Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

A very PC discussion

15 Jan 2021 23:00

A-L-E-X wrote:
DoctorOfSpace wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post does this selection automatically become available when a video card with enough VRAM is detected?

No, but you can manually enter a resolution or use the oversize app to resize the window.
Generally when I play SE I have well over 100fps in most cases, but for taking large high resolution images the 3090 is perfect and doesnt lag my system.

Doc, is there some way to take very large resolution screenshots on a 1080P display without oversizing the window?  I've been able to make 4K cubemaps but the program always stalls when I try to do it from the surfaces of planets that have dense atmospheres (it seems to work when it's a planet that doesn't have an atmosphere curiously enough.)
What I basically want to do is take a single 4K or even 8K screenshot of my SE window when I'm only running SE at 1080P or even windowed 720P mode.  Theoretically the video card should be able to do this.  Especially since I can do the cubemaps in 4K (except on a planet with a dense atmosphere for some reason.)

Yes, technically you can do a viewport hack with cheat engine and trick the game into rendering into a frustum that is larger than your window. However, this will not allow you to screenshot outside of your window as you cannot capture pixels outside of it. In fact, nothing outside is rendered anyways.

Instead, what you can do is treat that as an individual tile on a much larger resolution mosaic and "build" a final screenshot with a much larger resolution by applying an offset to each "tile". Unfortunately, you can't really do this without having the source code, but it is something that is planned and in the works by none other than yours truly.

Huge screenshots also have huge sizes and most formats have a limit of 65536x65536 (if they don't run out of space and corrupt).

19200x10800
► Show Spoiler


38400x21600
Google drive link since chrome cannot load the image (firefox can!)
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
Galaxy Architect
Galaxy Architect
Posts: 3029
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

15 Jan 2021 23:06

Right, this is exactly what I want.  Just a much higher resolution version of what I already see inside my window (and nothing outside of it.)  Thanks so much you're a wiz!  So I can do this kind of thing natively within the program (wont need a third party app) by the time you've finished modifying the code to allow for it?

So let's say my window size is 1080P, can I get everything within that window to be blown up into a 4K or 8K screenshot?  (Sort of like digital zoom but with added detail from within the image that is too small to see in the 1080P window.)
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

A very PC discussion

15 Jan 2021 23:18

A-L-E-X wrote:
So let's say my window size is 1080P, can I get everything within that window to be blown up into a 4K or 8K screenshot?  (Sort of like digital zoom but with added detail from within the image that is too small to see in the 1080P window.)

Correct. That's how it's meant to work. It's intended to allow for rendering at much higher resolutions with low end computers. The screenshots above and below were done with a 1000x1000 window. And yes, no third party app.
Last edited by Phunnie on 18 Jan 2021 01:06, edited 3 times in total.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

A very PC discussion

16 Jan 2021 00:31

Oh, I have to add, there are still some caveats to the whole process right now.
SE internally will limit the maximum texture resolution, so at some point with absurd resolutions (>16k) you'll start seeing the texture itself becoming blurry rather than the image being pixelated. Essentially it looks like an ultra high resolution image of a lower resolution texture. This doesn't happen with everything, but planets are one of the things limited by that. Black hole accretion disks on the other hand are completely unaffected by this.

Here's an example of what I mean with tiny sections of an image with an absurd resolution:
Planet:
Image

Black hole:
Image

I'll say it again. This is a very, very tiny section of the whole image. You have to zoom in a lot.
Here are the originals. Both 32000x32000, so google drive links again.
Planet
Black Hole
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
Galaxy Architect
Galaxy Architect
Posts: 3029
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

17 Jan 2021 07:01

Phunnie wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
So let's say my window size is 1080P, can I get everything within that window to be blown up into a 4K or 8K screenshot?  (Sort of like digital zoom but with added detail from within the image that is too small to see in the 1080P window.)

Correct. That's how it's meant to work. It's intended to allow for rendering at much higher resolutions with low end computers. The screenshots above were both done with a 1000x1000 window. And yes, no third party app.

I dont have a low end computer I'm just running a lot of programs at the same time across multiple monitors and it creates a roadblock.  I probably should get a new video card though.  I have an 8 core / 16 thread processor Ryzen 2700X (will probably upgrade to Ryzen 5xxx series) 32 GB of memory and my VC is a 1060 GTX with 6 GB VRAM.  I would think the VC upgrade is needed since that is the bottleneck?

WOW PHUNNIE THIS IS BETTER THAN DIGITAL CAMERA QUALITY!  This is exactly what I want....I want to be in orbit around planets or on a planet getting the kind of image quality as if I was a tourist there with a professional digital camera!
 
User avatar
Challenger
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 29
Joined: 26 Oct 2020
Location: USA

A very PC discussion

08 Feb 2021 06:08

Yes, you can buy a more powerful graphics card to improve the performance of your computer, especially if the applications are heavy. I tuned mine and therefore allowed myself to buy a high-quality gaming monitor. The article https://homemakerguide.com/best-gaming-monitor-under-300/ helped a lot in choosing. I read what and how, opted for Samsung. I thought and thought, but nevertheless decided to take a proven brand, did not dare to buy something unfamiliar.
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 275
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

A very PC discussion

15 Mar 2021 09:59

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Source of the post Just to point out how hard this is on performance, I have a RTX 3090 running at almost 2200Mhz, it never gets over 75C in anything, I pushed 85C today just on these rings

If that is the case with the 3d rings than I will be forced to set them disabled (I sincerely hope there will be such an option) - can not risk & afford loosing my precious and only one 1080ti..
Where I live, GPU prices have skyrocketed to such an insane extend that it's much cheaper to buy a 2nd hand car in good condition than a new GPU. The 3090 series has gone above the 3000€ mark - some are even sold in the 4000€ range. The 3080s are sold in the 2000-3000€ range (the initial range of the 3090s upon release) - is this madness ever going to stop??
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1331
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

15 Mar 2021 10:54

N0B0DY wrote:
Source of the post If that is the case with the 3d rings than I will be forced to set them disabled (I sincerely hope there will be such an option) - can not risk & afford loosing my precious and only one 1080ti..

Or just turn the resolution setting on them down.
CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X @5Ghz - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 - GPU: EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING 24GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Galaxy Architect
Galaxy Architect
Posts: 3029
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

15 Mar 2021 23:02

N0B0DY wrote:
DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Source of the post Just to point out how hard this is on performance, I have a RTX 3090 running at almost 2200Mhz, it never gets over 75C in anything, I pushed 85C today just on these rings

If that is the case with the 3d rings than I will be forced to set them disabled (I sincerely hope there will be such an option) - can not risk & afford loosing my precious and only one 1080ti..
Where I live, GPU prices have skyrocketed to such an insane extend that it's much cheaper to buy a 2nd hand car in good condition than a new GPU. The 3090 series has gone above the 3000€ mark - some are even sold in the 4000€ range. The 3080s are sold in the 2000-3000€ range (the initial range of the 3090s upon release) - is this madness ever going to stop??

Blame the mining people.  I wonder when we'll start to regulate prices (we need this in other areas too, like drug prices, but that's another story.)
I keep my resolution to 720P I advise you to do the same.  I could run at 1080P but I dont like using up the entire screen and I run multiple screens so 720P is beneficial to me for running multiple 3D programs.
 
MollyWright
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Mar 2021

A very PC discussion

22 Mar 2021 05:22

Someone can link where i can see all prices of all video cards? Can find on https://www.google.com/
 
A-L-E-X
Galaxy Architect
Galaxy Architect
Posts: 3029
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

30 Mar 2021 23:56

How much is enough when it comes to video memory?  With either 16 GB RAM or 32 GB RAM?  And should the page file be put on an SSD?  I heard it shouldn't be as it will cause wear with all the writes, so I put an 8 GB page file on my secondary (mechanical) hard drive.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1331
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

02 Aug 2021 18:31

Upgraded my system today

New specs in signature.

Bought these parts, cooler I had, yesterday, they arrived today.
https://pcpartpicker.com/user/docdocdoc ... ved/9d6Wt6

Pretty good
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/64449621?
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/64450014?


-----

Full specs
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 3.7 GHz 12-Core Processor 24 threads, clocked at 5Ghz
Noctua NH-D15S 82.52 CFM CPU Cooler 2x fans
Gigabyte X570 AORUS MASTER ATX
G.Skill Ripjaws V 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 Memory
EVGA FTW3 RTX 3090 clocked at just over 2Ghz

Hard drives
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - System drive SATA
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB - media/games SATA
Samsung 870 QVO 4TG - media/games/work files SATA
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2TB - games NVME/M.2
Toshiba 512GB - games NVME/M.2


PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2


Someone in Discord asked me to list out the price of everything and my full specs.
$0 is for items I had from previous build.
https://pcpartpicker.com/user/docdocdoc ... ved/vFmMVn
CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X @5Ghz - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 - GPU: EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING 24GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Canleskis
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 08 Oct 2016

A very PC discussion

02 Aug 2021 19:24

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Upgraded my system today

New specs in signature.

Bought these parts, cooler I had, yesterday, they arrived today.
https://pcpartpicker.com/user/docdocdoc ... ved/9d6Wt6

Pretty good
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/64449621?
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/64450014?


-----

Full specs
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 3.7 GHz 12-Core Processor 24 threads, clocked at 5Ghz
Noctua NH-D15S 82.52 CFM CPU Cooler 2x fans
Gigabyte X570 AORUS MASTER ATX
G.Skill Ripjaws V 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 Memory
EVGA FTW3 RTX 3090 clocked at just over 2Ghz

Hard drives
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - System drive SATA
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB - media/games SATA
Samsung 870 QVO 4TG - media/games/work files SATA
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2TB - games NVME/M.2
Toshiba 512GB - games NVME/M.2


PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2


Someone in Discord asked me to list out the price of everything and my full specs.
$0 is for items I had from previous build.
https://pcpartpicker.com/user/docdocdoc ... ved/vFmMVn

Pretty good configuration!

Did you try undervolting your 3090? AFAIK high end 3000 series can be undervolted pretty well while keeping decent clock speeds. I didn't get incredible results with my 3080 but I've been able to lower the temperature by around 10°C in heavy load scenarios while barely losing any performance.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1331
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

02 Aug 2021 20:08

Canleskis wrote:
Source of the post Did you try undervolting your 3090?


Yeah, but it tends to destabilize the overclock, I did have to underclock the VRAM due to overheating during summer, lots of stuttering in games, throttling.
CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X @5Ghz - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 - GPU: EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING 24GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Canleskis
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 08 Oct 2016

A very PC discussion

02 Aug 2021 20:25

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Canleskis wrote:
Source of the post Did you try undervolting your 3090?


Yeah, but it tends to destabilize the overclock, I did have to underclock the VRAM due to overheating during summer, lots of stuttering in games, throttling.

I also have issues with the VRAM temperature, have seen some people change the thermal pads which improved temperature significantly on the FE cards, no idea if this could work as well on custom cards.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest