Ultimate space simulation software

 
HapNStance
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 04 Apr 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Feb 2018 15:41

Thanks, Mosfet, for the quick answer.  That's kind of what I thought, but I thought it was important enough to ask.
 
Macronicus
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 25 Jan 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

01 Mar 2018 18:33

[quote="Mosfet"][ref]HapNStance[/ref], it's a known limitation, I think it's been described back in the old forum.


[quote="Macronicus"][post]18809[/post] Can I show my se.log here then?[/quote]
Yes, you can post your se.log in pastebin.com then paste the address here.[/quote]

Here's my log.

https://pastebin.com/LbfsLwgy
To a Galaxy billion light-years away from a Dark World.
 
iwo kieza
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Mar 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

03 Mar 2018 13:32

why do the planets and stars keep being invisible? The only thing i see is the polar lights thing and the star light the planets and stars themselves are not there, even if i have them on.
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 866
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

03 Mar 2018 13:48

iwo kieza wrote:
Source of the post why do the planets and stars keep being invisible? The only thing i see is the polar lights thing and the star light the planets and stars themselves are not there, even if i have them on.

I suspect you have a video card that is not compatible with SpaceEngine.
Probably an Intel HD 2000 or Intel HD 3000.
 
User avatar
alexsmithfanning
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Mar 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2018 11:26

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS with kernel 4.13.0-36-generic (hardware enablement)
AMD FX-6300 Six-core processor (with updated microcode)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti (driver version 390.25)

There appears to be an issue with black hole warp rendering when SpaceEngine is run via WINE on Linux. I'm currently running WINE 3.3 and have previously tried multiple versions of WINE-staging, WINE-stable, and WINE-devel and they have all persisted with the issue.

More specifically, if BlackHoleQuality is set to anything greater than zero, this issue appears.

It appears to be related to a GLSL shader error of some sort. I tried
winetricks glsl=disabled
and that had no effect on the graphics issue. Then I tried changing some settings in main-user.cfg such as IgnoreShaderBinary, IgnoreSyncObjects, LoaderAsyncTextures, LoaderAsyncMeshes, and LoaderAsyncShaders to no avail.

https://i.imgur.com/0Sys03v.jpg
This is with black hole quality set to low (or zero in the config file). Looks correct.

https://i.imgur.com/gxfHKjS.jpg
This is with black hole quality set to anything but low. Looks artifacted and corrupted. The look of the corruption changes depending on the orientation of the camera and distance from the black hole.

My https://pastebin.com/NDQjm4uU kernel dmesg and https://pastebin.com/FtvhuTUW SpaceEngine log.
 
JLowe
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 07 Mar 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 Mar 2018 20:23

I've searched through the common issues and on google for my problem and couldn't find mine, unless I overlooked it, so sorry in advance but here goes:

The game crashes(Program has stopped working box, Windows 10) after I click on the 20-30th star after opening the program.  I haven't counted exactly yet, but it's within that range, and it never fails.  It doesn't matter what kind of star it is, and it doesn't matter where I'm at when it does it.

Otherwise, the game runs perfectly fine, very smooth, no lag or choppiness.  Black holes are smooth, globular clusters are smooth, Neutron stars are smooth, Planet textures are smooth, everything.  But as soon as I click on one star too many, it crashes.

My rig:

Geforce GTX 1060, driver 391
Intel i-7 quad core 2.6 Ghz
16 GB ram

Unless I overlooked it, I didn't see an issue with these specs.  Thanks for your help.
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 866
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Mar 2018 00:49

JLowe, Can you post your 'se.log'? It is located in the 'system' directory of your SpaceEngine installation.
You probably need to use pastebin for this.
 
User avatar
Maurício Cruz
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 06 Feb 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Mar 2018 14:08

Normal?
Attachments
scr00954.jpg
scr00955.jpg
Pluto taught us at least how creative the universe could be (DOCUMENTARY)
 
JLowe
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 07 Mar 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Mar 2018 16:17

[quote="JackDole"][ref]JLowe[/ref], Can you post your '[b]se.log[/b]'? It is located in the '[b]system[/b]' directory of your SpaceEngine installation.
You probably need to use [url=https://pastebin.com]pastebin[/url] for this.[/quote]

https://pastebin.com/TyJw4AGG

Interesting, I noticed the log says "Creating Planetary system" when one gets clicked on. Perhaps it's an issue of creating too much stuff? Or too much stuff too quickly?
 
JLowe
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 07 Mar 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Mar 2018 16:43

https://pastebin.com/mfWkb7vj

Here's another one that crashed.  I post it because according to this one it began deleting the planetary systems of the stars I had clicked on previously.  Perhaps it's an issue of clicking on too much too quickly?
 
Mr. Abner
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 206
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Mar 2018 17:22

Maurício Cruz wrote:
Normal?

Tire tracks? I think you've found evidence of intelligent life in S.E.  :)
Do you have an address for this world?
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 866
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

09 Mar 2018 02:29

JLowe, in the first log you have some warnings about shaders.  I do not know if that matters, but you could delete the cache folder in your SpaceEngine installation.

If that does not help, you could update the driver for your video card, or make a rollback to an earlier version.

JLowe wrote:
Source of the post  Perhaps it's an issue of creating too much stuff? Or too much stuff too quickly?

This could only be the case if you have set the magnitude limit for stars too high and too many stars are visible at the same time.
 
User avatar
Maurício Cruz
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 06 Feb 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

09 Mar 2018 03:30

Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post Do you have an address for this world?

Yes, like intelligente life :D I think I not take the position :? I not found anymore... Sorry
Pluto taught us at least how creative the universe could be (DOCUMENTARY)
 
JLowe
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 07 Mar 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

09 Mar 2018 05:52

[quote="JackDole"][ref]JLowe[/ref], in the first log you have some warnings about shaders.  I do not know if that matters, but you could delete the cache folder in your SpaceEngine installation.

If that does not help, you could update the driver for your video card, or make a rollback to an earlier version.


This could only be the case if you have set the [b]magnitude limit[/b] for stars too high and too many stars are visible at the same time.[/quote]

Thanks for the help, I have tried several different drivers and the problem is the same among them. The one I have now is the latest I believe.

I'll try to delete the cache folder and see if that helps.

I should add that the game runs fine as long as I don't click on anything. I can fly to a star as long as I don't click on it(past the limit of 20-30).
 
JLowe
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 07 Mar 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

09 Mar 2018 18:37

I tried deleting the cache folder, as well as a few other things, but it didn't work.

Perhaps I should add that I flew to a binary system and clicked between the two stars probably 100+ times and the program hasn't crashed yet.  It apparently only does it when I click on too many new stars.

[size=100]In any case, if the problem cannot be fixed, thanks for your help anyway, and the program is still playable, just less convenient.[/size]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest