Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 120
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Klud's Addons & Mods

16 Jun 2018 21:00

Not sure but I am more interested in higher earth resolution. Even orbiter is a step above. SE could really step up parts of Earth for sure I wish I knew how to get ahold of kludd bc I would pick up the work on the mapping
 
User avatar
tRetro-Visor
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 234
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Chile
Contact:

Klud's Addons & Mods

17 Jun 2018 10:01

You can get better displacements maps from Google Earth and Global Mapper. I've done that with the andes mountain range. Problem is, I don't know how to properly add them to space engine
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known."
 
User avatar
Circles [GD]
Observer
Observer
Posts: 12
Joined: 18 Jun 2018

Klud's Addons & Mods

19 Jun 2018 16:12

I have installed everything here. Thank you so much for this.
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 120
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Klud's Addons & Mods

04 Aug 2018 17:12

tRetro-Visor wrote:
You can get better displacements maps from Google Earth and Global Mapper. I've done that with the andes mountain range. Problem is, I don't know how to properly add them to space engine                               Did you ever figure out how to add the better maps, I so bad want to do that. If we could figure it out I would help, and we could section off the earth and map the planet.....I remain very disappointed how low rez Earth is other than Kludd's addon and nobody knows how to reach him.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 501
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Klud's Addons & Mods

04 Aug 2018 20:28

Yikes, even PMs dont get his attention?

As for mapping, I desperatly need a fictive Island to be seamlessly into the south atlantic as part of my tpe mod :cry: So I feel your pain
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Klud
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Nov 2016

Klud's Addons & Mods

14 Aug 2019 08:37

Apollo-11 landing site added to "Surfaces of celestial bodies".
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 276
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

Klud's Addons & Mods

15 Aug 2019 03:37

Klud wrote:
Source of the post Apollo-11 landing site added to "Surfaces of celestial bodies".

Thank you Klud! Is seems that the king is really back at it. I'm wondering if you have a list of possible surface detail patches for the future.

Also I think we would all be very very enthusiastic about a tutorial or explanation on how to do this awesome work. If you have enought time one day to explain it would be a great contribution for all of us.

Thank you again for these addons.
 
User avatar
Klud
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Nov 2016

Klud's Addons & Mods

16 Aug 2019 12:09

Hi.
I'm glad you enjoyed it. I plan to make landing sites and other Apollo missions and various interesting places on the Moon and Mars. Now I have a bump map ready for the Valles Marineris, but there is no surf map yet and this requires a lot of time due to the large area of it. Old addons also need to be redone.

I would like many users to be able to create such add-ons — there is nothing very complicated about this, but it’s a little difficult to explain this process in detail, although I can point out some basic things.

Of course, you need to be able to use CubeMap, but also a graphic editor and GIS to prepare the image you are working with for processing in CubeMap. GIS is needed in order to reproject an image from a cylindrical projection into a cubic projection. The image that you received after reprojection should be cropped as needed.
Your image should be square and be within the boundaries of the tile of the highest resolution you need (in the simple case) of the "face" you want (parts of the global texture). Your 
image should have a resolution 2 ^ n times greater than the mentioned tile (512x512, 1024x1024, etc.). Then you use this image as one “face” with CubeMap and then rename the resulting tiles.

This is a basic principle. I guess I said this unclear, so please ask questions.
 
User avatar
tRetro-Visor
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 234
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Chile
Contact:

Klud's Addons & Mods

16 Aug 2019 17:05

Klud wrote:
Source of the post a graphic editor and GIS to prepare the image you are working with for processing in CubeMap. GIS is needed in order to reproject an image from a cylindrical projection into a cubic projection. The image that you received after reprojection should be cropped as needed.

That gives me more questions than answers lol

I sort of get this, but, for example, the grand canyon:
I wanted to do this exact same thing for a region close to me, how would I go and do that? I can get the height maps and diffuse maps from global mapper, but how do I add them into space engine as tiles with their respective level of detail and position in the texture?
Also what GIS software are you referring to?
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known."
 
User avatar
Klud
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Nov 2016

Klud's Addons & Mods

22 Aug 2019 07:46

Picture for explanation:
pr.png


You can cut into tiles using CubeMap, but in this case you will need to rename the tiles
or using GlobalMapper and setting the initial column and row numbers.
Your high resolution image should be in cubic projection. I use to reproject QGIS.
 
User avatar
Klud
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Nov 2016

Klud's Addons & Mods

16 Nov 2019 07:30

Grand Canyon and warp ship "ixs Enterprise" redone for 0.990.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1265
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Klud's Addons & Mods

17 Nov 2019 19:06

Klud what was changed in the IXS addon?  Just general stat info and warp settings?

Any reason you haven't added PBR yet?
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Klud
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Nov 2016

Klud's Addons & Mods

18 Nov 2019 11:55

The mod for 0.98 did not work at 0.99.
PBR, as I understand it, is still not working. At least my attempts were unsuccessful.
I have no information on how to use PBR now if it is already possible. If you know this, please write.
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 276
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

Klud's Addons & Mods

20 Nov 2019 01:44

Klud wrote:
Source of the post Grand Canyon

These are awesome news, thank you Klud once again. I hope to see many of your highly detailed terrains in the future (old and new ones).
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1265
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Klud's Addons & Mods

21 Nov 2019 03:53

Klud wrote:
Source of the post I have no information on how to use PBR now if it is already possible. If you know this, please write.


I would need to dig up the info on doing PBR layout, but you can pull off some decent results if you play around with it. I will try to rig something up for the IXS Enterprise again, but there are many textures so it will take time.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest