Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 70
Joined: 05 Nov 2016 21:50
Location: here

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

25 Mar 2017 16:48

Custom City Lights
Remember those old city lights that broke after 0.974 RC2? Well, I've tried to reintroduce that into 0.980 and hopefully future versions.
The absolute first step to make this work is to put the attached 'tg_common' folder into your addons>shaders folder.
This doesn't affect the look of regular volcanoes, but it's necessary to make the city lights look nicer.
Image
Now, the steps to add the city lights. They're pretty much similar to the older version, but I'll go over it again.
I must warn you, doing this will remove all regular volcanoes on the planet. In other words, you can't have regular volcanos and city lights at the same time.
1.) When editing the .sc file for your planet, make sure all the 'lavaCover' values are set to 0.
2.) Replace all the 'volcano' tags to the following code.
 GlowMode "Night"
 GlowColor (0.20, 0.50, 0.50) 
 GlowBright 2.5
 volcanoMagn 0
 volcanoFreq 2
 volcanoDensity 15
 volcanoOctaves 7.5
 volcanoActivity 0.85
 volcanoFlows 0.75
 volcanoRadius 1.25
 volcanoTemp 400e+10
//feel free to edit these values and fit them to your liking. these are just my favorite!
You should get something like this;
Image
As I've said, feel free to edit those values to you liking! The possibilities are endless!
Alien Mothership;
Image
Really advanced intelligence;
Image
If there's any suggestions to this or anything I forgot, let me know!
Attachments
tg_common.glsl
(101.19 KiB) Downloaded 1050 times
Last edited by kham132 on 26 Mar 2017 18:58, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 535
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:13
Location: Planet Meabh
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

26 Mar 2017 13:54

Did you forget to attach the tg_common file? I can't immediately find it.
Specs: STGAubron desktop PC; NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060/PCIe/SSE2 12 GB Vram, Intel Core i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 12 cpus; 32 GB RAM; Windows 11 x64
 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 70
Joined: 05 Nov 2016 21:50
Location: here

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

26 Mar 2017 19:00

PlutonianEmpire, I added it just now.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 535
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:13
Location: Planet Meabh
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

26 Mar 2017 20:51

Thank you, and it works! :D

Also, would it be possible if you could share the values you used for the other two screenshots? I would give us a better idea of how to achieve the available effects. :)
Specs: STGAubron desktop PC; NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060/PCIe/SSE2 12 GB Vram, Intel Core i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 12 cpus; 32 GB RAM; Windows 11 x64
 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 70
Joined: 05 Nov 2016 21:50
Location: here

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

26 Mar 2017 23:46

Sure thing!
Advanced intelligence:
 GlowMode "Night"
 GlowColor (0.70, 0.50, 0.10)
 GlowBright 3
 volcanoMagn 0
 volcanoFreq 3276
 volcanoDensity 256
 volcanoOctaves 16
 volcanoActivity 5
 volcanoFlows 0.75
 volcanoRadius 0.75
 volcanoTemp 1e+007
Mothership:
 GlowColor (0.00, 1.00, 0.00)
 GlowBright 1
 volcanoMagn 1
 volcanoFreq 5000
 volcanoDensity 1
 volcanoOctaves 1
 volcanoActivity 1000
 volcanoFlows 1
 volcanoRadius 1
 volcanoTemp 1e+007
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 411
Joined: 11 Oct 2016 09:07
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 05:23

Nice work. I hope procedura cities comming soon without edit volcano :).
► Information
 
Pluton
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 92
Joined: 23 Dec 2016 00:10
Location: Russia

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 07:45

I hope procedura cities comming soon without edit volcano.
They are not. I talked to Engineer about that on russian forum and shown him this as an example of what could some alive planets look like. His reaction was same as on any other suggestion - instant refusal. He said he will never add such thing.
[attachment=0]1.jpg[/attachment]
Attachments
1.jpg
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 535
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:13
Location: Planet Meabh
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 13:20

I hope procedura cities comming soon without edit volcano.
They are not. I talked to Engineer about that on russian forum and shown him this as an example of what could some alive planets look like. His reaction was same as on any other suggestion - instant refusal. He said he will never add such thing.
(Bolding/underlining mine)

Now that SpaceEngineer has confirmed he does not want Space Engine to ever have any procedural city lights in Space Engine for all eternity, is it possible then, that he intentionally broke the volcano code after 0.974rc2 to destroy modders' abilities to manipulate the volcano parameters for pseudo city lights?
Specs: STGAubron desktop PC; NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060/PCIe/SSE2 12 GB Vram, Intel Core i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 12 cpus; 32 GB RAM; Windows 11 x64
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 356
Joined: 17 Nov 2016 15:09

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 13:28

Space Engine is all about realism. City lights is a fundamental anthropocentric view of how civilizations grow in other planetary systems. Talking about civilizations in space is even by itself an anthopocentric biased view that doesn't necesarily adds up to the poetry of nature. Space Engine is all about science.

Once we state that I'm quite surprised Vladimir said that never would do that. I'm sure he will implement it for the game engine. But I also think there's no reason to have it in the planetarium version
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 535
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:13
Location: Planet Meabh
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 14:03

Agreed. Plus, you never know if/when it might be US producing city lights on alien worlds in the distant future... ;)

Granted its possible I might be wrong in my other post, but you never know. :)
Specs: STGAubron desktop PC; NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060/PCIe/SSE2 12 GB Vram, Intel Core i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 12 cpus; 32 GB RAM; Windows 11 x64
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1363
Joined: 22 Aug 2016 15:04
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 14:07

He said he will never add such thing.
That doesn't always mean no, he said same for warp effects on ships, ship lights, lights on Earth, and so on.  If something is in demand enough or he finds a good way to implement it he will implement it.  Sometimes it just takes people from the community to point him in a good direction.
is it possible then, that he intentionally broke the volcano code after 0.974rc2 to destroy modders' abilities to manipulate the volcano parameters for pseudo city lights?
No.
City lights is a fundamental anthropocentric view of how civilizations grow in other planetary systems. Talking about civilizations in space is even by itself an anthopocentric biased view that doesn't necesarily adds up to the poetry of nature. Space Engine is all about science.
You can only know what you know, and so far we know from the one example we have that intelligent civilizations build lights.  I personally think humanity falls somewhere in the middle of things, so city lights for most civilizations would probably be expected at some point in their development.  Intelligent life is probably an exceptionally rare occurrence so when it does happen it probably follows similar trends. 
But I also think there's no reason to have it in the planetarium version
I disagree, if it were something exceptionally rare then it would be one of those really interesting things to hunt for.  From the discussions I have had with him on the subject he wants to have procedural 3D cities, which is far into the future of development.
CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X @5Ghz - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 - GPU: MSI RTX 40​90 GAMING ​TRIO 24G
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 70
Joined: 05 Nov 2016 21:50
Location: here

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 14:41

To be fair, none of us know the criteria an intelligent civilization will have. How old will the planet have to be? Would the planet even be habitable enough for an intelligent civilization to evolve on it? Would the species even see in the visible spectrum, and thus, have to light up their cities for them too see? If SpaceEngineer is going for realism, implementing advanced civilizations would need too much speculation for us to call it realism.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1363
Joined: 22 Aug 2016 15:04
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 15:06

implementing advanced civilizations would need too much speculation for us to call it realism.
And having exotic life isn't speculation?
CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X @5Ghz - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 - GPU: MSI RTX 40​90 GAMING ​TRIO 24G
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 535
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:13
Location: Planet Meabh
Contact:

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 15:20

He said he will never add such thing.
That doesn't always mean no, he said same for warp effects on ships, ship lights, lights on Earth, and so on.  If something is in demand enough or he finds a good way to implement it he will implement it.  Sometimes it just takes people from the community to point him in a good direction.
That's exactly why I highlighted his statement in my post. It kinda seemed odd, to me anyway, to be making such absolute(?) statements like this.
is it possible then, that he intentionally broke the volcano code after 0.974rc2 to destroy modders' abilities to manipulate the volcano parameters for pseudo city lights?
No.
Understood. I apologize for my comment about that.
Specs: STGAubron desktop PC; NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060/PCIe/SSE2 12 GB Vram, Intel Core i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 12 cpus; 32 GB RAM; Windows 11 x64
 
Pluton
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 92
Joined: 23 Dec 2016 00:10
Location: Russia

How to Make City Lights (0.980+)

27 Mar 2017 15:55

Now that SpaceEngineer has confirmed he does not want Space Engine to ever have any procedural city lights in Space Engine for all eternity, is it possible then, that he intentionally broke the volcano code after 0.974rc2 to destroy modders' abilities to manipulate the volcano parameters for pseudo city lights?
I don't know. But I don't think it was that smart move to prevent something. 2 separate things as I see it.
It kinda seemed odd, to me anyway, to be making such absolute(?) statements like this.
Do you want me to find the russian quotes so you could translate it?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests