Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 628
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

29 Nov 2017 04:17

Links to 0.962 and 0.973 added to the OP, thanks for pointing that out Cooleo8bit.
Ryzen 7 3700X, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1632
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

History of SpaceEngine

26 Jan 2018 17:08

Question what is the latest version that would work on Intel HD 3000 Graphics-which use Open GL 3.1 on Windows?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1557
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

History of SpaceEngine

26 Jan 2018 17:37

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Question what is the latest version that would work on Intel HD 3000 Graphics-which use Open GL 3.1 on Windows?

SE 0.971 works reasonably well. At the moment, I'm mainly working with this.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1632
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

History of SpaceEngine

26 Jan 2018 17:51

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Question what is the latest version that would work on Intel HD 3000 Graphics-which use Open GL 3.1 on Windows?

SE 0.971 works reasonably well. At the moment, I'm mainly working with this.

So Jack, if she gets that version she can see planets and land on their surfaces and stuff?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1557
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

History of SpaceEngine

27 Jan 2018 01:22

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post she can see planets and land on their surfaces

It should. But do not expect miracles. SE generally does not work well with Intel graphics and especially with this card.
And it is very very slow.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1632
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

History of SpaceEngine

27 Jan 2018 12:53

Thanks Jack, what's a good resolution and LOD setting to use for it?  4 GB RAM of which 1.7 GB is used for Video Memory.  Can a resolution of 1024x700 be used with LOD of 0? Is that what you use?
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 268
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

History of SpaceEngine

08 May 2019 06:05



This is the first CGI rendering of a complex landscape (with 3D clouds, islands and water). It was done in 1981. I saw it today and it reminded me of SE. In some sense this is the beginning of it all.
 
User avatar
TheObserver
Observer
Observer
Posts: 11
Joined: 05 May 2019
Location: Hungary

History of SpaceEngine

08 May 2019 06:25

FastFourierTransform wrote:
This is the first CGI rendering of a complex landscape (with 3D clouds, islands and water). It was done in 1981. I saw it today and it reminded me of SE. In some sense this is the beginning of it all.

This is very impressive for the time period it came from.
Core i5 2400 @ 3.10GHz, GF GTX 1050Ti 4GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM, CentOS 7
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1037
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

08 May 2019 15:45

I'm curious, how much time it took to render that video, and on what kind of hardware. And, maybe more interesting, what software was used, and how long it took to create it and setup the scene.
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 268
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

History of SpaceEngine

08 May 2019 17:06

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post I'm curious, how much time it took to render that video, and on what kind of hardware. And, maybe more interesting, what software was used, and how long it took to create it and setup the scene.

The info I was able to gather says that this was rendered by a raytracing algorithm in FORTRAN using a Cray-1 supercomputer, a 5.5 tons monster with 8MB of RAM and a 64-bits system. The graphic memory was of 2MB, enought to store 2 frames of the movie at any time, these were then stored in magnetic tapes. Apparently they made the decission to render only the lower part of the frame after the first still image of the islands since the important changes were ocurring only there (water waves). Because of the simplicity of the periodic motion of the water waves only a few frames were needed for this part and replayed in a loop. The ambient and atmospheric colors were added after that by another computer. The Moon and the Sun are also post-processed as far as I understand the original paper.
For a typical frame of the video:
  • 34 seconds of computation time on the Cray-1
  • 5 minutes to record it on a Dicomed D-48 color film recorder
  • 45 seconds to backspace the tape twice between color passes
So the entire movie probably took something like a day or two to render.


I didn't read it carefully so you might want to check the original paper:

 
User avatar
Messier
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 82
Joined: 26 May 2018

History of SpaceEngine

09 May 2019 14:16

I remember a time when the planet Bloop orbited Rigil Kentaurus (Alpha Centauri) B, before being replaced with a planet candidate that, to my knowledge, was never confirmed. I miss Bloop.
The only Astrogriff
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1258
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

09 May 2019 14:21

Messier, you can just rename it.  In my Alpha Centauri addon, I think its part of the Avatar addon but need to check, it has those planets still but renamed to proper exoplanet names.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1037
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

23 May 2019 14:52

Amazing FastFourierTransform, thanks!
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1037
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

23 May 2019 14:53

Messier wrote:
Source of the post I remember a time when the planet Bloop orbited Rigil Kentaurus (Alpha Centauri) B, before being replaced with a planet candidate that, to my knowledge, was never confirmed. I miss Bloop.

lol yes, I must restore it, maybe in the Avatar addon :)
 
User avatar
Messier
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 82
Joined: 26 May 2018

History of SpaceEngine

23 May 2019 15:28

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Messier wrote:
Source of the post I remember a time when the planet Bloop orbited Rigil Kentaurus (Alpha Centauri) B, before being replaced with a planet candidate that, to my knowledge, was never confirmed. I miss Bloop.

lol yes, I must restore it, maybe in the Avatar addon :)

Please do, that'd be amazing! And quite nostalgic too!
The only Astrogriff

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest