Ultimate space simulation software

 
JMaker
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 May 2018

General questions about SpaceEngine

06 May 2018 09:11

Hello, I have a question: I'm pretty sure that some time ago I downloaded a version of Space Engine that, if you scrolled away enough, you could view the universe and all it's galaxies clusters, like the image from the link bellow:

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/or ... 5d0861.jpg

But in the current version if I keep scrolling eventually every galaxy will be redshifted until everything just disappear. I know that's more realistic, I guess, but I wish it was possible to see the universe in it's entire glory. I tried to download early versions of SE to see if I'm not mistaken, but the torrent links are broken.

Anyway, thanks for the amazing software!
 
User avatar
Irolokirt
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Feb 2017
Location: toscana italia

General questions about SpaceEngine

06 May 2018 10:58

try to rise up the ambient light...
furthmore is known the number of the procedurally generated galaxyes in SE?
 
Mr. Abner
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

General questions about SpaceEngine

07 May 2018 17:39

I think I may have mentioned it in the suggestions thread, but I don't think I've seen anybody discuss it one way or the other (and if it has been answered already, then my apologies): Will ships be rendered in-atmosphere where appropriate?

Now, I'll be the first to admit that flying large ships in atmosphere may not be terribly realistic (but it is lots of fun, and I'm going to keep on doing it :) ), but if we now get to have surface bases, they should be rendered with atmospheric effects rather than always on top of the atmosphere as the current 0.9.8.0 ships are.  Does the new PBR system affect this?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1150
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

General questions about SpaceEngine

08 May 2018 07:40

Irolokirt wrote:
Source of the post furthmore is known the number of the procedurally generated galaxyes in SE?

For SpaceEngine 0974, SpaceEngineer wrote in December 2013:
With density of 10 galaxies per cubic megaparsec, it have 10 trillion galaxies (1013). Too small, I must make it few billions time bigger in each dimension Image

Surely the number of galaxies in 0980 it's not less than that.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Macronicus
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 147
Joined: 25 Jan 2018

General questions about SpaceEngine

08 May 2018 07:56

Mosfet wrote:
Irolokirt wrote:
Source of the post furthmore is known the number of the procedurally generated galaxyes in SE?

For SpaceEngine 0974, SpaceEngineer wrote in December 2013:
With density of 10 galaxies per cubic megaparsec, it have 10 trillion galaxies (1013). Too small, I must make it few billions time bigger in each dimension Image


Each dimension bigger? How much bigger?
To a Galaxy billion light-years away from a Dark World.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1150
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

General questions about SpaceEngine

08 May 2018 08:18

"few billions". Given the emote at the end of the sentence, though, I'm not sure if he was joking about expanding it.
Right now SpaceEngine universe should be a cube of 10 billions parsec per side, or 1000 Gpc3.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Macronicus
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 147
Joined: 25 Jan 2018

General questions about SpaceEngine

10 May 2018 06:26

After the release of 9.9.0, will their be new beta testers for the next version?
To a Galaxy billion light-years away from a Dark World.
 
User avatar
stewartIM
Observer
Observer
Posts: 19
Joined: 27 Nov 2016

General questions about SpaceEngine

25 May 2018 15:19

Is there already a feature implemented in 0.980 that can allow users to change the size of on-screen text? I often render high-res photos, and this would be a useful feature to have.

If not, is this going to be implemented in a future version?
 
User avatar
Julian
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 118
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

General questions about SpaceEngine

26 May 2018 23:57

Irolokirt wrote:
try to rise up the ambient light...

Increasing ambient lighting doesn't help to see redshifted galaxies at the edge of the universe. You need to increase overbright and set the galaxy magnitude limit to maximum.
 
RelativisticTony
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 May 2018
Location: Italy

General questions about SpaceEngine

31 May 2018 12:05

I was wondering a couple of things:

- We all know that volumetric water is one of the most anticipated implementations; but I was wondering if the 3d model of liquids will simulate the behavior of different hydrospheres (I think an ocean of hydrocarbons would appear and behave differently from an ocean of water).

-The volumetric clouds will be implemented also on gas Giants? Because I think that being able to fly in the clouds of these planets would be really fantastic.

-In the long term how much will the detail of the planets be improved? The quality of terrain eventually will be similar to that of ED or even Outerra ?. On a large and medium scale the planets are simply fantastic, but on a small scale there is something wrong (even if the new texture are a huge improvement).
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 170
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

General questions about SpaceEngine

01 Jun 2018 11:08

Is it possible to set a specific FOV value from within SE using a console command? I tried: "set fov = xx" "set fov=xx" and various other combinations but command is not recognized :( .
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1167
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

General questions about SpaceEngine

01 Jun 2018 12:15

N0B0DY wrote:
Source of the post Is it possible to set a specific FOV value from within SE using a console command? I tried: "set fov = xx" "set fov=xx" and various other combinations but command is not recognized

Just write fov xx or FOV xx. (xx should be less than / equal to 120.)
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
Nebulax
Observer
Observer
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Sep 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

04 Jun 2018 03:04

Hi. 

Please, would it be possible to give an approximate date for the release of space engine 0.9.9?
I'm not asking for it to be said, day X at 15:00, but if a style... "will be launched in the winter of 2018 or in such a season... Or for next year...

The wait is already long and it is not known whether it will cost money or not.
It's in your hands to stop the speculation and settle the matter.
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 170
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

General questions about SpaceEngine

04 Jun 2018 03:09

JackDole,Thank You!
Nebulax, this question always recieves the same answer: It will be released when it is ready. I know exactly how you feel. I am impatient myself but keep asking this question too many times and you will be rebuked by the moderator(s).
Also it will not cost any money but donations are always welcomed :) .
 
Nebulax
Observer
Observer
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Sep 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

04 Jun 2018 04:11

[quote="N0B0DY"][ref=#00aa00]JackDole[/ref],Thank You!
[ref]Nebulax[/ref], this question always recieves the same answer: It will be released when it is ready. I know exactly how you feel. I am impatient myself but keep asking this question too many times and you will be rebuked by the moderator(s).
Also it will not cost any money but [url=http://spaceengine.org/support]donations[/url] are always welcomed :) .[/quote]

I think it´s easy to make a prediction with so much margin time.
Personally if space engine will cost in steam (I don´t know), my donation will be when i will purchase the program.
I love space engine and I don't mind paying 50 €

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest