Ultimate space simulation software

 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2305
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Image Dump

08 Nov 2020 09:24

wow your video card isn't much worse than mine....I have the 1060 6 GB

You should try my settings.... 720P cap frame rates to 30fps and ultra preset.
 
Mr. Abner
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 443
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Image Dump

08 Nov 2020 19:28

A-L-E-X wrote:
wow your video card isn't much worse than mine....I have the 1060 6 GB

You should try my settings.... 720P cap frame rates to 30fps and ultra preset.

I think it only has 4GB of video memory, not really a lot for hi-res 3D graphics.  Perhaps I should try it at 720p, but I have been somewhat spoiled by my 1920 by 1080 monitor.

Funny thing is, one of my oldest TVs is and LCD with a native resolution of 720 lines. I like the picture quality better than some of the newer 1080-line LED TVs. I routinely resample my screenshots from 1920 by 1080 to 1280 by 720 and put them on as SD card. There's an SD slot in my TV so I play a slide show occasionally. They actually look quite good.

So... there's an idea — I should rearrange/relocate my desk and plug the PC into the TV. Lower resolution, but larger screen. And I'd run it at native 720. Thanks for putting the idea in my head, Alex. :)

scr05899.jpg


-Alex
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2305
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Image Dump

08 Nov 2020 20:36

Mr. Abner wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
wow your video card isn't much worse than mine....I have the 1060 6 GB

You should try my settings.... 720P cap frame rates to 30fps and ultra preset.

I think it only has 4GB of video memory, not really a lot for hi-res 3D graphics.  Perhaps I should try it at 720p, but I have been somewhat spoiled by my 1920 by 1080 monitor.

Funny thing is, one of my oldest TVs is and LCD with a native resolution of 720 lines. I like the picture quality better than some of the newer 1080-line LED TVs. I routinely resample my screenshots from 1920 by 1080 to 1280 by 720 and put them on as SD card. There's an SD slot in my TV so I play a slide show occasionally. They actually look quite good.

So... there's an idea — I should rearrange/relocate my desk and plug the PC into the TV. Lower resolution, but larger screen. And I'd run it at native 720. Thanks for putting the idea in my head, Alex. :)

scr05899.jpg

-Alex

Anytime fellow Alex!  I have a 32" 1080P TV and a 32" 720P TV both from the same company (Vizio) and I definitely like the colors and resolution better on the 720P model.  I wonder why.
I'm not sure how much RAM and cpu factor into the equation but I have an 8/16 c/t 2700X cpu and 16 GB of RAM with 32 GB spare set aside if I need it.

edit- you might want to skip "ultra" preset even at 720P.  I'm running a HUD that shows that setting is using all 6 GB of video memory lol.  For 4 GB VRAM I'd suggest either high or medium preset and setting cubemaps to 2K or even 1K.
 
User avatar
myoldfriendsaredjs
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2020
Location: Florida, USA

Image Dump

14 Nov 2020 13:43

Image
ImageImage
it's a really sick twisted version of pearlina
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 482
Joined: 02 May 2018

Image Dump

14 Nov 2020 14:20

scr00097.jpg


scr00098.jpg


scr00099.jpg
 
Mr. Abner
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 443
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Image Dump

15 Nov 2020 00:22

Hey! Good stuff, guys. :)

scr05941.jpg
Send-off

scr05944.jpg
Shakedown cruise

scr05946.jpg
Engine tests

scr05962.jpg
Maiden voyage

scr05966.jpg
To see the sights...

scr05967.jpg
Shuttles always available
 
User avatar
myoldfriendsaredjs
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2020
Location: Florida, USA

Image Dump

15 Nov 2020 15:23

I don't usually explore planet landscapes but turning up the mountains settings on one of my custom planets generated this canyon:

ImageImageImage

I didn't measure how deep it was, but it's pretty either way
it's a really sick twisted version of pearlina
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2305
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Image Dump

15 Nov 2020 20:08

wow you made that planet yourself? what kind of settings did you use to get that much  clarity?  Is it 0990?
 
User avatar
myoldfriendsaredjs
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2020
Location: Florida, USA

Image Dump

15 Nov 2020 21:12

A-L-E-X

It's 0.990, I took a procedurally-generated planet and began toying around with the settings. Maybe "custom" isn't the correct word to use here lol

Unfortunately I don't remember what settings I used because I ended up giving up and letting SE generate everything :/
it's a really sick twisted version of pearlina
 
User avatar
myoldfriendsaredjs
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2020
Location: Florida, USA

Image Dump

15 Nov 2020 22:58

Also just occurred to me you probably meant graphics settings, sorry about that
My landscape LOD is on 0.5 and my max landscape resolution is 480p. Everything else (that affects landscape quality) is default.
___

ImageImageImage

I think I've developed a newfound love for photographing canyons in SE. The third one is my favourite
it's a really sick twisted version of pearlina
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 482
Joined: 02 May 2018

Image Dump

16 Nov 2020 00:00

Yeah I have a few good canyon shots on here from a while back. I normally set all the graphics settings to max for the screenshots but run high to ultra normally (although at a lousy 14-20fps)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2305
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Image Dump

16 Nov 2020 06:15

hmm I am wondering if my settings are wrong....I'm using the Ultra Preset (do I need to set something on higher than Ultra?) and by landscape resolution do you mean the things listed under cubemap?  If so I have that set to 4096 lol.  If not, where do I find this landscape resolution setting?  Maybe because I am using the Ultra preset this part is blacked out for me?
 
User avatar
myoldfriendsaredjs
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2020
Location: Florida, USA

Image Dump

16 Nov 2020 10:40

Yeah, landscape resolution is blacked out under ultra, I have mine set to custom since my GPU is really particular about what runs well and what doesn't (if that makes sense)

This is what I have my graphics settings set to. I don't really know what everything does, I just have it set to what lags the least lol

Image
it's a really sick twisted version of pearlina
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 482
Joined: 02 May 2018

Image Dump

17 Nov 2020 01:49

These are my settings, ultra but with LOD and loading speed set to max.  It does work but rather jerky and slow but I rather put up with poor performance for the high visuals.

Some example pics with these settings.

scr00100.jpg

scr00102.jpg

scr00103.jpg
 
User avatar
myoldfriendsaredjs
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2020
Location: Florida, USA

Image Dump

17 Nov 2020 10:48

My current settings get me ~15 FPS when loading planet landscapes and ~30 when out in space. On the other hand, my visuals aren't as nice as yours.

15-30 FPS is still pretty low compared to what I get with other games on this computer, but I used to use a 6-year-old laptop with 4GB of RAM so my standards are pretty low haha
______

This round of pictures kind of has a story behind it:

Image

I added a moon to my planet and coincidentally, the orbital settings made it to where there was a solar eclipse on the 21st. The moon is big enough to cause a shadow on an entire hemisphere at a time; the planet is a super-terra about 1.5x Earth's radius while the moon is a bit bigger than Earth.

In reality this would probably be classified as a binary planet system but I've always been fascinated by the idea of super-earths with super-moons since I learned about them a few years ago

Image

There was also a lunar eclipse a couple of weeks later (sometime in early December, I can't remember the exact date). There's nothing too interesting about this, but I like how easily you can see the comet tail from another planet being vaporised by the star :)

Image

This is the other planet closer up. Not much to say here lol
it's a really sick twisted version of pearlina

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest