Ultimate space simulation software

 
A-L-E-X
Galaxy Architect
Galaxy Architect
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

16 Nov 2021 23:15

Okay I set both to 85% I wonder if this correct for my use case, so thats 5222 for VRAM (85% of 6144) and 13926 for RAM (85% of 16384).  I actually have 32 GB of RAM as back up (Crucial RAM instead of Kingston RAM which is what I have in right now, but same speed DDR4-2666).  I see 85% in another setting for RAM, so these values equate to that.  But one other thing that confuses me is the 0,1,2 setting for VRAM (I have it set to 1, which is "max"-- would this override the VRAM setting if the more VRAM is available?)
 
walterius01
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2021

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

22 Nov 2021 15:25

Hello, since it appeared to date I have had the Space Engine. When version 0.990 came out I bought it together with some route and the commercial version (the most expensive). I have never had a problem running the program. What's more, I installed the grainy version on the rings of planets like Saturn and everything kept working. A week ago there was an update in the game Space Engine and from there it does not open, the screen is black. My ATI accelerator, when testing it, informs me that it is incompatible.



My questions are:



a) Do you have a solution?



b) if there is no solution, is there a possibility to have version 0.990 without updates?



I leave you the data of my processor and graphics accelerator:



Ati Raedon R5 GPU
AMD A9-9410 CPU

Thank you

In Spanish------------------------------------------------------------
Hola, desde que apareció hasta la fecha he tenido el Space Engine. Cuando salió la versión 0.990 lo compré junto con algunos Plugins y la versión comercial (la más cara). Nunca he tenido problemas para ejecutar el programa. Es más, instalé la versión granulada en los anillos de planetas como Saturno y todo siguió funcionando. Hace una semana hizo una actualización en el juego Space Engine y desde allí no se abre, la pantalla está en negro. Mi acelerador ATI, al probarlo, me informa que es incompatible.



Mis preguntas son:



a) ¿Tienes una solución?



b) si no hay solución, ¿existe la posibilidad de tener la versión 0.990 sin actualizaciones?



Muchas gracias,



Les dejo los datos de mi procesador y acelerador de gráficos:



GPU Ati Raedon R5
CPU AMD A9-9410
Attachments
problema se.jpg
 
walterius01
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2021

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

22 Nov 2021 15:34

walterius01 wrote:
Hello, since it appeared to date I have had the Space Engine. When version 0.990 came out I bought it together with some route and the commercial version (the most expensive). I have never had a problem running the program. What's more, I installed the grainy version on the rings of planets like Saturn and everything kept working. A week ago there was an update in the game Space Engine and from there it does not open, the screen is black. My ATI accelerator, when testing it, informs me that it is incompatible.



My questions are:



a) Do you have a solution?



b) if there is no solution, is there a possibility to have version 0.990 without updates?



I leave you the data of my processor and graphics accelerator:



Ati Raedon R5 GPU
AMD A9-9410 CPU

Thank you

In Spanish------------------------------------------------------------
Hola, desde que apareció hasta la fecha he tenido el Space Engine. Cuando salió la versión 0.990 lo compré junto con algunos Plugins y la versión comercial (la más cara). Nunca he tenido problemas para ejecutar el programa. Es más, instalé la versión granulada en los anillos de planetas como Saturno y todo siguió funcionando. Hace una semana hizo una actualización en el juego Space Engine y desde allí no se abre, la pantalla está en negro. Mi acelerador ATI, al probarlo, me informa que es incompatible.



Mis preguntas son:



a) ¿Tienes una solución?



b) si no hay solución, ¿existe la posibilidad de tener la versión 0.990 sin actualizaciones?



Muchas gracias,



Les dejo los datos de mi procesador y acelerador de gráficos:



GPU Ati Raedon R5
CPU AMD A9-9410

Attachment SE.log file
Attachments
se.log
(270.15 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 244
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

24 Nov 2021 16:13

Mosfet wrote:
N0B0DY wrote:
Source of the post retina nebula

Looking at your log, just moments before the crash SE loaded Centaurus A, probably because it was in the line of sight. Centaurus A galaxy crashes SE as a matter of fact, it's a known bug they're trying to catch

I've found that approaching ESO 510-G13 causes SE to crash too, so this issue seems to be connected to galaxies with cubemap models.
 
Galaktor
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Nov 2021

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

25 Nov 2021 13:27

Some proceduraly generated neptunes type of planets are completely dark, when i look on texture i see they don't have any, do anyone know how to fix that?
 
A-L-E-X
Galaxy Architect
Galaxy Architect
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Nov 2021 10:32

So I boosted my VRAM as high as I'm willing to take it 160 GB on SSD Drive C and 160 GB on Mech Drive D (so total VRAM = 320 GB).  This let's me run SE for 76.5 hours continuously which is good because the documentary I did is 62.5 hours long so it easily does that plus more than an additional 12 hours for the soundtrack music I added.  The only downside is a slight increase in the time it takes to load Windows, it's now 4 minutes instead of 3.  So this will probably be as high as I go with virtual memory.  Please developers, don't make the memory usage higher, it's perfect right where it is now.
 
Scienceboy999
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Oct 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

27 Nov 2021 14:46

I was checking out some distant comets in the Solar System, when I found Comet Mcnaught. It seems to have been placed far too distantly to begin with, and then if you accelerate time slowly moves farther and farther out, never completing its orbit around the sun. 
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 244
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Nov 2021 21:11

Scienceboy999 wrote:
I was checking out some distant comets in the Solar System, when I found Comet Mcnaught. It seems to have been placed far too distantly to begin with, and then if you accelerate time slowly moves farther and farther out, never completing its orbit around the sun. 

Comet McNaught is non-periodic: its orbit is a hyperbola rather than an ellipse, so it's not expected ever to return to the inner Solar System again.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1563
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

29 Nov 2021 02:03

walterius01, there were no updates from SpaceEngine since quite some time. Check the integrity of your SE installation, From Steam Library, right-click on SpaceEngine > Properties > Local files > verify integrity of game files.
Open the SpaceEngine /config folder and delete "main-user.cfg"
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests