Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 500
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 May 2019 22:37

JackDole wrote:
senuaafo wrote:
Source of the post Is there a way to change the colors of these mares so they more closely match the surrounding oceans?

I do not think so.
The only way I know to get rid of these mare-like places is to turn off the atmosphere. Then these places are not visible.

Setting mareFreq and mareDensity to zero in the planet script for the custom planets won't fix it? Or downloading Rodrigo's mod which eliminates them?
► Show Spoiler
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1590
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 May 2019 22:54

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post
Setting mareFreq and mareDensity to zero in the planet script for the custom planets won't fix it? Or downloading Rodrigo's mod which eliminates them?

I do not know. I did not try it.
But these spots are not craters. They are mainly an atmospheric effect.
Lowering the 'Opacity* of the atmosphere may help.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 May 2019 16:32

How do you make .sss files or at least convert .obj to .sss?
 
senuaafo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 36
Joined: 21 Aug 2018

exporting textures

29 May 2019 21:48

Is there a way to take a planetary surface texture and modify it?

Ex - I want to take Jupiter's surface and make it more of a blue/greenish hue.

Every time I try to export it's texture for photoshopping, I end up with just a blank image.

thx.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1590
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

30 May 2019 01:41

senuaafo wrote:
Source of the post Is there a way to take a planetary surface texture and modify it?

The textures of the planets of the solar system can not be exported.
To change them, you would have to extract and modify the textures from the .pak archive. That would be very complicated.
You could of course find textures for the planets from somewhere and change them, and then make your own textures.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 500
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

30 May 2019 16:04

JackDole wrote:
senuaafo wrote:
Source of the post Is there a way to take a planetary surface texture and modify it?

The textures of the planets of the solar system can not be exported.
To change them, you would have to extract and modify the textures from the .pak archive. That would be very complicated.
You could of course find textures for the planets from somewhere and change them, and then make your own textures.

There is no need. All he really needs to do is to add a ModulateColor (R G B A) parameter to the surface tag. If you look at an exported procedural gas giant, you'll notice the game automatically does this to black out the surfaces of IceGiants and GasGiants
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1590
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

30 May 2019 18:58

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post All he really needs to do is to add a ModulateColor (R G B A) parameter to the surface tag.

You can use this command to color planets, but I do not think it's possible to give a planet just a slightly blue-green hue.
This is 'ModulateColor    (0.0 0.999 1.0 1.0)':
scr00014.jpg
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 500
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

31 May 2019 03:02

JackDole wrote:
PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post All he really needs to do is to add a ModulateColor (R G B A) parameter to the surface tag.

You can use this command to color planets, but I do not think it's possible to give a planet just a slightly blue-green hue.
This is 'ModulateColor    (0.0 0.999 1.0 1.0)':
scr00014.jpg

Bumping up the Red will help with that. :)

I get this for "ModulateColor (0.6 0.99 1.0 1.0)":

Image
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1590
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

31 May 2019 04:52

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post Bumping up the Red will help with that.

Of course you are right! (I was not quite there, it was 4 o'clock in the morning with me when I wrote that.)
scr00016.jpg
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
ettore_bilbo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 182
Joined: 11 Nov 2016
Location: Italy

Help with creating Mods and Addons

11 Jun 2019 13:40

SE 0.990 is out and I want to create texture-less PBR material for my mod.
like this from an old news:
Image

there's anyone who knows the metallicity and roughness commands for sml file? :-)
 
User avatar
Lucas0231
Observer
Observer
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Nov 2016

Help with creating Mods and Addons

11 Jun 2019 23:55

Hello,

I'm trying new edit mode, but it seem that it saves edited color palettes and apply them to others planets that use the same. How I can reset all changes done with edit mode ?
 
EmperorPeeter
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Nov 2018
Location: Estonia

Help with creating Mods and Addons

13 Jun 2019 02:07

With newer SE version, none of csv and sc files working in addons catalogue. Can`t add custom galaxies, stars, nebulaes, planets, etc... That`s a very big problem.
Yes. I`m building a real two satellites right now. Planned launch times is end of June 2019 with SOYUZ, and August 2019 with ESA rocket.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1392
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

13 Jun 2019 04:31

EmperorPeeter wrote:
Source of the post That`s a very big problem.

Please attach your se.log from the SpaceEngine \system folder, and a selection of your scripts, maybe someone around here could be of assistance.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
EmperorPeeter
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Nov 2018
Location: Estonia

Help with creating Mods and Addons

13 Jun 2019 05:15

It seems like newer Space Engine don`t understand the exisence of addons catalogue. Not a single hint for trying to load assets catalogue on SE.log. Hmm...
Attachments
se.log
(113.92 KiB) Downloaded 58 times
Yes. I`m building a real two satellites right now. Planned launch times is end of June 2019 with SOYUZ, and August 2019 with ESA rocket.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1590
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

13 Jun 2019 06:47

EmperorPeeter wrote:
Source of the post It seems like newer Space Engine don`t understand the exisence of addons catalogue.

You have your addons in the wrong directories!
[MT] Data directory "addons"
[MT] Data directory "addons/galaxies"
[MT] Data directory "addons/nebulae"
[MT] Data directory "addons/planets"
[MT] Data directory "addons/stars"

It must be:
"addons\catalogs\galaxies"
"addons\catalogs\nebulae"
"addons\catalogs\planets"
"addons\catalogs\stars"

!!!
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Atlantean, Mosfet and 1 guest