Free planetarium

 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 923
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

04 Sep 2017 19:56

A-L-E-X, can you please make an effort to post single posts?  It's rather spammy seeing multiple posts by you in a row.  I recommend when you are making a second post to just put that into your previous post.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

05 Sep 2017 00:19

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
A-L-E-X, can you please make an effort to post single posts?  It's rather spammy seeing multiple posts by you in a row.  I recommend when you are making a second post to just put that into your previous post.

Doc believe me I was trying.  I hit some sort of limit, they don't let you post more then 10 images (or attachments) per post.  So I needed 4 posts to post 40.  Basically I was trying to show proper motions of stars, first the nearby ones, then the ones with exoplanets,  and then proper motions of galaxies first in our local group and then the Virgo Cluster and then the entire 3D database.  I think this would be neat to bring into SE somehow.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 724
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

05 Sep 2017 09:34

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post I hit some sort of limit, they don't let you post more then 10 images (or attachments) per post. So I needed 4 posts to post 40.

I believe is a valid suggestion in general, not referred in particular to last posts here.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 935
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

05 Sep 2017 18:31

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Doc believe me I was trying.  I hit some sort of limit, they don't let you post more then 10 images (or attachments) per post.  So I needed 4 posts to post 40.

Honestly, I'm kind of baffled by why you would make posts like these.  If you need to make 4 posts with 10 images each to illustrate an idea, then you need to rethink how to illustrate the idea.

Look, you're a great forum member and we like you here, but this spammy/multiposting behavior has to stop right now.  Like Mosfet said it's not just the images, but in general.  This is in the forum rules and you've been kindly warned about it several times.  I really don't want to force a time off on you, but I will if it doesn't stop today.  
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

05 Sep 2017 20:58

But it's not like I make a lot of posts in the same topic, I make them in all different subforums on different topics.  So it's difficult to put everything in one post when they are about different subject matter.  I think you know what I mean.  Besides I've already been putting all the science news story stuff in a single post with brief summaries of each one rather than spread out in different posts.  If you can give me a recent example of what you mean (besides this picture stuff) that would be helpful.

I'm used to high volume posting on every forum I'm on (and I'm on a lot of forums having to do with science, art and politics- same with multiple email groups which are the sources of the science news stories I find)- I write a lot on a lot of subjects because I think and write very quickly and new thoughts and ideas come to me all the time about different things.  When I'm writing for a specific purpose, I've written as much as 100 pages a day, so when I'm not busy working, writing 500 posts a day is not a big deal for me.  As a matter of fact in one of the forums I'm on, they've given me an entire subforum lol where I just post science news stories (and my own writing) and others come to comment on them.

But yes Doc is right about the multiple posts in a single thread thing, I've been using edit post much more often when I have new thoughts that belong under the header of a post I've already made- heck I've already done that multiple times for this post (as well as for the aforementioned news stories.)  So besides the pictures and the fact that I made multiple posts in the patch thread because I was trying to fix the texture problem I was having with the "e" patch, I can't think of another thread where I did that sort of thing in the recent past anyway.

Oh and the reason I posted 4 x 10 (40) images was because I was trying to show stellar and galactic motion on different scales over long periods of time.  I made videos which would have shortened everything to one post (and are probably more elegant than posting single frames) but couldn't find a way to upload them to here (they are Quicktime .MOV files and they are pretty large- 100 MB or more each.)
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 127
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

05 Sep 2017 23:42

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Oh and the reason I posted 4 x 10 (40) images was because I was trying to show stellar and galactic motion on different scales over long periods of time.  I made videos which would have shortened everything to one post (and are probably more elegant than posting single frames) but couldn't find a way to upload them to here (they are Quicktime .MOV files and they are pretty large- 100 MB or more each.)

Why not youtube? then you can put a mirror here
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

06 Sep 2017 01:23

FastFourierTransform wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Oh and the reason I posted 4 x 10 (40) images was because I was trying to show stellar and galactic motion on different scales over long periods of time.  I made videos which would have shortened everything to one post (and are probably more elegant than posting single frames) but couldn't find a way to upload them to here (they are Quicktime .MOV files and they are pretty large- 100 MB or more each.)

Why not youtube? then you can put a mirror here

Oh good point, I'll try that- the reason I wasn't using it is because it had some resolution restrictions, the videos are higher resolution than what I get when I upload to youtube.
 
Master Yoda
Observer
Observer
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Jan 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

07 Sep 2017 01:16

Suggestion:

When I enter a Solar System and open the star and planets menu, I have to left click on a planet and follow the marker to visit the planet if I want to go there. Of course, once I can see the planet I can right click on it and select Go To.

My suggestion is in the Star/Planets menu, allow us to right click on the star/planet in the menu and have a Go To option to click. That way we can go directly to the planet once we enter the system instead of having to fly until the planet is visible.

Hopefully you can understand my suggestion. It's a minor suggestion but it would be a nice addition.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 724
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

07 Sep 2017 01:33

Master Yoda, a similar solution it will be indeed implemented in next version.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Mr. Abner
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 95
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

07 Sep 2017 15:42

Master Yoda wrote:
Suggestion:

When I enter a Solar System and open the star and planets menu, I have to left click on a planet and follow the marker to visit the planet if I want to go there. Of course, once I can see the planet I can right click on it and select Go To.

My suggestion is in the Star/Planets menu, allow us to right click on the star/planet in the menu and have a Go To option to click. That way we can go directly to the planet once we enter the system instead of having to fly until the planet is visible.

Hopefully you can understand my suggestion. It's a minor suggestion but it would be a nice addition.

Has everybody forgotten how to use a keyboard? Once the item is selected, even from the F2 menu, does not the "G" key take you there?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 724
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

07 Sep 2017 16:56

Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post Has everybody forgotten how to use a keyboard? Once the item is selected, even from the F2 menu, does not the "G" key take you there?

You're right, even if there are some people that prefer using the mouse a lot. But there's a more specific reason for this implementation, and that's the effectiveness of that point&click interface while wearing a VR headset.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Mr. Abner
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 95
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

07 Sep 2017 21:29

Mosfet wrote:
Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post Has everybody forgotten how to use a keyboard? Once the item is selected, even from the F2 menu, does not the "G" key take you there?

You're right, even if there are some people that prefer using the mouse a lot. But there's a more specific reason for this implementation, and that's the effectiveness of that point&click interface while wearing a VR headset.

Ah... right you are. My apologies if you are indeed using a VR headset.
In that case, you need to get yourself a joystick/throttle combo — lots of programmable buttons. Heck, I need to get myself one even without the VR. ;)
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 273
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

08 Sep 2017 14:25

I would like different type of dock because actually, is just the SAS dock. Maybe in 0.9.8.1 is possible with structure in catalogs for make stations like Elite Dangerous and dock the ship with landing gear.

Also, I would like a new option for edit catalogs object because actually we have 2 options :
  • Copy and paste the code of the object data and put in addons
  • Use Remove tag and rewrite all the code we want for edit the object

So the solution is a mixte between normal and Remove tag :
Edit "Object name"
{
ParentBody "Parent of the object actually"
@ParentBody "New Parent of the object" //@ significate replace (or add if doesn't exist)

@Name "New name of the object" //replace the old name
//Name "Second name/Thrist..." //Add name of the object without replace the old name

@Type "Moon" //Change the type of the object (Planet, Moon, Star, Wormhole)
@Class "Terra" //Edit the object of the object

@Surface //Replace the Surface tag with the new Surface tag
{
 //Surface parameters
}

Orbit //edit the tag without replace the actual/old Orbit tag
{
RefPlane "Equator" //add the RefPlane in the Orbit tag
@Period 0.34 //years, edit the Period
}
}

If you don't specific a tag or parameters, isn't edit.
I am inspirante with the mod Kopernicus script, a mod for Kerbal Space Program.
 
User avatar
ARBB
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 69
Joined: 04 Aug 2016
Location: Doom.
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

14 Sep 2017 16:39

Ship shadows on planets, and a "search rate" function on the star browser, preventing crash when searching for objects on large scales.
S M OO T H RºCªMBºLºNE
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

14 Sep 2017 17:21

I see that SE shows light pollution on the ground near big cities, but does it also reduce the number of stars visible in areas of light pollution (for example, even though the lim mag doesn't change, does it reduce the number of stars visible at mag higher than 4 in areas of high LP?)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests