Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 473
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 May 2017 16:24

Really nice. I'm not a fan of very small previews, so I concur with you. Unless you try with very large rows, then maybe you would need a buttons rearrangement.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
Voubi
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Dec 2016
Location: Behind you...

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 May 2017 16:46

Nah, I, personally, think this is already pretty good as it is now. Adding Small previews to each of them could make this one piece of UI seem a bit cluttered...
Something interesting would be to allow us to write a small description of the saved location (not something very complex to add in my mind, but what-do-i-know-?), It would allow for easier sharing (as i can see a "share" button) and for more organisation and "customization" of individual saves...
Also, separating the folders is, in my mind, a better Idea... It would be easier to find them back this way... Maybe you could even save them under My Documents/Saved Games/Space Engine (not sure about this one, this just went through my mind and seemed something worth mentioning...).

Anyway, love the new UI, makes the Game/Software/Engine (Delete as Appropriate) look way more smooth and modern...
Kudos to you, again, for all this wonderful work...
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known..."
-Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
gamadh
Observer
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 May 2017 17:26

Would it be possible to save the game every 10 or 15 minutes? Just like an automatic save? This is how if the game stopped working stopped where I was
 
User avatar
Salvo
Space Pilot
Posts: 139
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 May 2017 23:30

gamadh wrote:
Would it be possible to save the game every 10 or 15 minutes? Just like an automatic save? This is how if the game stopped working stopped where I was

There is the Journey log that keeps tracking of every object you select (or go to, I'm not sure) so you can use that, unless if you want to go again to a specific location of a planet. In that case I always found quite easy to find it again, even if the scales are real. Maybe I have a good visual memory.  8-)
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
User avatar
Terrablae
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 May 2017
Location: Croydon, Victoria, Australia

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

16 May 2017 00:44

I know the program is still very much in development but is it possible that you could release some sort of player testing version before releasing the actual update? I'm sure player Criticism and Compliments would help especially if the version was tested before actual release.
Space is not to be Admired...
...But Explored!
So please get those telescopes out, look at the planets & stars and think
'What would happen if it blew up?'
 
User avatar
Voubi
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Dec 2016
Location: Behind you...

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

16 May 2017 01:05

There is, actually, some kind of Closed Beta, for some rare Steam Users, so, in terms of player feedback, i'm not sure if more is needed...
As the current update is still a pre-1.0 version (technically a Beta), releasing a beta of a Beta seems a little too much...
Just wait for a little more, it'll come when Space Engineer feel it is finished enough for us to see, and it'll blow us away, like always...

(And bear in mind that if it comes out bugged, even a little, some people will be whining that Space Engineer doesn't do his job well enough... Ever heard of Elite:Dangerous ?)
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known..."
-Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
Terrablae
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 May 2017
Location: Croydon, Victoria, Australia

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

16 May 2017 01:27

Voubi wrote:
There is, actually, some kind of Closed Beta, for some rare Steam Users, so, in terms of player feedback, i'm not sure if more is needed...
As the current update is still a pre-1.0 version (technically a Beta), releasing a beta of a Beta seems a little too much...
Just wait for a little more, it'll come when Space Engineer feel it is finished enough for us to see, and it'll blow us away, like always...

(And bear in mind that if it comes out bugged, even a little, some people will be whining that Space Engineer doesn't do his job well enough... Ever heard of Elite:Dangerous ?)

Oh I didn't realise there was already a closed beta test. Thanks for letting me know!
(Yes I do know Elite: Dangerous quite well)
Space is not to be Admired...
...But Explored!
So please get those telescopes out, look at the planets & stars and think
'What would happen if it blew up?'
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Posts: 183
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

16 May 2017 01:47

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Once again upgraded locations menu. I trying to turn it to a game-like save/load menu, and add the save/load options to the main menu. Previews are generated when user adds a location or going to it, and saved to the config folder (it could be split to "config" and "save" folder).

I can also put a preview to each row of the table, but then it will be much smaller. What do you think?

Image

So like this already it goes but otherwise indeed, the image would be small if you want to put it also in the list on the left. If not, if you can, why not display the detail detail right also when you pass the cursor over it and as soon as the mouse is removed from an item in the list, the right preview will return to the selected location, would be simpler no ?
Also, is it planned to add a glimpse of the celestial bodies also in the historical (place where we visited) and also a list of all the planets that were given a nickname (that is to say the name that you gave to the celestial object when you do information, edited) ?
Also in the main menu when you click edited, instead of "Edit planet", replace by "Edit the celestial bodie" or "Edit the aster" because we can edit a star, a black hole or a moon.
Have a nice day.
 
User avatar
SCtester
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 Apr 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 May 2017 12:13

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post I can also put a preview to each row of the table, but then it will be much smaller. What do you think?

The new locations menu looks really nice, good work SpaceEngineer! I would personally like to have small previews on each row, however I completely understand those who don't want it. Would it be possible to have that as an option in the settings - being able to turn on and off location previews?
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 May 2017 12:58

Maybe a tiles then? Larger window with 3*3 grid of previews.
 
adigyran
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 May 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 May 2017 23:58

How to participate to beta? I`m using a Space Engine almost 2 years, and have HTC Vive with space simulators experience
 
User avatar
Salvo
Space Pilot
Posts: 139
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

18 May 2017 04:06

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Maybe a tiles then? Larger window with 3*3 grid of previews.

If you want it to be more "gamish"... that would totally look like a game, indeed.
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
User avatar
gamadh
Observer
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

18 May 2017 09:04

you pretend add more models of atmosphere in this version? 
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

My idea for a small first "gameplay" mechanic - base building

19 May 2017 07:24

Made some adjustments in code, now it's easy to make a base as a static ship.

New types of celestial objects added - "Object", "Spacecraft", "Structure", "Artifact", used to describe a static ship/building as a fictional "planet" in a planet catalog. You have to describe your object as a "satellite" of a some planet like this:
Structure "Mariner base"
{
 Model          "spacecraft/MarsBase/MarsBase.sss"
 ParentBody     "Mars"
 TidalLocked     true // up vector automatically derived from FixedPos coordinates
 RotationOffset  96 // free parameter - orientation azimuth
 FixedPosPolar  (99.512224 -6.943654 3399.9) // longitude, latitude and distance from the parent planet center
}


There you have to specify a longitude, latitude and distance from the parent planet center in the FixedPosPolar, then adjust it more precisely it in the ship/planet editor (I have added an "infinite slider" mode for sliders to ease editing), then save the script (via exporting). If the TidalLocked true is specified, SE automatically computes the object's orientation to keep it horizontal on a planet surface (RotationOffset is a free parameter, used to adjust orientation azimuth).

Any ship model can be used, for this example I created a martian base model in the ship editor (capsule-shaped modules were rotated in the built-in SE ship editor). You have to specify the path to the model's sss script in the Model parameter. The sss script is regular, I only have added a new ship classes: "Building", "Base", "City":
Name    "MarsBase"
Class   "Base"
Pack    "SpaceEngine"
Faction "SHW Habitat Inc."
Length   404.63666
Offset  (0 0 -10)
Quat    (0.5 -0.5 -0.5 0.5)
Mass     7.5946592e+008
Albedo   0.3
Exposure 2
Color   (1 1 1)
MainEngines  0
RetroEngines 0
HoverEngines 0
CorrEngines  0
TurnEngines  0.002
WarpBoostLog 0
Warpdrive    false
Aerodynamics false

Module  "fuel_tank1"  { "Modules/fuel_tank.cfg" (-1 0 0 0 0 0 -1 0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 1) }
Module  "propellent_tank1"  { "Modules/propellent_tank.cfg" (-1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 -1 0 0 90 0 1) }
.........


scr00626.jpg

scr00627.jpg

scr00628.jpg


Space station could be made by similar way, you just have to specify different type/class, and describe a normal orbit around planet instead of FixedPosPolar. Static space stations could be used to dock with you ship. This works even for buildings/bases, although has no sense. In future docking ports in bases could be changed to a landing pads, with different highlighting mode.

Now it's time to make some parts for a ground bases to be used in the editor :)

Next necessary work is adding static ships to a game (so you can build/destroy them), and making an easy tool to place a base on the ground.

The main visual problem with this is that bases looks like coming from a game from 90's. SE does not have a good lighting model for ships, no shadows, no custom lights, no global illumination, no transparency, no reflections etc. A very large work must be done in this field. And, of course, needed improved level of detail of planets, especially on Solar system's ones...
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 473
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

19 May 2017 07:39

Anyway it's a step in the right direction. Wonderful
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests