Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
evildrganymede
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: 17 Jan 2018

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

14 Feb 2018 10:28

Is there currently a "Hide all GUI" toggle button that hides (and brings back) all the buttons, toolbars, info text, etc from the screen? I know that F11 takes a screenshot without all that but that's not what I'm asking for - I think it would be nice to have a way to just instantly hide or show all of the overlaying stuff for taking videos, streaming, or just generally flying around without all that clutter, without having to manually hide multiple toolbars etc. 

If this is in 0.9.8.0 already, could someone please tell me where it is?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1391
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

14 Feb 2018 12:21

Sure, there is such a feature. Use CTRL + ~ to hide all or part of information on screen.
You will find a text file with a list of commands in the docs\ folder of your SpaceEngine installation, or by pressing, uhh, F8 if I remember correctly to see and edit current key combinations in-game.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
evildrganymede
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: 17 Jan 2018

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

14 Feb 2018 12:30

Thanks, that's useful to know but that doesn't quite go all the way - it hides the info text but the crosshairs are still visible and the sidebars are still there. I was after a way to quickly toggle getting rid of *everything* except the view (like what you get in an F11 screenshot). 
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1391
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

14 Feb 2018 13:22

Sidebars have a pin-unpin button (search for a circle).
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
evildrganymede
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: 17 Jan 2018

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

14 Feb 2018 14:16

Yes, I know that, but you have to pin/unpin them individually each time. What I'm asking for (since it apparently doesn't exist) is a single button that can be bound to make all of the GUI elements - text, crosshairs and toolbars - appear or disappear, which would make that a lot easier to do. 
 
User avatar
Bomhomdu
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Oct 2019
Location: Kronos

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

19 Oct 2019 05:33

I have only used Space Engine once, today, and this is the first thing I wanted to do after a few minutes and my search for an answer brought me here, A single command to clear ALL GUI and texts leaving just the imagery to fly through, pretty basic really .Very surprised this isn't possible , I was a fiightsim geek for some years and that option was always present in FSX , 
I'm using a free version  of space engine 9.8, Does this feature exist in the latest build 9.9 anyone?
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 273
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

19 Oct 2019 08:20

You can hide each panel by clicking on the pin/tack icon in each of them. For the info about the object in the upper left corner you can just click anywhere so that no object is selected and thus no info is displayed. That way you will have a clear view.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1585
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

19 Oct 2019 10:43

FastFourierTransform wrote:
Source of the post You can hide each panel by clicking on the pin/tack icon in each of them.

That is known.
And the information can be hidden with 'Ctrl ~'.
(If you're in a place with a lot of stars, it does not work so well with the mouse.)
It therefore requires in the worst case 6 mouse clicks and 2 key commands.
It would be much easier if you could do it with a single keystroke.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1585
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Is there (or can we have) a "Hide all GUI" button?

20 Oct 2019 02:06

I have made a few small scripts that make it possible to hide and display all Gui elements with a keystroke.
But AutoHotKey is needed for that.

The scripts are here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546&p=31763#p31763
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests