result of:
  1.  Damaged installer. SE-0980-Setup.exe should be around 1.080 GB. If it's not, then something happened during the download, try downloading again.
  2.  Antivirus interference. Try by temporarily disabling your antivirus, see if the installation starts. (No antivirus? get one ;) )
  3.  Permission issues, when it actually starts. If you want to install it in C:, try creating manually a "SpaceEngine" folder in C:/ and select that folder as installation target.
There's an anti-spam feature enabled in this forum which prevents the creation of a new thread to users with few posts in existing threads. I'm guessing less than 10, but I could be wrong. For your issues, this is the right thread :)

JackDole,
JackDole wrote:
Source of the post Of course you could also remove the NGC numbers from the 'nebulae.sc'.

Since NGC number actually is assigned to the nebula, I wouldn't. I'll check the open clusters, if they exist, then probably they have a wrong NGC number.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jan 2017 08:37
by JackDole
Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post Since NGC number actually is assigned to the nebula, I wouldn't. I'll check the open clusters, if they exist, then probably they have a wrong NGC number.

At least for the Omega Nebula belongs the NGC number (NGC 6618) to the cluster, which should be located in the nebula.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jan 2017 10:01
by Mosfet
oh, I checked only italian Wikipedia, I see now. It would make more sense doing like you said, then, thanks.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jan 2017 10:46
by Gnargenox
Sorry for the delayed response Mosfet, but yes I can find both nebula using the Messier object numbers. Thanks. I hope this too can help fix any NGC or cluster issues for others, if any.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jan 2017 13:39
by gamadh
Mosfet wrote:
An'shur wrote:
Source of the post  SE sometimes does not react to pressing A, S and F buttons when I want to move around in Free mode (I haven't tried different modes yet, so I don't know if the error occurs there too). When this happens to me, the mentioned buttons are dead also in object finder, for example Erth instead of Earth, or un instead of Sun.

I noticed once a similar problem (for me was the "e" key). Apparently it was caused by a planet script I was tweaking at the time, because the moment I removed that script, the strange behavior was gone. I couldn't pinpoint the exact cause, but I guess in my case it could have been some wrong parameter or conflict with existing objects.

gamadh wrote:
Source of the post diffraction spikes are set to normal or super"?

I see diffraction spikes settings as "simple" or "normal". What SE version do you have?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jan 2017 13:44
by gamadh
Mosfet: 
I tried simple and normal and it still does not work, and my version is 0.9.8.0

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 27 Jan 2017 03:24
by Bran Noircorbac
Bran Noircorbac wrote:
Hello

i already check the known bugs, but nothing seems to work.
I encounter issues with the controls, some seems inverted (even after resetting them to default), the "go to object" button works fine...but the camera do a 180° flip in the process. The tracking one get the camera insanely shaking. And when still, the camera is shaking lightly time to time.
This isn't first time, re-lauching the game worked fine some times, some other times i had to reinstall.
What do?

Thanks in advance

I have the same issue again. Anyone? Thanks!