Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1687
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

05 Oct 2019 06:55

longname wrote:
Source of the post IS there also a way to get a song to play on a type of planet/star/galaxy?

Look at the file 'context.cfg' in the folder 'data\music'.
For planets like 'Terra' or 'Desert', yes.
For star classes, or galaxy classes, I do not know.
But you can try it.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 62
Joined: 05 Nov 2016
Location: here

Help with creating Mods and Addons

12 Oct 2019 14:29

Is there a way to make tidally locked clouds rotate the same way as regularly rotating planets with shaders? Or is that hard-coded into the game?
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Nov 2019 17:47

In the Tutorial of "Creating a DSO" Says "You can also create a custom 3D model for galaxy or nebula. Otherwise SpaceEngine will use one of the standard models, assigning it to your object based on its type. You can make a custom model and assign it to a specific galaxy/nebula, or tell SE to assign it procedurally to all galaxies/nebulae which have a certain type (for example, “Sa” galaxies). You can also modify the standard models."

But... Which program I have to use to make a different galaxy model? What format does support Space Engine for 3d models?
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Nov 2019 18:23

Galaxy “Vamas”
{
Type    “Sb”     // the Hubble type
RA       18.365  // right ascension
Dec     -30.1643 // declination
Dist     1.6e21 // distance from the Sun
Radius   21000   // radius
AbsMagn -21.5    // absolute magnitude
Quat    ( -0.9269889 0.2641924 0.03661448 0.2637298 )  // orientation quaternion

}

OK, Radius, but what radius it's he meaning? Light Years? Parsecs? what!? Please I need to know :c
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1415
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 00:47

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post Which program I have to use to make a different galaxy model? What format does support Space Engine for 3d models?

GIMP, Photoshop, any graphics editor that allows you to save RGB images with Alpha channel. In the manual at the end of that section, under "Creating textures" specifies supported formats: jpg, tif, png, tga, dds.

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post OK, Radius, but what radius it's he meaning? Light Years? Parsecs? what!? Please I need to know :c

Same "Creating a deep space object" section, under "The galaxy/cluster/nebula script details":
Radius – radius of the object in parsecs.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 01:50

Mosfet wrote:
Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post Which program I have to use to make a different galaxy model? What format does support Space Engine for 3d models?

GIMP, Photoshop, any graphics editor that allows you to save RGB images with Alpha channel. In the manual at the end of that section, under "Creating textures" specifies supported formats: jpg, tif, png, tga, dds.

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post OK, Radius, but what radius it's he meaning? Light Years? Parsecs? what!? Please I need to know :c

Same "Creating a deep space object" section, under "The galaxy/cluster/nebula script details":
Radius – radius of the object in parsecs.

Thanks a lot, the Front Texture, the LOD 0 and the subsystem of my galaxy have to be in 3 different files? 
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 01:54

I think I did something really bad lol, what I can do with this?
Attachments
Sin título.png
Sin título2.png
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 01:59

Galaxy “Vamas”
{

Type    “Sb”     // the Hubble type
RA       18.365  // right ascension
Dec     -30.1643 // declination
Dist     16272933 // distance from the Sun
Radius   168631   // radius
AbsMagn -14.5    // absolute magnitude
Quat    ( -0.9269889 0.2641924 0.03661448 0.2637298 )  // orientation quaternion

}

It's something wrong here?

The textures size it's 4000x4000 pixels, the LOD 0 128x128 as well
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 02:01

Or it is because I have the 0.9.8.0 Version? lol
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1687
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 06:58

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post It's something wrong here?

You have the wrong quotes. You have '' and '', but you must have this sign: '"'.
(These characters are incorrect for all script examples in the manual.)

Try this script:
Galaxy "Vamas"
{
    Type    "Sb"     // the Hubble type
    RA       18.365  // right ascension
    Dec     -30.1643 // declination
    Dist     16272933 // distance from the Sun
    Radius   168631   // radius
    AbsMagn -14.5    // absolute magnitude
    Quat    ( -0.9269889 0.2641924 0.03661448 0.2637298 )  // orientation quaternion
}
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 14:09

JackDole wrote:
Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post It's something wrong here?

You have the wrong quotes. You have '' and '', but you must have this sign: '"'.
(These characters are incorrect for all script examples in the manual.)

Try this script:
Galaxy "Vamas"
{
    Type    "Sb"     // the Hubble type
    RA       18.365  // right ascension
    Dec     -30.1643 // declination
    Dist     16272933 // distance from the Sun
    Radius   168631   // radius
    AbsMagn -14.5    // absolute magnitude
    Quat    ( -0.9269889 0.2641924 0.03661448 0.2637298 )  // orientation quaternion
}


It looks like it worked
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 21:21

It worked!... I want to add a custom star to it but when I add it appears very far away from the Galaxy, I want to put it on the Galaxy that I've created. :( 

Here it is the information of the .sc file:

Star    "Avalon"
{
RA       16 10 45  // right ascension
Dec     -25 12 11  // declination
Dist     16272933  // distance from the Sun
Class   "G5Ib"     // spectral class
Lum      54240     // luminosity, or
//AbsMagn  5.31    // absolute magnitude, or
//AppMagn  10.31   // apparent magnitude
RadSol   285       // radius in Solar radii
MassSol  11.21     // mass in Solar masses
Teff     5224      // surface temperature in Kelvin
}

I want to solve 3 problems at this point:

1.- I put the same distances of the galaxy to the star in order to put it on there, but when I'm in the game, it appears that it's +26 Milky Ways of distance of it lol, How I can solve this?? (see the first Image below on the left to see the details).

2.- Taking in count that the star it's x285 Solar Radius and x11.21 in Mass, how could it have a System radius of 11.62 AU? I don't understand this lol, it's because I didn't added planets yet?

For more detailed data of the star, look at the second image below on the right. 

3.- There's a problem on the star when I'm more than 0.24 light years away from it, it dissapears (see the 3rd and last image of the upper right side) and the lod finally appears when I'm +10 Ly from it and starts to make a kind off dragging to the selection arrows (See the 4th image below on the lower left side) and when I'm very too far away of the star (+5600 Light years) it fits on the center of the selection arrows (See the 5th image below on the lower right side) 
Attachments
Sin título.jpg
Sin título2.jpg
Sin título3.jpg
Sin título4.jpg
Sin título5.jpg
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 21:30

Also I investigated a little bit, going to my galaxy's edge, I found a white supergiant and saw a system radius of 343.76 AU and it's luminosity it's lower than my star, 31999 L suns and it have 9 planets orbiting it. (See first image below).

On the second image you will find that it's smaller than Avalon, like 0.44 AU (93.878 Solar Radius) My question is: What I can do, and if anyone had the same issue than I, how did you solve it and how? Or some one that haves long time doing addons, please explain me what I can do. :(
Attachments
Sin título.jpg
Sin título2.jpg
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1687
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Nov 2019 22:53

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post 1.- I put the same distances of the galaxy to the star in order to put it on there, but when I'm in the game, it appears that it's +26 Milky Ways of distance of it lol, How I can solve this?? (see the first Image below on the left to see the details).

If the star is supposed to be inside your galaxy, 'RA' and 'Dec' must be about the same value as your galaxy.
You can try this script:
// Khorrah
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Star    "Avalon/Khorrah's star"
{
    RA       18 21 30.23
    Dec     -30 18 31.35
    Dist     16280626 // 16272933
    
    Class   "G5Ib"
    Lum      54240
    RadSol   285
    MassSol  11.21
    Teff     5224
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(I gave the star a second name because I already have an addon with another object called 'Avalon', and that creates conflicts.)
scr00453.jpg


Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post 3.- There's a problem on the star when I'm more than 0.24 light years away from it, it dissapears (see the 3rd and last image of the upper right side) and the lod finally appears when I'm +10 Ly from it and starts to make a kind off dragging to the selection arrows (See the 4th image below on the lower left side) and when I'm very too far away of the star (+5600 Light years) it fits on the center of the selection arrows (See the 5th image below on the lower right side)

That's probably because of the inaccuracies of the positional parameters over very long distances. Sometimes the star also starts to jump when you move away from it.

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post 2.- Taking in count that the star it's x285 Solar Radius and x11.21 in Mass, how could it have a System radius of 11.62 AU? I don't understand this lol, it's because I didn't added planets yet?

Yes. Sometimes SpaceEngine automatically creates planets, sometimes not. When SpaceEngine creates planets, the system radius is larger. But it only does that if you have not created your own planets. (SpaceEngine creates planets with my script.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
Khorrah
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2019
Location: Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Nov 2019 00:40

JackDole wrote:
Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post 1.- I put the same distances of the galaxy to the star in order to put it on there, but when I'm in the game, it appears that it's +26 Milky Ways of distance of it lol, How I can solve this?? (see the first Image below on the left to see the details).

If the star is supposed to be inside your galaxy, 'RA' and 'Dec' must be about the same value as your galaxy.
You can try this script:
// Khorrah
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Star    "Avalon/Khorrah's star"
{
    RA       18 21 30.23
    Dec     -30 18 31.35
    Dist     16280626 // 16272933
    
    Class   "G5Ib"
    Lum      54240
    RadSol   285
    MassSol  11.21
    Teff     5224
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(I gave the star a second name because I already have an addon with another object called 'Avalon', and that creates conflicts.)
scr00453.jpg

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post 3.- There's a problem on the star when I'm more than 0.24 light years away from it, it dissapears (see the 3rd and last image of the upper right side) and the lod finally appears when I'm +10 Ly from it and starts to make a kind off dragging to the selection arrows (See the 4th image below on the lower left side) and when I'm very too far away of the star (+5600 Light years) it fits on the center of the selection arrows (See the 5th image below on the lower right side)

That's probably because of the inaccuracies of the positional parameters over very long distances. Sometimes the star also starts to jump when you move away from it.

Khorrah wrote:
Source of the post 2.- Taking in count that the star it's x285 Solar Radius and x11.21 in Mass, how could it have a System radius of 11.62 AU? I don't understand this lol, it's because I didn't added planets yet?

Yes. Sometimes SpaceEngine automatically creates planets, sometimes not. When SpaceEngine creates planets, the system radius is larger. But it only does that if you have not created your own planets. (SpaceEngine creates planets with my script.)

It just... Worked, omg tanks a lot, all was fixed with your script. ♥

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest