Ultimate space simulation software

 
raziaar
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 31 Mar 2018

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

26 Sep 2019 23:11

Can we have things like bloom and solar corona effects show in transparent screenshots? One of the major reasons I bought the PRO version, is the transparent screenshot feature... but I only get white balls.

https://i.imgur.com/JfaOSSa.png
[color=var(--text-link)]https://i.imgur.com/JfaOSSa.png[/color]

https://i.imgur.com/JfaOSSa.png
https://i.imgur.com/JfaOSSa.png
[color=var(--text-link)]https://i.imgur.com/kKBPpry.png[/color]

https://i.imgur.com/JfaOSSa.png
 
raziaar
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 31 Mar 2018

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

26 Sep 2019 23:13

Apologies for the former post, not how that happened.

Image

Image
 
wilhuf
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Sep 2019

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

28 Sep 2019 06:37

Zoliparia wrote:
Would it be possible to add an ESI filter to the star browser so you could filter planets or moons by their ESI?

I second this. 
SpaceEngine star browser needs to add an ESI filter and an ESI column so we can filter sort results by ESI. Often need to find high or low ESI planets.
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 213
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

20 Oct 2019 20:10

I'd like to see Space Engine generate RAMBOs (Robust Associations of Massive Baryonic Objects), which would be clusters consisting entirely of brown dwarfs.
 
User avatar
Dr. Kaii
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 268
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Manchester England
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

23 Oct 2019 02:24

Sometimes you start with a name, and make an acronym, and sometimes, clearly, you start with an acronym and make a name
i9 9900K - 5.0MHz, Palit 2080Ti, 32GB DDR4 3000MHz, Vive Pro
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 213
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

27 Oct 2019 12:58

Does anyone else think the default settings for nebula generation make diffuse nebulae too small and SNRs too dim and rare? Why can't procedural SNRs be as bright as the Crab Nebula? Why can't there be a diffuse nebula as big as the Carina Nebula on the other side of the Milky Way? Why shouldn't every galaxy have at least one nebula that big? I've been experimenting with using these custom settings for the NebulaGenerator statement in main-user.cfg:
NebulaGenerator
{
    NebulaMaxAppMagn        6.1        // max apparent magnitude of procedural nebulae while looking from Solar system
    NebulaDiffDensity       0.5        // diffuse nebulae density correction [ORIG: 1]
    NebulaPlanDensity       4          // planetary nebulae density correction [ORIG: 5]
    NebulaSNRDensity        0.3        // SNR nebulae density correction [ORIG: 0.1]
    NebulaDiffRadius        20         // diffuse nebulae mean radius (pc)
    NebulaDiffRadiusDisp    10         // diffuse nebulae radius dispersion (pc)
    NebulaDiffRadiusMin     1          // diffuse nebulae min radius (pc)
    NebulaDiffRadiusMax     200        // diffuse nebulae max radius (pc) [ORIG: 70]
    NebulaPlanRadius        0.5        // planetary nebulae mean radius (pc)
    NebulaPlanRadiusDisp    3          // planetary nebulae radius dispersion (pc)
    NebulaPlanRadiusMin     0.01       // planetary nebulae min radius (pc)
    NebulaPlanRadiusMax     15         // planetary nebulae max radius (pc)
    NebulaSNRRadius         5          // SNR nebulae mean radius (pc)
    NebulaSNRRadiusDisp     3          // SNR nebulae radius dispersion (pc)
    NebulaSNRRadiusMin      0.1        // SNR nebulae min radius (pc)
    NebulaSNRRadiusMax      50         // SNR nebulae max radius (pc)
    NebulaDiffLum           10000      // diffuse nebulae mean luminosity [ORIG: 40000]
    NebulaDiffLumDisp       10000      // diffuse nebulae luminosity dispersion
    NebulaDiffLumMin        1000       // diffuse nebulae min luminosity
    NebulaDiffLumMax        100000     // diffuse nebulae max luminosity
    NebulaPlanLum           10         // planetary nebulae mean luminosity
    NebulaPlanLumDisp       2.5        // planetary nebulae luminosity dispersion
    NebulaPlanLumMin        0.1        // planetary nebulae min luminosity
    NebulaPlanLumMax        100        // planetary nebulae max luminosity
    NebulaSNRLum            5          // SNR nebulae mean luminosity
    NebulaSNRLumDisp        1.2        // SNR nebulae luminosity dispersion
    NebulaSNRLumMin         0.1        // SNR nebulae min luminosity
    NebulaSNRLumMax         10000      // SNR nebulae max luminosity [ORIG: 100]
}

I wish SpaceEngine could automatically make the luminosity of nebulae inversely proportional to their size, so that the gas disperses as it expands.
 
User avatar
Theloic971
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 Sep 2017
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

30 Oct 2019 13:12

In the information of a planet, it might be practical to see the habitability in relation to the human species and the effects on the human body on the surface of this planet.
Do you want to archive your discoveries in Space Engine ? Use my new website (currently in beta phase) : https://se-archive-project.net/
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 213
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

31 Oct 2019 15:30

Theloic971 wrote:
In the information of a planet, it might be practical to see the habitability in relation to the human species and the effects on the human body on the surface of this planet.

ESI (Earth Similarity Index) is the closest thing we've got to that right now. It might be nice to know whether an atmosphere is breathable, but so far, pretty much every procedurally generated atmosphere with an acceptable oxygen content also has lethal levels of carbon dioxide or sulfur dioxide.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1730
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

08 Nov 2019 13:57

Is there a quick way to turn the sound off in Space Engine?  I just want it on when I'm making videos but dont want to blow out my Audigy sound card by having sound playing all the time.  I keep my speakers off but I know audio is still piping through the sound card since I can still record audio even with the speakers turned off.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1392
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

08 Nov 2019 14:19

Ctrl-F12 > set music slider to zero.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1730
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

08 Nov 2019 15:58

I put a bunch of sound tracks in the music folder and I tried to edit the context file to make a specific sound track play when I'm on a specific type of planet, etc.  But it doesn't seem to be working right, is there something I need to do to make it happen?  Also, is that music slider for volume or does it do something else?  What does having it at 100 do?  Or 5, etc.?  Also, it's not telling me what track is playing.
Thanks!
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1730
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

08 Nov 2019 16:06

Is having music playing all the time in Space Engine eventually going to blow out my Audigy sound card?  I do it for recording videos, not to listen to the music.  I have the speakers turned off but I know the sound card is still processing the music because I can record videos with it even with the speakers turned off.
 
xavier
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Nov 2019

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

11 Nov 2019 08:04

Hi, i'm new. I bought the SE pro licence and I must say that this program is huge. Really great job, so much realism, so much liberty. Well, this is "beta" version but i'm so impatient to see the first official release.

None the less, i 've seen some little "things" that are not correct with the reality. here's one of them (maybe the one most important i think): when travelling in the ssSaturn's rings or in the event horizon of sagittarius A* the speed of the rings ARE NOT THE SAME, the "angular momentum" varies with the distance. So rings are not turning around like a CD does in a disc player, the speed decrease with the distance that means the inner ring runs faster that the one outter and so on.

I know this is a detail, but I work in a astronomical observatory and teachers ask me to come in their classrooms to explain our univers and our solar system, and if i show rings turning around saturn like a CD does that is not respectful with the reality. So , for the moment I just CAN'T show the saturn's rings in details to avoid wrong informations about the rings.

Anyway, this a huge work you made, and I think SE will become a master reference in the near future.
 
xavier
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Nov 2019

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

11 Nov 2019 08:06

xavier wrote:
Saturn's rings or in the event horizon of sagittarius A* the speed of the rings ARE NOT THE SAME, the "angular momentum" varies with the distance.

I mean, the speed IS the same in SE, and the speed IS NOT the same for REAL.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1392
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

11 Nov 2019 14:35

Right now they are simple rotating textures, real behavior of rings and accretion disks can't be implemented with the current engine. Just one of the many things that are not yet properly simulated. For a more exhaustive list, see the TODO page viewtopic.php?t=72
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest