Ultimate space simulation software

 
Nebulax
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: 30 Sep 2017

How to change the saved directory?

12 Sep 2019 16:05

Hi, I have the space engine pro and I'm making videos but all the ones I make are saved in the path of my c disk.

Can I change and choose the exact site or not?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1621
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

How to change the saved directory?

13 Sep 2019 01:46

All videos you make with the internal VCR should be saved to the folder '<drive>:\ ..\Steam\steamapps\common\SpaceEngine\screenshots\capture '. You usually can not change that.
(There is a file called 'folders.cfg' in the 'system' directory of SpaceEngine, which contains all the paths SE uses, but they are all relative to the SpaceEngine directory.)
If you are using an external VCR, you will need to look in the instructions for this program.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1399
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

How to change the saved directory?

13 Sep 2019 01:49

Nebulax wrote:
Hi, I have the space engine pro and I'm making videos but all the ones I make are saved in the path of my c disk.

Can I change and choose the exact site or not?

There's a file named folders.cfg in your spaceengine /system folder. You can change the path of your screenshot/capture directory by editing these lines:
ScreenshotsDir          "screenshots/"
VideoCaptureDir         "screenshots/capture/"


with your preferred drive and folder, like
ScreenshotsDir          "D:/Pictures/"
VideoCaptureDir         "D:/Videos/"


Be aware that a SpaceEngine update could revert those changes to default values, so it's likely you'd have to edit again the file.
As always, make a backup copy of the original file before editing.

JackDole wrote:
Source of the post but they are all relative to the SpaceEngine directory

I thought that too, until someone in italian discord tried and successfully moved the cache folder in a RAMdisk. I did too, but I didn't see much of a difference at start.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1621
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

How to change the saved directory?

13 Sep 2019 07:11

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post You can change the path of your screenshot/capture directory by editing these lines:

You're right. It works. (There's nothing like trying.)
Now it just has to be found out how the 'addon' folder can be moved as well!
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest