Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
LBV 2012-26
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 24
Joined: 18 Nov 2018

Work progress 0.990

01 May 2019 20:30

SpaceEngineer wrote:
KaRRyer wrote:
Source of the post Can we have a status for the progress of 0.990 ?

Working on Solar system textures. Cubemap tool was updated to support SE 0.990 texture format (256x256, with 2 pixel-wide border inside the tile). It also was made 64-bit and multithreaded, to speedup conversion process. Some textures, for which I have source. are converted directly, some updated/patched to fix problems, some was merged back from tiles and converted again. Some textures was replaced with better ones. This process is not quick, I already spent 3 weeks on it. So far, Saturn satellites, Triton and Pluto system are left:

sst.png

As a bonus, I ported SpaceEngine to x64 - this was surprisingly easy, because I developed the code from the beginning in a right manner, keeping in mind future porting. In fact, I spent one evening on recompiling third-party libraries to x64, and one-two days fixing issues in SE. So now SE is not limited by 4 GB of RAM, bur is able to use any amount, available in the system (and even more, because Windows features "virtual memory"). Beta testers successfully pushed it to limits, by rendering screenshots with millions of stars: SE occupied up to 30 GB of RAM in these experiments, and still not crash.

This is a huge upgrade. Thanks for the work of SpaceEngineer.
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 250
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Work progress 0.990

01 May 2019 23:30

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post As a bonus, I ported SpaceEngine to x64 - this was surprisingly easy, because I developed the code from the beginning in a right manner, keeping in mind future porting. In fact, I spent one evening on recompiling third-party libraries to x64, and one-two days fixing issues in SE. So now SE is not limited by 4 GB of RAM, bur is able to use any amount, available in the system (and even more, because Windows features "virtual memory"). Beta testers successfully pushed it to limits, by rendering screenshots with millions of stars: SE occupied up to 30 GB of RAM in these experiments, and still not crash.

Now that is a major step forward (and maybe a valid reason to up my RAM from 16GB to 32GB or even more :shock: ..). So, just out of curiosity, does this mean SE won't be able to run on 32bit Win?
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

02 May 2019 03:36

N0B0DY wrote:
Source of the post So, just out of curiosity, does this mean SE won't be able to run on 32bit Win?

The x64 build won't be able to, but it would be a trivial matter to deploy an x86 build alongside it and let users launch whichever one they want.
Ryzen 7 3700X, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1632
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Work progress 0.990

02 May 2019 16:25

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Installer is not needed, SE will be installed by Steam.
And yes, there is a paaemeter in the config which limits RAM usage.

I saw that the price of a 32 GB kit (16x2) has dropped to around 180 or so.  Do you think that would be a good upgrade to get for SE x64 at resolutions up to 1080 P and LOD 0 or will 16 GB be able to do most of the same things?

For reference, I run the 5 million star GAIA add on just fine right now.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

03 May 2019 11:21

16 GB is plenty for almost all purposes.
Ryzen 7 3700X, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
JKerman
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 55
Joined: 18 Oct 2017

Work progress 0.990

03 May 2019 16:34

Just curious, what else is there to do after finishing the texture updates?
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 493
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

03 May 2019 16:56

Ooooh good thing I upgraded my laptop's RAM to 16 GB last month then! :D
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 250
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Work progress 0.990

06 May 2019 12:59

N0B0DY wrote:
Source of the post and maybe a valid reason to up my RAM from 16GB to 32GB or even more

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Source of the post 16 GB is plenty for almost all purposes.

Thank you for clarifying this :) . I am in a quite difficult economic situation atm :(.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1632
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Work progress 0.990

07 May 2019 13:37

HarbingerDawn wrote:
16 GB is plenty for almost all purposes.

Thanks, I am running both SE and SNPP simultaneously as well as four browsers, so far my usage is around 8 GB - 12 GB.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

17 May 2019 21:01

Ryzen 7 3700X, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Stellarator
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 867
Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Location: Sagittarius A*

Work progress 0.990

18 May 2019 03:24

I take it that the infrared map of Titan is a temporary feature of this version? From what I have seen of DoctorofSpace's work on  planetary palettes, photorealism seems to the aim of the engine when simulating planetary features. It seems a bit unrealistic to have a infrared map of Titan while everything else appears as per the visible spectrum (although I'd love it if other radiation spectrums could be seen via applied filters).
Futurum Fusionem
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

18 May 2019 04:31

Titan's surface is not visible from space in visible wavelengths, so near infrared is the next best thing. If you don't like that, then maybe I shouldn't mention that the Venus map is entirely made from radar images...
Ryzen 7 3700X, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Nahor
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Work progress 0.990

18 May 2019 09:27

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Also, support for 32-bit Windows may not be needed now.

According to the Steam hardware survey, 98.5% of the Windows machines are 64-bits. And my guess is that most of those remaining 1.5% are people who have Steam running on an old machine but don't really use it, or use it to play the same old games they have been playing for years.

So it's probably not worth worrying about 32-bits.

(And I don't want to sound insensitive, but I would think you'll lose a lot more people because of the switch to Steam and making SE non-free)
 
User avatar
Dwarden
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

18 May 2019 11:03

congrats @SpaceEngineer on the successful transition to 64-bit 
now we can wish about switch to Vulkan (one day in the future)
Ideas are like ocean w/o borders! https://twitter.com/FoltynD
 
User avatar
SFGameZ64
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 May 2017

Work progress 0.990

18 May 2019 11:20

Nahor wrote:
(And I don't want to sound insensitive, but I would think you'll lose a lot more people because of the switch to Steam and making SE non-free)

Steam is one of the most popular game launching platforms there is. Right now Space Engine is relatively hard to find unless you already know about it. I've talked to many lovers of space who have never heard about it just because exposure is hard to buy. Space Engine can do nothing but grow on the Steam platform because that is what Steam is for: promoting products to make a profit off of them. 

And at the end of the day, that is what Space Engine is. A product that we are consuming. Old versions will still be free here on the website but adding a small price tag onto Space Engine won't push people away from it. After seeing videos and screenshots from inside the engine itself, new and old users will know that it is worth the money. 
Better known as Seth Fusion
A little generator I made - http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&p=27881#p27881

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest