Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 252
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

ISS Mod

21 Jul 2019 01:23

Does anyone know if these two lines are recognizable orbit parameters from SE?:
► Show Spoiler

I am trying to sync the ISS with its real position but it is either a few thousand kms ahead or behind its real position (but on the correct track).
This is today's (21-07-2019) orbital elements and this is what I've got in SE:
► Show Spoiler

In the manual it says that the epoch must be in Julian days but I don;t know how to convert it from UTC days*
* Correction I found a site that does that (thank you internet & google) - I will report back..

Yay! That site did the trick:
► Show Spoiler

Use this orbital elements for today:
► Show Spoiler
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1262
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

ISS Mod

21 Jul 2019 17:23

I have an old version that HarbingerDawn and I setup a long time ago, similar to the above mod

It has been shared for many years now, and says 0.9.8.1 rather than 0.9.9.0 but it might work

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8hmFd ... ZjT1E/view
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
astroclu
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: 26 Oct 2018
Location: Aguascalientes, Ags. Mexico
Contact:

ISS Mod

22 Jul 2019 10:09

Thanks fot that Doctor of Space, I think this version was on the old forum but had not been reposted here. I've tested it in 0.990 and it does work fine. The HST is a great  addition too. I remember I had these on 0.980 but after a hard drive failure and reinstall, I lost it and never found it again. ( I even thought I had imagined the whole thing or seen these models elsewhere since I  
scr00013.jpg

Here's a comparison, the new one on the left side, and the old one on the right side. So you can see it's very similar (with some diferences, such as the cupola windows shutters are open in the old one and closed in the new one, the new one has more soyuz sapcecrafts docked...) and of course the new one, being heavier in file size and graphics ressources, benefits from more detailed structures in the truss section (more polygons and vertices) and the texture/materials are also more detailed. So that's up to you whether you prefer the lightweight version or the heavyweight, depending on what your CPU and GPU can handle. But you now have the option. 
 
Core i7-8700 [email protected] RAM 16GB GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB VRAM
"The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom"
Isaac Asimov
 
User avatar
astroclu
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: 26 Oct 2018
Location: Aguascalientes, Ags. Mexico
Contact:

ISS Mod

22 Jul 2019 11:43

The cupola is definitely a goodie to have so I'll try to modify the "hi-res" model to have the shutter open and be able to use it. 
Here are some views form the cupola.
scr00016.jpg
scr00015.jpg
Core i7-8700 [email protected] RAM 16GB GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB VRAM
"The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom"
Isaac Asimov
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1262
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

ISS Mod

22 Jul 2019 15:12

Pretty simple to just throw in a transparent single pixel image.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 252
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

ISS Mod

22 Jul 2019 15:23

Doc any chance we may ever get this ISS?:
► Show Spoiler

These are all from your post here.
And the Enterprise wouldn't be bad as a cherry in the cake :P
Last edited by N0B0DY on 23 Jul 2019 03:54, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1262
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

ISS Mod

22 Jul 2019 18:27

Recent updates completely broke that detailed Enterprise so I never released it

That ISS was random sml edits to the above linked model, doubt I still have them.

There is a really massive Trek pak available in Discord though
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 252
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

ISS Mod

23 Jul 2019 07:57

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Source of the post That ISS was random sml edits to the above linked model, doubt I still have them.

► Show Spoiler

Jokes aside how difficult it would be for a complete rookie like me to transform it again?
 
kosmitek
Observer
Observer
Posts: 11
Joined: 12 Jun 2019

ISS Mod

21 Aug 2019 13:37

Is it possible to reduce the size of the entire spacecraft in the editor, and not just individual modules? This option is currently disabled.
 
User avatar
astroclu
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: 26 Oct 2018
Location: Aguascalientes, Ags. Mexico
Contact:

ISS Mod

21 Aug 2019 14:07

Well, in this case, the ISS is a single huge module, you can select the edit module option and resize the whole station as you wish. 
Core i7-8700 [email protected] RAM 16GB GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB VRAM
"The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom"
Isaac Asimov
 
User avatar
Jackdaw
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 45
Joined: 05 Jul 2017
Location: TRAPPIST-1 e
Contact:

ISS Mod

14 Sep 2019 08:05

Is it only me or does anyone else have this problem? When I go to ISS, and when it pops out in my FoV, I get a sudden yet continuous framerate dropping. It drops to 5 FPS, and it keeps that framerate till I look away (and the framerate comes back to normal immediately). I checked my Task Manager, my GPU 3D Engine load suddenly dropped to about 1/3 when the ISS model popped out. 

Image
↑That's when it's normal (See FPS at top left corner)


Image
↑And that's when it gets nuts (See FPS at top left corner)


My specs are in my signature. 
"...perch`e i nostri discorsi hanno a essere sopra un mondo sensibile, e non sopra un mondo di carta."

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X GPU: AMD Radeon RX 580 8G RAM: 32 GBs Storage (of SE): WD SN750 250G
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 272
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

ISS Mod

26 Sep 2019 04:45

Maybe one day, when SpaceEngineerfully implements PBR rendering on SE we can think of this kind of modeling for the ISS:




At least the exterior. PBR its going to be an awesome feature.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest