Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

15 Sep 2019 12:44

HeitorHenrique1455 wrote:
Source of the post The Black Hole script is here.

You have the line
NoAccretionDisk true

in your script. Remove this line. Maybe that's enough.

But you can paste this into your script:
    AccretionDisk
    {
        InnerRadius     0.00020665
        OuterRadius     0.36953
        JetRadius       0.0042899
        JetLength       1.287
        AccretionRate   4.3293e-27
        Temperature     2.2844e+05
        Density         6187.2
        Luminosity      965.46
        TwistMagn       50
        Brightness      1
    }

You may need to customize it in the editor to your liking.
(By the way, your orbital data are a bit wrong.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
HeitorHenrique1455
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 15 Sep 2019
Location: Canada

Help with creating Mods and Addons

15 Sep 2019 13:50

OK thank you
 
User avatar
Rungoster
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Sep 2019

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 Sep 2019 11:55

Is there any way to render a line between two points, like a constellation?

I have a procedural galaxy, and I'd like to create visual connections between different planets in it.

I'm open to any ideas, even extremely hacky ones.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 Sep 2019 15:52

Rungoster wrote:
Source of the post Is there any way to render a line between two points, like a constellation?

I do not know if there is a script command that can generate such lines, but I know a very nasty hack.
scr00391.jpg

You need a file called 'Constellations.cfg' in the directory 'addons\catalogs\stars'.
In this file you write something like this:
// Line test
// JackDole 2019.09.18 00:51:25

Constellation    "Empire"
{
    //Zodiacal false

    //LabelPos (0.36, -71.06)

    Lines
    {
        "Raven"            "Black Rose"
        "Black Rose"       "Hiszs"
        "Hiszs"            "JDV 00035"
        "JDV 00035"        "JDV 00043"
        "Raven"            "JDV 00049"
    }
}

The lines will only be visible when the constellations are turned on.
But all other constellations have disappeared!
If you want to keep them, you need to extract the file 'Constallations.cfg' from the 'Catalogs.pak' archive and attach your file to this file and then save it in 'addons\catalogs\stars'.


(Edited)
You may have to change these lines in the 'main-user.cfg'. (The maximum value for 'ConstelLinesFadeEnd' is 1e + 06 parsec.)
    ConstelLinesFadeStart   4000    // distance, at which constellation lines starts to fade out (parsecs)
    ConstelLinesFadeEnd     10000    // distance, at which constellation lines ends   to fade out (parsecs)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1670
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 Sep 2019 16:53

Jack I hope you will create an add on for the planet with water vapor that was discovered 110 LY away, a super earth in the habitable zone!
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 Sep 2019 19:53

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post a super earth in the habitable zone!

The planet is already in SE. Search for K2-18 b.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Rungoster
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Sep 2019

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Sep 2019 11:57

JackDole wrote:
Rungoster wrote:
Source of the post Is there any way to render a line between two points, like a constellation?

I do not know if there is a script command that can generate such lines, but I know a very nasty hack.
scr00391.jpg
You need a file called 'Constellations.cfg' in the directory 'addons\catalogs\stars'.
In this file you write something like this:
// Line test
// JackDole 2019.09.18 00:51:25

Constellation    "Empire"
{
    //Zodiacal false

    //LabelPos (0.36, -71.06)

    Lines
    {
        "Raven"            "Black Rose"
        "Black Rose"       "Hiszs"
        "Hiszs"            "JDV 00035"
        "JDV 00035"        "JDV 00043"
        "Raven"            "JDV 00049"
    }
}

The lines will only be visible when the constellations are turned on.
But all other constellations have disappeared!
If you want to keep them, you need to extract the file 'Constallations.cfg' from the 'Catalogs.pak' archive and attach your file to this file and then save it in 'addons\catalogs\stars'.


(Edited)
You may have to change these lines in the 'main-user.cfg'. (The maximum value for 'ConstelLinesFadeEnd' is 1e + 06 parsec.)
    ConstelLinesFadeStart   4000    // distance, at which constellation lines starts to fade out (parsecs)
    ConstelLinesFadeEnd     10000    // distance, at which constellation lines ends   to fade out (parsecs)


So you just write the names of the objects as they appear in the wikibox, and it draws the lines?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Sep 2019 13:01

Yes.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Rungoster
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Sep 2019

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Sep 2019 14:56

Doesn't seem to be working for me. Would you be able to give more specifics?

I just need the one single file, Constellations.cfg, located at 'addons/catalogs/stars/Constellations.cfg'?
Is notepad sufficient for editing the .cfg files?
does this work significantly far away from Earth, like in another galaxy? I set the borders and lines fade start and end to '1e+06'
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Sep 2019 22:31

It does not work in distant galaxies.
Normally the lines start to fade from 4000 parsek and disappear after 10000 parsek. (From the sun.)
These values can only be increased up to a maximum of 1e+06 parsek. (1000000 parsek)
(They may also be raised further, but that's not recommended.)
.cfg files are normal .txt files and can be edited in Notepad.  (But basically I would recommend Notepad ++. This is used a lot and is free.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 Sep 2019 18:37

Rungoster wrote:
Source of the post I just need the one single file, Constellations.cfg, located at 'addons/catalogs/stars/Constellations.cfg'?

I can give you the Constellations file I use. It belongs to the folder '..\Steam\steamapps\common\SpaceEngine\addons\catalogs\stars'.
I added my changes at the end.
But this file does not help you much, because you do not have the stars that I use. And I can not give you those stars.
And you have to set the values of the main-user.cfg higher. I have set it up like this:
    ConstelLinesFadeStart   10000    // distance, at which constellation lines starts to fade out (parsecs)
    ConstelLinesFadeEnd     1e+06    // distance, at which constellation lines ends   to fade out (parsecs)

Constellations.cfg
(547.15 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
scr00097.jpg

(By the way, the whole works only with SE 0.990)

(And I answer questions about addons and the like only in the forum.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1670
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

26 Sep 2019 18:22

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post a super earth in the habitable zone!

The planet is already in SE. Search for K2-18 b.

Thanks, I have a quick question.  Is there any way for me to play a specific song when I land on a planet?  I mean do I have to delete or move all the other ones or can I link a specific song to a specific planet and just have that song playing on repeat (actually it's a musical score)?  I know it has to be in .ogg format so I take it I can use a wav to ogg converter to make the song compatible with SE?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

26 Sep 2019 22:25

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Is there any way for me to play a specific song when I land on a planet?

You can insert this line in the file 'context.cfg':
Object    "MyPlanet"                {    Files    ( "MyMusicTitle.ogg" )    }

(It is in the directory 'data\music'.)
But I'm not sure if that really works.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1670
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

28 Sep 2019 00:25

Thanks JD!  I was worried I would have to move all the songs into a different folder and put just the one song I want in the default music folder lol.  I actually recorded a .WAV and then converted it to .OGG format, will that work fine with SE, and the length of the musical score doesn't matter?  I take it SE will just loop the same music over and over again?
 
User avatar
longname
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 95
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Location: ∞/The Multiverse/The Universe/Local Cluster/The Milky Way/Orion Arm/Sol System/Earth-Moon/Earth/UK

Help with creating Mods and Addons

05 Oct 2019 04:35

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Is there any way for me to play a specific song when I land on a planet?

You can insert this line in the file 'context.cfg':
Object    "MyPlanet"                {    Files    ( "MyMusicTitle.ogg" )    }

(It is in the directory 'data\music'.)
But I'm not sure if that really works.

IS there also a way to get a song to play on a type of planet/star/galaxy?
[dah<500,26>dah<180,14>dah<180,21>dah<500,19>dah<180,26>dah<500,21>]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest