Free planetarium

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 9
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Explorer
Posts: 264
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Your SpaceEngine Videos

15 Mar 2017 16:23

Ha! I guess we would have to start a poll. I know I use NTFS and will still never be able to use an AVI larger than 4GB because of their inherent maximum size. MP4s though, can be for me.
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
hiigaran
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Mar 2017

Your SpaceEngine Videos

15 Mar 2017 17:15

So if the files still have a 4 gig limitation, do the programs automatically create new files when the limit is hit, to allow you to later perform lossless compression and stitch them together seamlessly?
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Pioneer
Posts: 584
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Your SpaceEngine Videos

15 Mar 2017 17:21

A lossless format is great if file size isn't an issue or you're only making very short videos, but otherwise I'd recommend a different codec.  The xvid ones are pretty good and output files in the <100MB range per minute, without any appreciable loss of quality.  Just be sure to say no to whatever third party stuff it might want to install with it.

Another thing you can do is have SE output the raw frames (press F9) rather than using video capture, and then compile the frames into a video using something like makeAVI.  It's an extra step, but has the benefit of avoiding the problems of lag or variable FPS.  The video will be very smooth.
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Explorer
Posts: 264
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Your SpaceEngine Videos

15 Mar 2017 19:32

hiigaran wrote:
Source of the post do the programs automatically create new files when the limit is hit, to allow you to later perform lossless compression and stitch them together seamlessly

Welllllllll, nope. That is something I have been struggling with for awhile. I made many videos, mostly at 60fps, usually a minute long, sometimes as long as 3 and a half minutes using the UT codec with very little hard drive space. Saving them, moving them to flash or going ahead and converting them to MP4. That would bring them down to 100-300MB or so. Then doing a little editing or chopping ends off and trying to splice them all together. Over time I would forget what codec was used etc and managing them became even more difficult. I learned that H.264 codec for MP4s had the best compression. I had to do this for pretty much the same reason as you, I didn't want to do compressing with my processor at the same time I was flying around in LOD1. I would end up with many videos having "jumpy stars" in the back ground sky or even worse was terrible "banding" where gradients would posterize (using fewer different tones of color). It is all a learning process for me, I am sure there are better ways that I'm not familiar with or capable of. At this moment I am using a program to join about 2 dozen 300-500MB videos, each about 10-20 minutes long with fair to frustrating results. The method I am using right now is actually going back to AVI but with H.264 codec at 5000 bit rate (has a lot to do with banding I believe) with 60fps. This takes my system about 4 hours to do and I will need to do it a dozen times to make the 2 1/2 hour video and have it come out as an AVI that is less than 4GB and still keep me satisfied over the quality. Sigh. I'm at 77% and I'd like to go to bed early lol.... any way here is a link to that program, it is free with no watermarks, has every conceivable option and can join/convert to any file format with your own quality presets. Best of luck!
VSDC Free Video Editor:Free video editing software

Oh, another free software program I use, that is a bit easier but with fewer options is Avidemux. With it I can use the Quantizing option under codec configuration and bump it up to 1.5 for a stronger effect on getting rid of banding, if I don't know or can change the file's bit rate.
Avidemux 2.6 - 64 bits: More free video editing software
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
midtskogen
Explorer
Posts: 181
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Your SpaceEngine Videos

16 Mar 2017 02:06

I've found that Kdenlive (website) has become pretty good for video editing.  I'm not sure how well it works in Windows, though.  It uses ffmpeg for encoding, which for me runs pretty fast, even 4K content.
NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 489
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Your SpaceEngine Videos

16 Mar 2017 03:47

I agree, Kdenlive under Linux it's impressive. Saved me once for an impromptu wedding DVD I had to make, because I was "the only one who knows computers". I didn't know there's a new windows build, I'll try it at once, thanks midtskogen.
For Windows 10 I used Shotcut in a couple of tests, it's opensource and actively maintained. A bit of a wild horse at the moment if you ask me, but promising.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
MPJ
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Mar 2017

Your SpaceEngine Videos

16 Mar 2017 04:15

Hello guys, i created a little space adventure with SpaceEngine consisting of 2 parts (until now):





thumbs up for SpaceEngine btw! :)
 
hiigaran
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Mar 2017

Your SpaceEngine Videos

16 Mar 2017 05:32

I just remembered something now. Nvidia has this ShadowPlay thing. I'm not entirely sure how it works, and I haven't tried it yet as I'm currently out of the country, but from what I understand, the video card can perform high quality recordings with no more than 5% to 10% reduction in performance. Or at least, according to Nvidia anyway.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 586
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Your SpaceEngine Videos

16 Mar 2017 07:12

hiigaran,Shadowplay works with SE but only if you set it to Desktop recording and then go back into SE.  You may get stuttering if your PC isnt very good.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
hiigaran
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Mar 2017

Your SpaceEngine Videos

16 Mar 2017 10:40

What would be the limiting factor? The CPU or the GPU? Running on a 6500 and GTX1080 with 16 gigs of RAM.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 586
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Your SpaceEngine Videos

16 Mar 2017 10:55

I don't know, Shadowplay primarily uses the GPU though so that might be it.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
hiigaran
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Mar 2017

Your SpaceEngine Videos

18 Mar 2017 06:32

Yeah, after playing around with it for a bit, things look decent. High quality, barely noticeable performance impact, if any. The only issue is that you can't hide the SE interface like you can with the built in video capture tools.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 586
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Your SpaceEngine Videos

18 Mar 2017 06:44

hiigaran wrote:
Source of the post The only issue is that you can't hide the SE interface like you can with the built in video capture tools.

Use CTRL + ~ to hide it and unpin the menus when recording.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
hiigaran
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 14 Mar 2017

Your SpaceEngine Videos

18 Mar 2017 12:18

Heh, bit like my experience with learning Blender. So many keyboard commands!
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Explorer
Posts: 264
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Your SpaceEngine Videos

21 Mar 2017 00:14

I guess Mars was a poor choice for trying my first 3D anaglyph video. A procedural planet would have worked better since the detail is inherently so much higher. But either way here is my first attempt at doing a fly-through of Valles Marineris, from east to west and back again.
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 9

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests