Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1491
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jan 2017 03:46

gamadh wrote:
Source of the post [...] diffraction spikes are set to normal or super

I wasn't sure what your reference was, then I saw you're referring to a bug listed in the first post of the thread.
The only solution is waiting for a fix in one of the next updates.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
SpaceHopper
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 21
Joined: 08 Jan 2017
Location: Virginia, USA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jan 2017 07:33

I got the problem I mentioned here fixed. Anyway, here's something minor yet still strange:
scr02885.jpg

At the bottom of the journey log, it says in the entry (but not in the mouseover popup) that the last star I visited was a "lack hole", rather than a "Black hole" as it actually is. What could possibly be omitting the "B"? I don't think it's the length of the star's RS-code or its parent's RS-code, as that screenshot shows entries with longer RS-codes.
The Genius Prayer: "God grant me the courage to change the things I cannot accept, serenity to accept the things I've changed and the wisdom to know I'm different."

Golden Rule: Do unto others before they get wind of it and do it unto you.
 
User avatar
gamadh
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 58
Joined: 03 Jan 2017
Location: Earth/Brazil

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jan 2017 07:34

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post I wasn't sure what your reference was, then I saw you're referring to a bug listed in the first post of the thread.
The only solution is waiting for a fix in one of the next updates.

I understand 
In such a hostile universe it is not necessary be the center to be special, just be alive
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1491
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jan 2017 08:29

Bran Noircorbac wrote:
Source of the post I have the same issue again. Anyone? Thanks!

Could you please attach your se.log file which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, as requested in the topmost message of this thread?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Bran Noircorbac
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Location: Strasbourg, FR.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 Jan 2017 06:21

Oh, sorry. Here you go
Attachments
se.log
(41.85 KiB) Downloaded 140 times
 
User avatar
Bran Noircorbac
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Location: Strasbourg, FR.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 Jan 2017 06:23

(Can't i edit my post?) I forgot one thing : when i reboot my pc, SE works fine again.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1491
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 Jan 2017 08:20

Bran Noircorbac,
[MT] Number of joysticks detected: 1
[MT] Joystick 0 (0):    4-axis 0-ball 13-button 1-hats "Usb Gamepad"

Did you try using SpaceEngine without the gamepad attached? Does it load some specific Windows utility or driver that emulates keyboard presses?
Because this could easily change the behavior of the keyboard. Also check your Controls Menu (F8) when the gamepad is attached to see if there are conflicting combinations.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Bran Noircorbac
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Location: Strasbourg, FR.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 Jan 2017 09:05

In fact i don't use it. (but i play another game with)
I don't have the problem now, i'll check to  unplug the pad next time. Thanks
 
User avatar
Bran Noircorbac
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Location: Strasbourg, FR.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 Jan 2017 10:27

well sorry i double post again. Unplug the gamepad works.
 
Rimbecano
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Jan 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 Jan 2017 18:53

I've noticed an apparent regression in Space Engine (or possibly a feature removal?) between versions 9.7.1 and 9.7.2, and still present in 9.8.0.
Namely, galactic halos in disk galaxies seem to have disappeared at radii greater than approximately 20 kly. In 9.7.1 and earlier, halos extend to at least the radius of the disk in all directions from the galactic center. In 9.7.2 and later, halos end abruptly at just over 20 kly. This is rather unfortunate, as planets in the far halo tend to have really spectacular views of the galactic disk.
Is this intentional or a problem with the procedural generation of halo stars?
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 505
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 Jan 2017 13:54

I'm having a strange issue. When flying around the default Solar System with Addon fictive planet "Planet X", which I ported over from Rob Sanders' Celestia Addon, and when it is near perihelion, flying spacecraft around Earth or in the air is problematic, as the spacecraft will mistakenly register "Planet X" as the nearest body, instead of Earth, even when in Earth's atmosphere. This is present across all spacecraft types, even with "Planet X" 10 AU's away.

scr00888.png


Here's the code I used for the world:


Planet "Planet X"
{
    ParentBody "Sol"
    Class "GasGiant"
    Mass 706.43674716607528464550913895814
    Radius 81650
    AlbedoBond 0.75
    AlbedoGeom 0.9
    Color (0.9 0.2 0.1)
    RotationPeriod 9.927953
    RotationOffset 342
    Obliquity 2.222461
    EqAscendNode -22.203
    Surface
    {
        Randomize      (-0.167, 0.841, 0.909)
        mainFreq        0.04044732
        stripeZones      6.45885
        stripeTwist       0.71669
        cycloneMagn     15.5726
        cycloneFreq     0.173544
        cycloneDensity  0.149144
        cycloneOctaves  2
        colorLayer0    (0.330, 0.270, 0.210, 1.000)
        colorLayer1    (0.240, 0.150, 0.080, 1.000)
        colorLayer2    (0.240, 0.180, 0.140, 1.000)
        colorLayer3    (0.310, 0.180, 0.090, 1.000)
        colorLayer4    (0.460, 0.230, 0.130, 1.000)
        colorLayer5    (0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 1.000)
        colorLayer6    (0.400, 0.230, 0.130, 1.000)
        colorLayer7    (0.810, 0.810, 0.810, 1.000)
        colorLowPlants (0.460, 0.230, 0.130, 1.000)
        colorUpPlants  (0.000, 0.000, 0.000, 1.000)
    }
    // NoClouds true
    // clouds {}
    // clouds {}
    // clouds {}
    NoOcean true
    // NoAtmosphere true
    Atmosphere
    {
        Model "Pinkworld"
        // Hue 0.365
        // Saturation 1.5
    }
    // NoAurora true
    NoRings true
    NoCometTail true
    Orbit
    {
        Epoch             374680.0
        Period            3600
        SemiMajorAxis     236
        Eccentricity      0.9917
        Inclination       -145
        AscendingNode     194.5
        ArgOfPericenter   270
        MeanAnomaly       150
        RefPlane       "Extrasolar"
    }
}
Attachments
se.log
(110.49 KiB) Downloaded 128 times
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Roswell
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 Jan 2017 22:03

Mosfet wrote:
Roswell wrote:
Source of the post The game forced me to press 2 times on my keyboard

You press two times what key, for doing what?

I tried to open a little windows who show a solar system in the left corner of my screen, info etc. etc excepte the moving is normal
 
User avatar
Handbanana
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Jan 2017
Location: Seattle

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

30 Jan 2017 11:00

I've noticed that white dwarfs no longer have a gravitational lensing effect.  I don't see any mention of this anywhere else on the forum, so maybe it's a weird problem with my install.
Tonight... you.
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 2006
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

31 Jan 2017 02:48

Handbanana wrote:
Source of the post I've noticed that white dwarfs no longer have a gravitational lensing effect.  I don't see any mention of this anywhere else on the forum, so maybe it's a weird problem with my install.

It's not just you, and I think this is a "fix".  The gravitational lensing around a white dwarf is pretty weak compared to a neutron star or black hole.  To give an idea, light which passes 2 radii from a black hole is bent by almost 60 degrees.  Light which passes 2 radii from a white dwarf is bent by only a few hundredths of a degree.

(Actually the deflection angle that close to a black hole is quite a bit bigger, since the formula I use ([math]) isn't very accurate there, but for the white dwarf it's pretty accurate.)
 
User avatar
Astroman
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Jan 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

31 Jan 2017 17:42

Space Engine keeps crashing every time I hold shift and the left mouse key when trying to zoom in and out of planets, stars, etc. 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest