Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
 
User avatar
Messier
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 85
Joined: 26 May 2018

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

22 May 2019 02:57

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Messier wrote:
Source of the post am I talking rubbish?

Yes

Ah. Straight to the point I see. Oh well, I tried...
The only Astrogriff
 
User avatar
SuperMarioFan126
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 05 Mar 2019
Location: Kerbal Space Center, Kerbin
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

26 May 2019 01:22

Apparently nobody understands that volumetric clouds in SpaceEngine are impossible. (except for SE mods and SpaceEngineer himself)
We always need to add more boosters.
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

29 May 2019 19:41

SuperMarioFan126 wrote:
Apparently nobody understands that volumetric clouds in SpaceEngine are impossible. (except for SE mods and SpaceEngineer himself)

It's not impossible, it just takes more effort. What about this: use the base SE cloud shader, but smoothly fade in a volumetric shader when the camera gets to a certain distance from the clould layer, and smoothly fade out the polygons of the base shader (but what do you do about zoomed-in views?) Where the base shader is transparent, the volumetric shader must also become transparent.
 
User avatar
SuperMarioFan126
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 05 Mar 2019
Location: Kerbal Space Center, Kerbin
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

04 Jun 2019 21:54

Ah.
We always need to add more boosters.
 
Terran
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 68
Joined: 24 Nov 2016

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

18 Jun 2019 12:42

I agree that it is not impossible, but rather extremely impractical. It would probably require a decent modification to the engine to pull off, I can totally see it being done though. (by space engineer that is)

Personally I would recommend a fractal that is reflected and modulated to save performance, and somehow stretched or something to appear more cloudlike. I would ditch transparency for the most part unless it could be done without causing massive lag. I have poor experience with this kind of programming so all I can say is: without an engine update to allow for this, no modification can pull this off.
To reality, through nothing, from un-everything.
 
SalgadoUniverse
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Sep 2019

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

26 Sep 2019 07:58

How do I install this modification for the most recent version of steam? probe install it in the following path C: \ Program Files (x86) \ Steam \ steamapps \ common \ SpaceEngine \ addons

however I do not see any modification in the lands of the planets and moons.

I want to install this modification so that the biomes of the planets with more landscape diversities are more realistic.

can anybody help me?
 
User avatar
donatelo200
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 134
Joined: 08 Dec 2016

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

26 Sep 2019 11:42

You have to delete the cache before the mod will load.
CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
spectralSquire
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Jun 2019

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

10 Mar 2020 14:54

When I try to install this mod manually, I get a ton of weird rendering issues and visual artifacting in game. I took a screenshot of a particularly nasty example: 
► Show Spoiler


Is there anything I'm doing wrong here, or does this mod simply not work anymore with modern versions of Space Engine?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1466
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

10 Mar 2020 17:50

The latter. It doesn't work well right now, it does that.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1782
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

11 Mar 2020 22:27

spectralSquire wrote:
Source of the post  get a ton of weird rendering issues and visual artifacting in game. I took a screenshot of a particularly nasty example:

As far as I know, this has nothing to do with Rodrigo's Mod. (At least not only.)
I am not using this mod and I also have the problem occasionally. Deleting the 'cache' folder in the SpaceEngine directory helps.
(I suspect it has something to do with the graphics settings being too high and insufficient VRAM available.)
scr00122.jpg
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

14 Jun 2020 14:11

Rodrigo, thanks for making the 0.990 version of your mod available on Steam Workshop. I've noticed one peculiarity sometimes: grass growing on top of snow.
Image
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest