Ultimate space simulation software

 
HeitorBarbosa47842
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 02 May 2018
Location: Earth
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 May 2018 10:17

I really can not solve my gas giant's problem with Saturn's rings, here's my script. If anyone can help me.
Attachments
Jorgea D.sc
(1.95 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
The Universe of HeitorBarbosa47842
Development Addon - The Universe Of HeitorBarbosa47842
 
User avatar
GeoPlayer123YT
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 May 2017
Location: Somewhere in the USA

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 May 2018 10:39

did you fix the problems that they pointed out?
Also, I tried making a copy of the earth script in mySystem.sc file and I put it in and saved it and restarted SE and when I went seacrh it i couldnt find it. I just copied Earth's script, and put the parent to saturn.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1021
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 May 2018 13:27

HeitorBarbosa47842 wrote:
Source of the post  If anyone can help me.

There's always the same closing bracket missing. Copy the code JackDole corrected for you in a new file and see the difference between the two scripts.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Kspeher
Observer
Observer
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Jan 2018

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 11:55

Hello I need help with my addon. As I am trying to make an custom system and wanted add a planet around a binary system. However, as soon as I make the parent body the barycenter (which has the correct mass by adding the 2 major bodies together) I get and extremely high orbital period. Although for and body around an ~1.2 solar mass object the orbital period is not >230 years. I also made sure that the period line in orbital parameters is removed. So that the game should calculate the period by itself, although it changed nothing. The object name is AA1.
scr00000.jpg

I'm also having the same problem with other objects which orbit around barycenters. Although this only applies to planets/dwarf planets and asteroids. If you want to check it out yourself here are the files.
Into-Planets= 
(S-T-N-E-S-C-Z) Systems V0.1.sc
(450.7 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
(Barycenters located in here. Name is for AA1 Claud-Zejad Barycenter)
Claud-Zejad Barycenter.sc
(2.92 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
(object AA1 located in here)
Into-Stars= 
Central Sternenwart Bary.sc
(148 Bytes) Downloaded 18 times


Thank you for your time.
Its Rocket Science
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 379
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 12:12

It's a known bug, sadly. :( Until the bug is fixed, OrbitalPeriods must be calculated manually for objects orbiting Barycenters
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 956
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 13:58

Kspeher wrote:
Source of the post  I also made sure that the period line in orbital parameters is removed. So that the game should calculate the period by itself, although it changed nothing.

As PlutonianEmpire says, it's a bug. SpaceEngine can not calculate the orbital period correctly when the object circles around a barycenter.
You can insert
        Period                0.02513794 

in the 'Orbit' tag.
 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 61
Joined: 05 Nov 2016
Location: here

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 15:01

Hello! I need help with cloud shaders. I'm trying to make the clouds generate only around the equator, and the poles. I think I found out where to edit the code, but I'm stuck. Any help is appreciated!

Download the attached file and fine "HeightMapCloudsTerra2".
Attachments
tg_common.glsl
(100.11 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
 
User avatar
Kspeher
Observer
Observer
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Jan 2018

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 15:45

JackDole wrote:
Kspeher wrote:
Source of the post  I also made sure that the period line in orbital parameters is removed. So that the game should calculate the period by itself, although it changed nothing.

As PlutonianEmpire says, it's a bug. SpaceEngine can not calculate the orbital period correctly when the object circles around a barycenter.
You can insert
        Period                0.02513794 

in the 'Orbit' tag.

Thank you for your help :D
Its Rocket Science
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 08:27

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Hello I need help with my addon. I am creating a custom solar system, I am trying to create Barycenters around my star because I would like to have a radial velocity effect on some planets. Does anyone know how to make a Barycenters?[/font]
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 08:30

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Hello I need help with my addon. I am creating a custom solar system, I am trying to create Barycenters around my star because I would like to have a radial velocity effect on some planets. Does anyone know how to make a Barycenters?[/font]
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 08:32

Here's the Barycenter script:

[code]Barycenter    "MyBarycenter"
{
ParentBody "MyStar" 
  RA      78 07 31
    Dec     97 15 23
    Dist    11
    
    Mass    0.811
    AppMagn 5.88
}[/code]
 
HeitorBarbosa47842
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 02 May 2018
Location: Earth
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 08:38

Ryan Style wrote:
Aqui está o script do Barycenter:

Barycenter    "MyBarycenter"
{
    ParentBody   "MyStar" 
    RA      78 07 31
    Dec     97 15 23
    Dist    11
    
    Mass    0.811
    AppMagn 5.88
}



you can not add ParentBody to an object that has coordinates, so you need to put in the catalog of planets because your script is creating an object for the Star catalog. then your script should look like this:
Put the script on planet catalog folder

Barycenter    "MyBarycenter"
{
    ParentBody     "MyStar"

    Mass            0.811
    
    Orbit
    {
        Epoch          2443000
        Period         0.009724533474
        SemiMajorAxis  0.004484625668
        Eccentricity   0.0101
        Inclination    0.47
        AscendingNode  101.087
        LongOfPericen  155.512
        MeanLongitude  176.377
    }
}

If the problem persists, verify that the file extension is sc.
Last edited by HeitorBarbosa47842 on 03 Jun 2018 08:56, edited 2 times in total.
The Universe of HeitorBarbosa47842
Development Addon - The Universe Of HeitorBarbosa47842
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 08:42

Now I see my error I was putting the file in the cfg extension and was putting in the wrong folder. now that I remembered that catalog objects will only work if the extension is sc and they will be in the right folder. But thanks for the help.
 
HeitorBarbosa47842
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 02 May 2018
Location: Earth
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 08:49

Ryan Style wrote:
Now I see my error I was putting the file in the cfg extension and was putting in the wrong folder. now that I remembered that catalog objects will only work if the extension is sc and they will be in the right folder. But thanks for the help.

this is normal, this problem is very common for beginners of Space Engine, when I started to create mods for Space Engine I had some difficulties in the beginning to create addons. But this happens.
The Universe of HeitorBarbosa47842
Development Addon - The Universe Of HeitorBarbosa47842
 
User avatar
Propulsion Disk
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 152
Joined: 04 Jun 2018
Location: In My lab at the moment.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

04 Jun 2018 19:52

Hello, I'm trying to import my ship (The Charioteer) to space engine but it's not working. I looked through the ship tutorial like 28 times and did everything it said but it still doesn't work. I'm pretty sure the problem is that my obj and stl files are not converting to .sm and .sml files for some reason, I know that they are supposed to automatically convert to those files but for some odd reason they're not, maybe it's the way that they're opened or something else I'm not sure but I was hoping someone would help with this because I have been trying for days now and I had kinda enough now. (PS) by "the way they're opened" I mean like if they should be opened in like notepad or something. Anyway, thank you and I hope you can help because so far no one has asked this question and was kinda thinking that it was because no one knew. But anyway, THANKS again!
I'm good when it comes to Physics, Algebra, Relativity, Space, and SpaceEngine. But I could still use a LOT of help on the things I still don't know. So I hope I get a lot of help on how all that works, here!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest