Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

08 Jan 2018 09:26

So I create a Github here for modders can commit change
 
Wac
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Dec 2017

Star Wars addons

09 Jan 2018 02:28

Nice ! Could you add me as a "contributor" so I can update catalog ? (Wac0)
 
User avatar
Spinecone
Observer
Observer
Posts: 16
Joined: 27 Jul 2017
Location: France

Star Wars addons

09 Jan 2018 05:58

Another little thing for Coruscant Prime, seeing that it's burning all of its planets as a classic B star, I could suggest to change its spectrum to B 7 VI instead, making it a subdward but keeps the blue color, and allow the planets to have habitable temperatures.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

09 Jan 2018 10:42

Wac wrote:
Nice ! Could you add me as a "contributor" so I can update catalog ? (Wac0)

Ah, you can't ? By default, any user can edit I think. Do you test ?
So I add you. And here the link of invitations (you must be logged into your GitHub account, else doesn't work) :
Edit :
Tell me your username or email account of GitHub for I can add you to add/edit files of the mods.
Last edited by Quarior on 11 Jan 2018 12:48, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Julian
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 101
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Star Wars addons

11 Jan 2018 02:36

Quarior, I'm using GitHub Desktop to synchronize edits with the archive, but I'm getting the error "Authentication failed. You may not have permission to access the repository or the repository may have been archived." Could you please invite me? My GitHub username is jhfong.

Wac, have you ever tried landing on the surface of Tion? It has some strange but interesting structures that rise out of the atmosphere:
scr00421.jpg


The idea of raising islands on an oceania is something we should definitely try to develop further, because we can use the same techniques on Kamino and, if we get around to creating them, Mon Calamari and Scarif. However, Space Engine usually classifies a planet with any landmasses as a terra, so should we start off by generating a terra and then raising the ocean level? I also noticed that the clouds you created on Tion only look good when running Rodrigo's mod, but we can't always assume that everyone who downloads the Star Wars addon has it.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

11 Jan 2018 12:44

Julian, I invite you so the link is just for collaborateur I add one by one. And me too I use GitHub Deskop :).
And I don’t use Rodrigo mod because I have a planet custom with parameters and if I use the mod the planet is completely changed.
 
User avatar
Julian
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 101
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Star Wars addons

11 Jan 2018 19:45

It can be instructive to turn off procedural stars and galaxies, and max out the magnitude limit so that only catalog stars are visible against the galaxy. I realized that the galaxy needed to be enlarged because some systems (like the Corporate Sector furthest to the northeast) were outside the spiral arms. Top is before, bottom is after:
Star Wars galaxy mods.jpg


I flipped all of the main galaxy's textures horizontally as well, so that the direction that the spiral arms rotate in matches the map in the Essential Atlas.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

12 Jan 2018 01:44

Julian wrote:
It can be instructive to turn off procedural stars and galaxies, and max out the magnitude limit so that only catalog stars are visible against the galaxy. I realized that the galaxy needed to be enlarged because some systems (like the Corporate Sector furthest to the northeast) were outside the spiral arms. Top is before, bottom is after:
Star Wars galaxy mods.jpg

I flipped all of the main galaxy's textures horizontally as well, so that the direction that the spiral arms rotate in matches the map in the Essential Atlas.

Oh great jobs. And I made I little update of Tion System because I think Wac forget to rename asters like "1".
And I confirm the strange "mountain" :
Tion view in orbit.jpg
Tion view in orbit

View on Tion.jpg
View on Tion
 
User avatar
Julian
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 101
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Star Wars addons

12 Jan 2018 10:02

Quarior wrote:
And I confirm the strange "mountain" :
Tion view in orbit.jpg

These elongated clouds are the kind that require Rodrigo's mod to display properly. I think the 65 km high mountains are a bug in Space Engine that happens if you turn both the bump height and ocean height too high -- I can see it happening on terras as well. I've found that you can't simply set up a complete surface definition for a terra and just change the planet type to oceania, because all the land would get flooded. Any planet with islands would have to be classified as a terra.

BTW, the Z coordinates for the Hapes Cluster need to be redefined so that they're closer together. Right now, the cluster looks like a vertical column going through the galactic disc.
scr00424.jpg


Edit: Thanks for creating Jakku, Wac!
scr00430.jpg

But in TFA, there tended to be more atmospheric perspective in long shots of the crashed Star Destroyers, so is there a way to add more haze to the atmosphere of a planet? I'll probably turn Ahch-To into a terra so that I can add islands to it.

I'm starting to question whether it's necessary to add "...Planet" as an alternate name for planets, such as "Bespin Planet". There's no need to distinguish the planet from its star if the star is called "Bespin System". I'm inclinded to remove these alternate names from all the planet catalogs.
 
Tony45
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Jan 2018

Star Wars addons

15 Jan 2018 03:05

Hello there,

As you can probably see, i'm new to this so please bear with me.

I was able to watch this thread for a long time before I decided to join, so i've already downloaded SE and the mods I wanted. 
I installed Julian's updated mod for the "Star Wars Universe", the one he posted on Dec. 30th.

But then i saw that you were all pretty active and doing even more contributions! 

So basically, I was wondering how could I download all of your contributions or if they already were in the Star Wars Universe mod?
Or if they are in another "gallery".

As i said, bare with me, i'm not used to this yet!
Also, forgive my English!
 
Mr. Abner
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Star Wars addons

15 Jan 2018 10:59

Julian wrote:
Source of the post so is there a way to add more haze to the atmosphere of a planet?

You can, but it won't help. Currently, ships are rendered on top of the atmosphere. Can be behind terrain, but always in front of atmosphere. I made a post about it in the "suggested features" thread or some such thing, but nobody commented on it.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

15 Jan 2018 13:19

Tony45 wrote:
Hello there,

As you can probably see, i'm new to this so please bear with me.

I was able to watch this thread for a long time before I decided to join, so i've already downloaded SE and the mods I wanted. 
I installed Julian's updated mod for the "Star Wars Universe", the one he posted on Dec. 30th.

But then i saw that you were all pretty active and doing even more contributions! 

So basically, I was wondering how could I download all of your contributions or if they already were in the Star Wars Universe mod?
Or if they are in another "gallery".

As i said, bare with me, i'm not used to this yet!
Also, forgive my English!

So first, welcome to the community.
So you must download (manual) the new CatalogsSW.pak and put in addons folder, isn’t auto update and even if you have the Git Deskop, you must copy and paste in addons folder.
So the version of 30th December 2017 of Julian haven’t the feature actual and future.

Also, anybody want to join the community modders if Star Wars catalogs ? We are just 3 actually.

PS : And me too I have maybe English is wrong but I use less Google Translate.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

15 Jan 2018 13:22

Julian wrote:
Quarior wrote:
And I confirm the strange "mountain" :
Tion view in orbit.jpg

These elongated clouds are the kind that require Rodrigo's mod to display properly. I think the 65 km high mountains are a bug in Space Engine that happens if you turn both the bump height and ocean height too high -- I can see it happening on terras as well. I've found that you can't simply set up a complete surface definition for a terra and just change the planet type to oceania, because all the land would get flooded. Any planet with islands would have to be classified as a terra.

BTW, the Z coordinates for the Hapes Cluster need to be redefined so that they're closer together. Right now, the cluster looks like a vertical column going through the galactic disc.
scr00424.jpg

Edit: Thanks for creating Jakku, Wac!
scr00430.jpg
But in TFA, there tended to be more atmospheric perspective in long shots of the crashed Star Destroyers, so is there a way to add more haze to the atmosphere of a planet? I'll probably turn Ahch-To into a terra so that I can add islands to it.

I'm starting to question whether it's necessary to add "...Planet" as an alternate name for planets, such as "Bespin Planet". There's no need to distinguish the planet from its star if the star is called "Bespin System". I'm inclinded to remove these alternate names from all the planet catalogs.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 329
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

15 Jan 2018 13:29

Julian wrote:
Quarior wrote:
And I confirm the strange "mountain" :
Tion view in orbit.jpg

These elongated clouds are the kind that require Rodrigo's mod to display properly. I think the 65 km high mountains are a bug in Space Engine that happens if you turn both the bump height and ocean height too high -- I can see it happening on terras as well. I've found that you can't simply set up a complete surface definition for a terra and just change the planet type to oceania, because all the land would get flooded. Any planet with islands would have to be classified as a terra.

BTW, the Z coordinates for the Hapes Cluster need to be redefined so that they're closer together. Right now, the cluster looks like a vertical column going through the galactic disc.
scr00424.jpg

Edit: Thanks for creating Jakku, Wac!
scr00430.jpg
But in TFA, there tended to be more atmospheric perspective in long shots of the crashed Star Destroyers, so is there a way to add more haze to the atmosphere of a planet? I'll probably turn Ahch-To into a terra so that I can add islands to it.

I'm starting to question whether it's necessary to add "...Planet" as an alternate name for planets, such as "Bespin Planet". There's no need to distinguish the planet from its star if the star is called "Bespin System". I'm inclinded to remove these alternate names from all the planet catalogs.

With the new classification, will not have this problem I think but for people with old version of Space Engine, will be to convert to « Terra » but I afraid to see oceanic with to much landscape.
So yes for this moment, ship visual effect doesn’t affect by the atmosphere, is very old I constate this.
For « ... Planet », is just in case for edit conflict because some stars have the same name of planets but maybe object haven’t conflict.
 
User avatar
Julian
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 101
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Star Wars addons

15 Jan 2018 19:19

Quarior wrote:
With the new classification, will not have this problem I think but for people with old version of Space Engine, will be to convert to « Terra » but I afraid to see oceanic with to much landscape.

That won't be a problem if we explicitly defined all of the surface characteristics and raised the height of the ocean so that there are only small islands remaining above the surface.
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest