Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
 
Coalemus
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Sep 2018
Location: RS 5628-1792-7-733041-109 4

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

11 Oct 2018 15:05

Hi, is it possible to measure the mass of a procedural galaxy using SpaceEngine? If not, is such a feature planned in the future?
 
infinitydreams
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jan 2017
Location: Italia
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

14 Aug 2019 05:45

hello friends my name is Salvatore, I write from Italy, I have a problem, some planets do not load the textures, not all of them in only a few, is there any problem?
I tried with 2 computers with 2 different hardware, the problem always remains

my hardware 1
3x gtx 1080
1 cpu i9 9900k
m2 disk samsung
asus motherboard, 

hardware 2:
1x gtx 1080 8gb
cpu i7
32gb ram ddr4

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]I tried disabling sli in a hardware, updating drivers, but nothing happens.
It does not happen in all the planets, for example the earth, the moon, they work, it only happens on some planets not to load the textures, on pluto, it is at 50%
[/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]
[font=arial, sans-serif]sorry my english I don't know if I wrote in the right place. Thanks for your help!
[/font]
[/font]
Attachments
moon.jpg
pluto
Screen Shot 08-14-19 at 02.43 PM.jpg
kelt-9b
 
User avatar
pzampella
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 23
Joined: 12 Dec 2016
Location: Madrid
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

04 Sep 2019 04:21

Hello! By buying this 0.9.9 version, will I have access to any future releases or should pay also for those?
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

05 Sep 2019 18:38

pzampella wrote:
Source of the post Hello! By buying this 0.9.9 version, will I have access to any future releases or should pay also for those?

Updates are made frequently and don't cost anything.
Ryzen 7 3700X, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 501
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

06 Sep 2019 23:21

Is it possible to tell Space Engine to avoid generating a procedural object within a set radius from a specific catalog object?
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1622
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

07 Sep 2019 00:12

As far as I know, only for the sun.

// Procedural stars generator settings
StarGenerator
{
     StarMaxAppMagn               10      // max apparent magnitude of procedural stars while looking from Solar system
     StarMinDistNormal            2.5     // min distance from the Sun to procedural stars (except brown dwarfs and stellar remnants)
     StarMinDistBrownDwarf    2       // min distance from the Sun to procedural brown dwarfs
     StarMinDistRemnant         3       // min distance from the Sun to procedural black holes, neutron stars and white dwarfs
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
majesticaustinwilson
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Sep 2019

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

13 Sep 2019 11:26

can there be multiplayer?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1622
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

13 Sep 2019 11:40

majesticaustinwilson wrote:
Source of the post can there be multiplayer?

As far as I know this is planned. But it will probably still take a while. (A few years?)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
longname
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 100
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Location: ∞/The Multiverse/The Universe/Local Cluster/The Milky Way/Orion Arm/Sol System/Earth-Moon/Earth/UK

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

06 Oct 2019 10:20

JackDole wrote:
majesticaustinwilson wrote:
Source of the post can there be multiplayer?

As far as I know this is planned. But it will probably still take a while. (A few years?)

Unless it means being able to fly around as an avatar and being able to tell your friend "Hey, look, come see this" and zoom down together and just be 2 giants looking down upon a planet, kinda like Google Earth VR if it was for desktop and had multiplayer, then this would just mean yet another space game where you fly around doing your own things. Count me out, Elite and No Man's Sky, Infinity: Battlescape, etc. are enough.

EDIT: My point being that space feels too big for a full multiplayer game because all that space goes to waste if you use it on a multiplayer game where you have to be in the same couple of kilometers to see each other's ships. The avatar that grows when you zoom out of a galaxy idea is to keep things feeling multi, if you know what I mean, so you can be at the cosmic horizon and see someone else provided you have the clearest screen in the world, so you aren't isolated my massive reaches of utter nothingness. Yes, it isn't much of a game but it emphasizes the multiplayer more. Maybe just have this as an extra mode if you're that desperate to join Elite and NMS on the multiplayer space opera bandwagon?
Last edited by longname on 09 Oct 2019 09:45, edited 1 time in total.
[dah<500,26>dah<180,14>dah<180,21>dah<500,19>dah<180,26>dah<500,21>]
 
User avatar
Raven
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Jul 2017
Location: Corner of No and Where

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

08 Oct 2019 15:55

Multiplayer can make a big difference when family and/or friends are interested in what you're doing. I've copied a spaceport with a race course from Orbiter's online Rocket Racing addon, and it would be infinitely more fun racing each other instead of the clock, for example. If my PC would handle SE and recording at the same time, I'd upload a few videos. Not to mention running the canyons on exoplanets...

*Update* Just found and tested https://obsproject.com/, and it doesn't kill my FPS, so expect clips soon!
Last edited by Raven on 09 Oct 2019 12:38, edited 1 time in total.
  • 1
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest