Free planetarium

 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 526
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

15 Aug 2017 06:55

PlutonianEmpire,
I think 'EquatorAscendingNode' is wrong. It is called 'EqAscNode' or 'EqAscendNode'. But I do not think this has anything to do with your problem.
 
For me your planet looks like this:
scr00076.png
 
User avatar
skywalker66
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 31 Dec 2016
Location: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

Help with creating Mods and Addons

28 Aug 2017 13:46

I got a zip file for Wolf 1061 from the archives of SE 0.973 and 0.974, which was wrote by someone else, and installed .sc files of Wolf 1061 and Wolf 1061 planets in the addons/catalogs/planets and addons/catalogs/stars for SE 0.980. I realized that Wolf_1061 baycenter file was creating a duplicate copy of star system. So I deleted it and kept only the Wolf_1061 planets file for a single star system in addons/catalogs/planets. I tried to modify the Wolf_1061 planets file because there is error showing star Wolf 1061 as "Red Dwarf (binary)" and duplicate copies of 6 planets instead of 3 planets. The Wikipedia shows Wolf 1061 only as a single star. The orbital inclination of all Wolf 1060 planets is also out of order. 

Wolf_1061_Planets.sc
(1.16 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
                        
scr00025.jpg
                  



scr00025.jpg
Attachments
Wolf_1061.sc
(156 Bytes) Downloaded 8 times
CPU: Intel Core i5-3470k 3.2 GHZ 4-Core Processor; RAM: Ballistix 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-2400 memory; GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 960 4GB FTW Gaming ACX 2.0+; and Windows 10 64-bit
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 526
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 Aug 2017 03:16

skywalker66 wrote:
Source of the post I got a zip file for Wolf 1061 from the archives of SE 0.973 and 0.974, which was wrote by someone else, and installed .sc files of Wolf 1061 and Wolf 1061 planets in the addons/catalogs/planets and addons/catalogs/stars for SE 0.980.

As I see, it is one of my old addons from the old forum.

But since the system is already in SE 0.980 you do not really need it.
If you want to use it however, you can use my two modified scripts.
Wolf_1061.sc
(280 Bytes) Downloaded 9 times
Wolf_1061_Planets.sc
(1.6 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

If you are using 'SE 0.980e', you should also extract the file 'ExoPlanetsSuns.sc' from the 'Catalogs0980.pak' archive into the 'data\catalogs\stars' folder and remove the star 'Wolf 1061/Gliese 628/HIP 80824' from the script. Otherwise you have two entries of 'Wolf 1061' in the 'Find object' window.

It's best to set it in comment characters.
So:
/*
Star    "Wolf 1061/Gliese 628/HIP 80824"
{
    RA      16.50501607
    Dec     -12.662594
    Dist    4.3
    AppMagn 10.03
    Class  "M3.5"
    MassSol 0.29
    RadSol  0.31
    Teff    3342
    FeH    -0.09
}
*/

Then you can undo it if you want.
(For some reason removing stars does not work properly in SE 0.980e)
 
User avatar
JediTrekkie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 May 2017
Location: Gliese 581 g

Help with creating Mods and Addons

04 Sep 2017 11:05

sorry if I seem dumb for not knowing this, but how do I calculate orbital resonance? I'm trying to make a planet with a 2:3 (or 3:2) resonance. 3 rotations for every 2 revolutions.
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 198
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

04 Sep 2017 11:14

JediTrekkie wrote:
sorry if I seem dumb for not knowing this, but how do I calculate orbital resonance? I'm trying to make a planet with a 2:3 (or 3:2) resonance. 3 rotations for every 2 revolutions.

Isn't it obvious? Just take a calculator and do basic math.
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
User avatar
JediTrekkie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 May 2017
Location: Gliese 581 g

Help with creating Mods and Addons

04 Sep 2017 21:43

XBrain130, gee, thanks. XD
I figured it out though so thanks anyway. god, I feel stupid!
 
Nicman1000
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Sep 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

10 Sep 2017 16:11

Hello, I am attempting to use the scripts to make a star syestem. I have read the on-site tutorials four times but I could not understand what I was doing wrong. I attempted to search youtube for a video explaining how to do this, but I couldn't find any good tutorials. I think that there should be a proper video tutorial on using the SE scripts alongside the written tutorial. I think this would be very helpful for me and anyone else who has trouble understanding the written tutorial.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 668
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Help with creating Mods and Addons

10 Sep 2017 16:28

Hi Nicman1000, if you attach your scripts maybe someone will take a look and help to find the issue :)
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Nicman1000
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Sep 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

10 Sep 2017 17:09

 Mosfet I just tried to do the tutorial scripts. I had made the addon folders in the sequence addons/myaddons/catalouges/stars/mystar. I believe this is the correct order.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 526
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

10 Sep 2017 18:18

Nicman1000 wrote:
Source of the post I believe this is the correct order.

No.
It works with 'addons\myaddons\catalogs\stars'. (catalogs, not 'catalouges'!)
But if the 'mystar' is a folder, it does not work!
I would for the beginning also omit the subfolder 'myaddons'.
Then the correct folder structure for a star would be: 'addons\catalogs\stars'.
The script you can call 'mystar.sc'. Or whatever. It just need to have the extension '.sc'.
 
Nicman1000
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Sep 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

11 Sep 2017 13:27

I reordered the folders the way you did, but how do I make a .txt file into a .sc file?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 668
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Help with creating Mods and Addons

11 Sep 2017 14:16

first of all, you need to tell Windows to let you see file extensions for registered file types, then you can change the entire name of your file, extension included. How you can do it, it depends on your Windows version. try googling it.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 96
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Kepler-186 f
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

11 Sep 2017 20:36

Nicman1000 wrote:
I reordered the folders the way you did, but how do I make a .txt file into a .sc file?

What I do is use WinRAR to rename things. Usually if you just rename stuff, it will not change the file but WinRAR changes the file type as well.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 526
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

12 Sep 2017 02:28

Nicman1000 wrote:
Source of the post but how do I make a .txt file into a .sc file?

Try this hint from the old forum: http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/4-3483 ... 1479171017
 
User avatar
LeeP
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 30 Dec 2016
Location: USA

Help with creating Mods and Addons

13 Sep 2017 02:23

Has any one made city night light textures, or is it possible?
I saw this picture and thought it would be cool to do some thing similar.
Attachments
romain-flamand-planche16.jpg

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests