Ultimate space simulation software

 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2295
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

01 Dec 2019 01:18

New Chipset Drivers just came out for all Ryzen CPUs!  Lowered temps further and also increased performance!
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 481
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

08 Dec 2019 21:44

Board finally arrived.

Just need to slowly get all the other bits, Waiting for work to pay my invoices so I can get some cash before xmas. Soon as I get that a CPU, RAM,  PSU, NVMe and maybe a new GPU is in order to allow me to at least get 7 installed and the whole thing debugging as for sure I know there will be things to stuff around with to get 7 working on this properly.

Then later get all the water cooling stuff, case, fans, mech HDD, sound card etc...

IMG_1701.JPG

IMG_1702.JPG
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2295
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

09 Dec 2019 08:53

vlad01 wrote:
Board finally arrived.

Just need to slowly get all the other bits, Waiting for work to pay my invoices so I can get some cash before xmas. Soon as I get that a CPU, RAM,  PSU, NVMe and maybe a new GPU is in order to allow me to at least get 7 installed and the whole thing debugging as for sure I know there will be things to stuff around with to get 7 working on this properly.

Then later get all the water cooling stuff, case, fans, mech HDD, sound card etc...

IMG_1701.JPG
IMG_1702.JPG

Vlad, which CPU, GPU and PSU are you getting?  Did you run FlashBack yet and what did you think of it?
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 481
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

09 Dec 2019 15:49

5700XT ref model with water block, 3900X and a Seasonic 850W is what I plan to get.
haven't run the flashback, don't have a spare PSU
 
Sundies
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 30 Jun 2019

A very PC discussion

14 Jan 2020 04:43

Well it finally happened but windows 7 ran out of support.
I'm just a backup account for Harge
 
User avatar
Salvo
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 382
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

A very PC discussion

16 Jan 2020 23:35

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
many of my games are running over 100 fps in 4k.

I don't have a 4k monitor so problem solved.
Image
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: Sapphire Radeon RX 570 RAM: 8 GBs
 
User avatar
Chris94_NOR
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Jan 2020
Location: Bodø, Norway
Contact:

A very PC discussion

10 Feb 2020 13:14

Upgraded my computer in December last year after a while.

Old / new system:
OS: Windows 10 64-bit (same)
Mobo: Asus Z97 Pro Gamer / Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz / AMD Ryzen 7 2700X 3.7GHz(4.35GHz boost)
CPU cooler: AMD Wraith Prism Cooler
RAM: Crucial Ballistic Sport DDR3 32GB / Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 16GB
GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 1080 8GB (same)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda HDD 4TB, Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500GB, Samsung 860 EVO SSD 1TB(new)

Image
Image
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2295
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

13 Mar 2020 12:56

I need some help.... I just upgraded my OS from W10 v1809 to v1909 and my desktop went black (no icons).  I also dont have a taskbar or even a start menu or any of the other stuff that's supposed to be at the bottom.  I was able to get my browsers and programs to run using Ctrl-Alt-Del.  I tried some fixes none worked, and trying to use System Restore to get back to the earlier build of W10 didn't work either.  Now when I open programs and then minimize them instead of going to the taskbar (which now doesn't exist) they minimize to a grey strip at the bottom of my screen.  What happened here?  I restarted multiple times and even though System Restore didn't work (it said it couldn't complete the action when trying to restore the registry) now I get my normal desktop and taskbar stuff 2/3 times, I still get the black desktop and no taskbar sometimes though and it's really annoying.  Is there a permanent fix for this?  There are no more windows updates available at the current time.
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 481
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

13 Mar 2020 18:40

I heard the latest optional updates were broken. I would roll back any updates you have done recently.
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 481
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

13 Mar 2020 18:43

Chris94_NOR wrote:
Upgraded my computer in December last year after a while.

Old / new system:
OS: Windows 10 64-bit (same)
Mobo: Asus Z97 Pro Gamer / Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz / AMD Ryzen 7 2700X 3.7GHz(4.35GHz boost)
CPU cooler: AMD Wraith Prism Cooler
RAM: Crucial Ballistic Sport DDR3 32GB / Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 16GB
GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 1080 8GB (same)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda HDD 4TB, Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500GB, Samsung 860 EVO SSD 1TB(new)

Image
Image

Looks like a solid upgrade.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2295
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

15 Mar 2020 00:51

vlad01 wrote:
I heard the latest optional updates were broken. I would roll back any updates you have done recently.

I want to, but how?  I wouldn't have updated except that I got a message saying my version was going out of service soon lol.  It isn't doing that black desktop no taskbar thing right now I guess that system restore thing that supposedly didn't work actually did something.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2295
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

10 Apr 2020 14:28

I noticed something weird with my second monitor- it's a Viewsonic by the way.  I tried to make the image brighter and more contrasty by changing the monitor's own settings.  It worked fine that day but later on when I was using it, it would work for a few minutes and then power to the monitor would be lost.  I thought it was a loose cable but it wasn't- several times the monitor would turn on normally at boot up but then it would turn off after a few minutes.  The image vibrated a bit before this happened.

I reset the monitor back to factory settings and it only happened one time since then (the day I changed the settings, but not since.)  Why was this happening and do you think it will happen again or something worse (dead screen)?

For now I'm not changing brightness or contrast settings either with the monitor's own controls or the Nvidia driver, all I have done is set digital vibrance to 75% like with my other screen and full DR.
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 481
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

11 Apr 2020 04:36

I had the same issue with my viewsonic years ago which btw cost me over 1k.  It's PSU died from always running too hot (discolored PCB).  It started off just randomly turning off every now and then and got more frequent to the point it wouldn't power up any more.

I replaced some caps and burnt resistors and it worked for another month before something on the main board died. I sold it for scrap parts.

Even when the monitor was in warranty they couldn't replace it like for like or of a similar sized monitor, it was a 28" and they stopped making 28" with 24" now being the biggest (at the time), I refused to accept smaller.   They didn't even have spares for it so I couldn't even fix it.

Last time I ever touched their products.  Didn't even last the 2 years so very disappointing the least to say.   
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2295
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

12 Apr 2020 04:19

Monitors have PSU?  I didn't know that!  Wow it sounds like my unit may die early, although it's working for now on default settings.  I wont try to stress it though.  My old Sony monitor is still working well (knock on wood) and it's from 2005, I just had to brighten up the display so I guess it is slightly dimmer then it was years ago.  But the Viewsonic has been in use since 2013.  I'm glad I have a BenQ as back up in case the Viewsonic goes bad.
By the way, they didn't ship a stand with the Viewsonic and told me they'd charge me an extra $100 for one lol even though it was supposed to come with the display......

The BenQ will be my last DVI display.  I think this Gigabyte 1060 6 GB card might be my last dual DVI card too, I'm not sure if they make them anymore.

I did do an upgrade this past month, but it wasn't for a new monitor or video card, I upgraded to Crucial 32 GB DDR4-2666 (2x16GB) memory from Kingston 16 GB DDR4-2666 (2x8GB) memory.
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 481
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

12 Apr 2020 04:39

I got my viewsonic in 2008 and it only lasted to 2010.   I still got my AOC from the same year and I got a Dell one from 2001 that still works.   My Samsung got that screen "cancer" thing I mentioned a while back it lasted from 2009 to 2019 so 10 years is decent.

Now I got a 31.5" LG  (32GK650F)  Very good monitor. It's great to be back to a greater than 28" after 10 years of being stuck on 20"

Nice thing is this one had an external PSU so if it goes bad I can just replace that no probs.  It really reduces the screen thickness and heat output too.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest