Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Space Pilot
Posts: 142
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 Mar 2017 11:27

Huh? No HiRES photos to change into textures of the topography? No mod to stick in my folders? I could have sworn I've seen other's pictures somewhere of the Valles Marineria with spaceships flying by. Is the same true for all the planets in the solar system? I'm almost afraid to check out the moon or Venus now...

Oh ok, Well I'm pretty sure I will do what ever it takes to add higher resolution pictures to the folders. Any pointers on where to learn about that?
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
Xoran
Explorer
Posts: 261
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 Mar 2017 11:33

Gnargenox wrote:
Source of the post I could have sworn I've seen other's pictures somewhere of the Valles Marineria with spaceships flying by.

There is Solar system HD and Solar system Ultra addons in the download page, which increases resolution on blurry Solar System bodies. :)

Note that Solar system Ultra doesn't work without Solar system HD!
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Space Pilot
Posts: 142
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 Mar 2017 11:38

AWESOME! Thank you kind sir!
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
VoyagerX
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Mar 2017 11:48

yeah but yet their terrains bumpiness and definition will not be the same as procedural planets.. may i be wrong?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 331
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Mar 2017 14:02

VoyagerX, no, you are right. For now, that's the price to pay in order have accurate depictions of real bodies. In future this could change, though.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Posts: 305
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: International Space Station
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Mar 2017 17:30

Erm, Is the second name for this star supposed to be weird like this?
scr00214.jpg
scr00214.jpg (68.29 KiB) Viewed 81 times
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 331
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Mar 2017 18:20

Hornblower, no, it should be BD+22 1807.
It was mentioned in the old forum too, probably it was missed.
Script is:
Remove "U Gem/BD +22°1807/AAVSO 0749+22"

StarBarycenter    "U Gem/BD+22 1807/HD 64511/AAVSO 0749+22"
{
    Class    "DA"
    RA        07 55 05.24
    Dec       22 00 05.1
    Dist      82
    AbsMagn   9.5
}


to be placed under Addons\catalogs\stars\
or a .pak can be placed under Addons
Attachments
UGem-Fix.pak
(683 Bytes) Downloaded 1 time
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Posts: 305
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: International Space Station
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 Mar 2017 17:43

Another thing, real planet brightness doesn't seem to affect other stars in the system. For example, a Y class brown dwarf should be just a dark as a planet orbiting it, but this is not the case. (Can't tell if this is a bug or a limitation)

Exposure is turned up here:
scr00223.jpg
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
planetariumguy
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

23 Mar 2017 12:03

First off let me say that this program is awesome. I use it educationally to teach children about the universe and they love it. So thank you for all your work.

That said, I have found a bug with the controls where all the joystick buttons I program get wiped if I do the following.
  - start space engine without joystick
  - shut down space engine
  - plug in joystick
  - start space engine with joystick

Is there a way to keep the joystick control settings from resetting when I use SE without said joystick? 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests