Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 00:19

If an addon .pak contains a locale\eng-db.cfg file to store "Franchise" attributes, after Steam updates Space Engine the addon's eng-db.cfg is no longer loaded, unless it's edited so that the file modification date becomes newer than that of the Space Engine app.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 01:26

Julian wrote:
Source of the post If an addon .pak contains a locale\eng-db.cfg file to store "Franchise" attributes, after Steam updates Space Engine the addon's eng-db.cfg is no longer loaded, unless it's edited so that the file modification date becomes newer than that of the Space Engine app.

That is completely normal.
SpaceEngine can only detect on the date which version of two scripts of the same name should be used.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1797
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 02:00

JD, perhaps this should go here- I am getting this console error with Ceres even though I have never been there, how can it be fixed?

ceres.jpg
 
User avatar
SCP-10492
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 41
Joined: 18 May 2019
Location: Earth

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 02:54

Hello, today 0.990.36.1665 has been distributed to all SE users. As usual, it contains many new features, but there are also bugs. Sirius A's sunspot was truncated.
Attachments
scr00000.jpg
Screenshot.
scr00001.jpg
Screenshot.
scr00002.jpg
Screenshot.
scr00003.jpg
Screenshot.
Does anybody really look at this?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 06:12

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post I am getting this console error with Ceres even though I have never been there, how can it be fixed?

Post the 'se.log'.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Schübatamann
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 29
Joined: 20 Jun 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 07:12

A-L-E-X wrote:
Schübatamann wrote:
after build 0.990.35.1660 all terrain in procedual planets became black or dark grey, i can still see terrain details but is dark and completally dessaturated.

clouds, gas giants and solar system object are still nice

Really? I love 1660.  I can make all the colors pop by boosting saturation, contrast and sharpness to maximum!  I keep saturation illuminator (whatever that is) on auto!
scr00160.jpg

maybe you have not understood my problem, when I say black I mean literally black! it's impossible for me to replicate your screenshot, the soil is always black no matter what I do :(
for example the location "Terra with life in LMC" looks like this to meImage
if i remove the atmosphere you can see that the soil is completely blackImage
if i put the saturation to the maximumwill look like thisImage
and this is the view from the ground with saturation and ilumination saturation at maximumImage
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 08:28

Schübatamann wrote:
Source of the post for example the location "Terra with life in LMC" looks like this to me

Post your 'se.log'. It is in the 'system' folder of SpaceEngine.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 12:05

JackDole wrote:
That is completely normal.
SpaceEngine can only detect on the date which version of two scripts of the same name should be used.

Yes, but it'll become inconvenient for distributing .paks that include locale\eng-db.cfg. Either SE needs to make an exception for handling the modification date of eng-db.cfg, or should addons use config\usr-eng-db.cfg instead?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 14:55

Julian wrote:
Source of the post Yes, but it'll become inconvenient for distributing .paks that include locale\eng-db.cfg. Either SE needs to make an exception for handling the modification date of eng-db.cfg, or should addons use config\usr-eng-db.cfg instead?

You can make your own file with a name of your own.
You could give it the name of your addon: 'MyAddon-eng-db.cfg'.
And of course only make your own entries in it. Not the entries from the standard 'eng-db.cfg'.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
Mr. Abner
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 347
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 17:07

Is it just me, or is the auto-exposure mode more sensitive on the left side of the screen than the right side?
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 222
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

05 Jul 2019 22:18

0.980 used to have custom textures for the Mice Galaxies (NGC 4676). Why aren't they in 0.990?
Image
 
User avatar
Schübatamann
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 29
Joined: 20 Jun 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

06 Jul 2019 07:18

JackDole wrote:
Schübatamann wrote:
Source of the post for example the location "Terra with life in LMC" looks like this to me

Post your 'se.log'. It is in the 'system' folder of SpaceEngine.

here is it
Attachments
se.log
(498.45 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
 
flrpf13
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Jun 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

06 Jul 2019 08:25

I have stars flare bright issue.

Why is the stars flare bright deactivated when the nebula is behind it?
Like this.
Is it known issues? 
Or is it not bug?

It looks like flare bright is hidden by the nebula.
log file here : https://pastebin.com/PrZknfjQ
reported on steam with same issue : https://steamcommunity.com/app/314650/discussions/1/1640915206485486443/
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

06 Jul 2019 08:34

Schübatamann wrote:

Remove 'rodrigosmod.pak'. This does not work with SE 0.990 and is most likely the reason that your planets are black.
By the way, you should also remove all addons that have not been explicitly made for SE 0.990!
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Schübatamann
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 29
Joined: 20 Jun 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

06 Jul 2019 10:49

JackDole wrote:
Schübatamann wrote:

Remove 'rodrigosmod.pak'. This does not work with SE 0.990 and is most likely the reason that your planets are black.
By the way, you should also remove all addons that have not been explicitly made for SE 0.990!

I have removed all addons, reinstalled space engine and restarted the computer but the issue persists  :cry:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest