Ultimate space simulation software

 
Satyr
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Jun 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

25 Jun 2019 16:37

Mosfet wrote:
Satyr wrote:
Source of the post There is no se.log file.
If I try to start SpaceEngine directly from the folder, I get the errormessage: "application was unable to start correctly 0xc000007b".
I ran the .net Framework repairtool, but it did not help.

Steam should have installed OpenAL 3d audio and Microsoft Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable too with SpaceEngine.
See if SpaceEngine runs.

Visual 2015 cannot be installed, because another version is installed. The newest version I have installed is 2017. 
OpenAL is installed. 
Still with the same result: Game cannot even be started, no errormessage.
 
Satyr
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Jun 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

25 Jun 2019 16:52

Mosfet wrote:
Satyr wrote:
Source of the post There is no se.log file.
If I try to start SpaceEngine directly from the folder, I get the errormessage: "application was unable to start correctly 0xc000007b".
I ran the .net Framework repairtool, but it did not help.

Steam should have installed OpenAL 3d audio and Microsoft Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable too with SpaceEngine.
See if SpaceEngine runs.

IT WORKS! :D 
Uninstalling and reinstalling OpenAL did solve something. Now it does start. I see now the loadingscreen and am waiting to see what happens now. :) 
 
User avatar
Kelstone
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Spain

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Jun 2019 02:31

TheXeos wrote:
meegja wrote:
@TheXeos
It is still in 0.990. I can travel 100000 years in a matter of seconds. Acceleration both with the L-key or with the menu left below.

I can't go beyond x10000 even with the L key shortcut. Also I forgot to add that I can't reverse time as well, the reverse time button isn't there and the J key does nothing. 
Software is up to date according to Steam

Seems like you are in flight simulator instead of the planetarium. If you are able to spawn ships, then you are not in the planetarium. The game for some reason separates both modes, so the only thing you have to do is go to the planetarium instead of pressing "continue". Then after going to the planetarium, pressing continue should open the planetarium normally.
 
User avatar
TheXeos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jun 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Jun 2019 06:54

Kelstone wrote:
TheXeos wrote:
meegja wrote:
@TheXeos
It is still in 0.990. I can travel 100000 years in a matter of seconds. Acceleration both with the L-key or with the menu left below.

I can't go beyond x10000 even with the L key shortcut. Also I forgot to add that I can't reverse time as well, the reverse time button isn't there and the J key does nothing. 
Software is up to date according to Steam

Seems like you are in flight simulator instead of the planetarium. If you are able to spawn ships, then you are not in the planetarium. The game for some reason separates both modes, so the only thing you have to do is go to the planetarium instead of pressing "continue". Then after going to the planetarium, pressing continue should open the planetarium normally.

AAAAH! Thank you, that was the thing, I did not understand how these worked. :) 
 
Kermit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Nov 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Jun 2019 14:00

Hello, noticed minor bug.  WISE 0458-6434 is appearing as a very bright star from over 50 LY away.
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Jun 2019 14:48

Kermit wrote:
Hello, noticed minor bug.  WISE 0458-6434 is appearing as a very bright star from over 50 LY away.

Until this can be fixed in the official catalog files, a mod to correct the magnitude can be found here.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1995
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Jun 2019 17:15

what is the difference between Continue and Planetarium?  I usually click on Continue.

A bug I found is that when you're on the surface of a planet you cant click on objects you see in the sky, be they stars or other planets or moons.  in the old version clicking on them told you what they were and you could go there using that method, now you cant do any of that :(
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1777
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Jun 2019 21:11

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post what is the difference between Continue and Planetarium?  I usually click on Continue.

With 'Continue' you continue the last session with SpaceEngine.
If you used the 'Flight Simulator' at the last session, SE will continue in 'Flight Simulator' mode. If you have used the 'Planetarium', you will continue in 'Planetarium' mode.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
SCP-10492
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 48
Joined: 18 May 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Jun 2019 01:37

What is the meaning of #neuter appearing in planet classes?
Does anybody really look at this?
 
User avatar
meegja
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Jun 2019 02:29

dinkerdamn wrote:
Hello,

So I still have the problem with transparent terrain, and it seems like it has something to do with the atmosphere because the terrain looks fine with the atmosphere disabled

https://imgur.com/a/9cea4zy
https://imgur.com/a/QQAkz92

Here's the log file if needed
http://pasted.co/80d6094e

It indeed is atmosphere and I have it too. I suspect everybody, it seems it just works that way for now.
I do agree that is looks weird and is very distracting, especially when moving. Looks like your inside a bubble with a sharp edge and then haze starts. Tried different settings but the only one that lets it disappear is turning off the atmosphere.
ghost_line.jpg
Graphics card: MSI RTX 2080 ti Gaming X Trio
CPU: Intel i9-9900KF
Motherboard: MSI Z390-A Pro
System memory: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR4-3000
 
User avatar
meegja
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Jun 2019 02:59

SCP-10492 wrote:
What is the meaning of #neuter appearing in planet classes?

Just curious, where in SE do you see that?
Graphics card: MSI RTX 2080 ti Gaming X Trio
CPU: Intel i9-9900KF
Motherboard: MSI Z390-A Pro
System memory: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR4-3000
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1777
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Jun 2019 04:17

SCP-10492 wrote:
Source of the post What is the meaning of #neuter appearing in planet classes?

I would say that is a mistake in your language file. Which language do you use?
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
meegja
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Jun 2019 07:23

SCP-10492 wrote:
What is the meaning of #neuter appearing in planet classes?

I found it :)
From the *-gui.cfg in ..\SpaceEngine\data\locale:

// Gender of a planet class words. Used to generate a planet class description strings.
// Possible values: "masculine", "feminine", "neuter"
GenderPlanet "neuter"
GenderAsteroid "neuter"
GenderTerra "neuter"
GenderCarbonia "neuter"
GenderFerria "neuter"
GenderOceania "neuter"
GenderAquaria "neuter"
GenderIceGiant "neuter"
GenderGasGiant "neuter"
GenderHeliumGiant "neuter"
GenderEarth "neuter"
GenderTitan "neuter"
GenderNeptune "neuter"
GenderJupiter "neuter"
GenderChthonia "neuter"

In other words, it means a neutral or no gender I guess. Don't know though if it has to do with grammar where certain words are female and other words male or that is is an astronomy meaning.
Graphics card: MSI RTX 2080 ti Gaming X Trio
CPU: Intel i9-9900KF
Motherboard: MSI Z390-A Pro
System memory: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR4-3000
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1777
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Jun 2019 09:10

meegja wrote:
Source of the post I found it :)
From the *-gui.cfg in ..\SpaceEngine\data\locale:

No! :|
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
meegja
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: 18 Mar 2017
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Jun 2019 09:16

JackDole wrote:
meegja wrote:
Source of the post I found it :)
From the *-gui.cfg in ..\SpaceEngine\data\locale:

No! :|

Ehr .... no?
Graphics card: MSI RTX 2080 ti Gaming X Trio
CPU: Intel i9-9900KF
Motherboard: MSI Z390-A Pro
System memory: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR4-3000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest