Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 497
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 00:45

N0B0DY wrote:
HarbingerDawn wrote:

I just feel sorry for people with weak GPUs...
Maybe I must start saving for Titan RTX.. You know, just to be sure for when SE ver 1.00 comes out :)
The 3D effect sure looks magnificent NathanKerbonaut!
I wonder what kind of hardware SE will require once complex shadows are implemented?..

I think its safe to say 0.980/0.980e will be my last version of SE for a good long while. A few years, minimum. I can afford SE on steam no prob, but a new laptop is out of the question. Yay poor man's life /s ;_;
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 407
Joined: 02 May 2018

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 01:20

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
N0B0DY wrote:
HarbingerDawn wrote:

I just feel sorry for people with weak GPUs...
Maybe I must start saving for Titan RTX.. You know, just to be sure for when SE ver 1.00 comes out :)
The 3D effect sure looks magnificent NathanKerbonaut!
I wonder what kind of hardware SE will require once complex shadows are implemented?..

I think its safe to say 0.980/0.980e will be my last version of SE for a good long while. A few years, minimum. I can afford SE on steam no prob, but a new laptop is out of the question. Yay poor man's life /s ;_;

I wanted to build a new PC for 0.990 already but I have been out of work for a while and my new job has been delayed a few months.  I guess I just have to wait either way for both new hardware and 0.990 to come out.  I know that feeling of not being able to afford
 
User avatar
Stellarator
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 874
Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Location: Sagittarius A*

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 02:02

vlad01 wrote:
PlutonianEmpire wrote:
N0B0DY wrote:
I just feel sorry for people with weak GPUs...
Maybe I must start saving for Titan RTX.. You know, just to be sure for when SE ver 1.00 comes out :)
The 3D effect sure looks magnificent NathanKerbonaut!
I wonder what kind of hardware SE will require once complex shadows are implemented?..

I think its safe to say 0.980/0.980e will be my last version of SE for a good long while. A few years, minimum. I can afford SE on steam no prob, but a new laptop is out of the question. Yay poor man's life /s ;_;

I wanted to build a new PC for 0.990 already but I have been out of work for a while and my new job has been delayed a few months.  I guess I just have to wait either way for both new hardware and 0.990 to come out.  I know that feeling of not being able to afford

Same here. I am also looking into a new rig, for the purposes of playing SE 0990, among other new games. I mean, I know my current computer might be able to scrape by with 0990 on the lowest settings, but I really hope to play it on optimal graphics to truly enjoy the new version to its fullest.
Futurum Fusionem
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 407
Joined: 02 May 2018

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 02:39

More or less in the same boat.
 
User avatar
Messier
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 84
Joined: 26 May 2018

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 05:12

N0B0DY wrote:
HarbingerDawn wrote:

I just feel sorry for people with weak GPUs...
Maybe I must start saving for Titan RTX.. You know, just to be sure for when SE ver 1.00 comes out :)
The 3D effect sure looks magnificent NathanKerbonaut!
I wonder what kind of hardware SE will require once complex shadows are implemented?..


If I have 8GB of RAM and an Nvidia graphics card, It should work, right?
The only Astrogriff
 
User avatar
Azirphaeli
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Aug 2017

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 07:37

[quote="Messier"]If I have 8GB of RAM and an Nvidia graphics card, It should work, right?[/quote]

Which graphics card?
 
User avatar
stongduke
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 41
Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Location: Planet Texas

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 07:44

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
N0B0DY wrote:
HarbingerDawn wrote:

I just feel sorry for people with weak GPUs...
Maybe I must start saving for Titan RTX.. You know, just to be sure for when SE ver 1.00 comes out :)
The 3D effect sure looks magnificent NathanKerbonaut!
I wonder what kind of hardware SE will require once complex shadows are implemented?..

I think its safe to say 0.980/0.980e will be my last version of SE for a good long while. A few years, minimum. I can afford SE on steam no prob, but a new laptop is out of the question. Yay poor man's life /s ;_;

I have the like, mid mans life. Is AMD RX 580 enough for 0.9.9.0?
Can I have an order of uhhh randomly generated city lights?
 
User avatar
Cinfoni
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 Jan 2017
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 08:23

This dude doing everthing alone... dang, you got my respect, 100% buying it on steam, i can finally just give you my money :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Just a space enthusiastic. I plan to study astrophysics in the future.
 
User avatar
Messier
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 84
Joined: 26 May 2018

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 11:15

Azirphaeli wrote:
Messier wrote:
If I have 8GB of RAM and an Nvidia graphics card, It should work, right?


Which graphics card?

980 MX I believe
The only Astrogriff
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 407
Joined: 02 May 2018

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 16:55

stongduke wrote:
PlutonianEmpire wrote:
N0B0DY wrote:
I just feel sorry for people with weak GPUs...
Maybe I must start saving for Titan RTX.. You know, just to be sure for when SE ver 1.00 comes out :)
The 3D effect sure looks magnificent NathanKerbonaut!
I wonder what kind of hardware SE will require once complex shadows are implemented?..

I think its safe to say 0.980/0.980e will be my last version of SE for a good long while. A few years, minimum. I can afford SE on steam no prob, but a new laptop is out of the question. Yay poor man's life /s ;_;

I have the like, mid mans life. Is AMD RX 580 enough for 0.9.9.0?

If its the 8GB is should work quite well, 4gb will still work but more limited settings.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

29 Mar 2019 19:32

RX 580 is definitely enough. See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=500
Ryzen 7 3700X, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Razordraac
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Mar 2019

Work progress 0.990

30 Mar 2019 00:55

I suppose a GTX 970 will also suffice? I too plan to build a new PC sometime this year but SE will probably be out before then :)
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1047
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

30 Mar 2019 02:07

RX 580 is one of my dev cards.
 
User avatar
stongduke
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 41
Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Location: Planet Texas

Work progress 0.990

30 Mar 2019 07:21

HarbingerDawn wrote:
RX 580 is definitely enough. See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=500

Oh, why thank you for linking me to that thread! I'll make sure to search around for anything before asking a question next time. Still can't wait for 0.9.9.0 and those sweet, sweet nebulae.
Can I have an order of uhhh randomly generated city lights?
 
User avatar
Gonder
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Jan 2017
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Work progress 0.990

05 Apr 2019 17:46

[quote="Razordraac"]I suppose a GTX 970 will also suffice? I too plan to build a new PC sometime this year but SE will probably be out before then :)[/quote]I've been using a GTX 970 for more than a couple years now, and Space Engine has always ran silky smooth. As for if it will after the Steam launch, I'm quite certain that it will.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest