Page 2 of 4

Old site

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 08:47
by Mosfet
Could you share a link that's not working for you?

Old site

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 14:50
by Hornblower
This link doesn't work for me http://en.spaceengine.org/

Old site

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 15:58
by Mosfet
If you open a command prompt in your operating system, and you launch the command:
ping en.spaceengine.org


you should get back the IP address associated with the name. It should be 193.109.246.50.
If it's not the number you get, then you'll have to still wait until DNS are done with their magic.
Even so, it's rather peculiar since the name and the provider didn't change at all... Unless Ucoz did change website's IP while adding ru.spaceengine.org, which could explain this.

Old site

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 19:00
by HarbingerDawn
Mosfet wrote:
you should get back the IP address associated with the name. It should be 193.109.246.50.

That awkward moment when it only gives you an IPv6 address...

Image



Edit: Ok, I forced it to ping IPv4, and it does give 193.109.246.50, but the site itself still shows the Russian timeweb page, and the forum is 404.

Old site

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 19:54
by Hornblower
Perhaps this is an issue worth looking into rather than waiting for it to fix itself?

Old site

Posted: 11 Dec 2016 05:13
by Mosfet
HarbingerDawn wrote:
Source of the post That awkward moment when it only gives you an IPv6 address

LOL
If this behavior it's not browser-dependent, another thing that comes in mind is a possible local dns cache conflict. For this there's the following command:
ipconfig /flushdns

Hornblower wrote:
Source of the post Perhaps this is an issue worth looking into rather than waiting for it to fix itself?

Of course, before doing this though we should exclude possible software caching problems.
Once the russian website provider has done with changes, its work is done. From that moment, other DNS servers, notably those of our own internet providers, must acknowledge the change, and this time varies. If they are big providers they could also use cache-only DNS servers, which could detain old information regarding the website for a period to their discretion, and obviously nobody else has control over this.
Another suggestion is to try and change DNS servers in your network apparatus (or your network card) if possible, by substituting those of your internet provider with others.
Personally I use Google DNS because I've noticed filtering behavior with those of my provider. Another one could be OpenDNS.
Google DNS:
  • Primary 8.8.8.8
  • Secondary 8.8.4.4
OpenDNS:
  • Primary 208.67.222.222
  • Secondary 208.67.220.220

UPDATE:
At the old website there's a request:
Please clear your browser cache. Requests to the old data on this website casues extreme load to the hosting. Thank you.

Old site

Posted: 11 Dec 2016 10:22
by Salvo
I can say I definitely switched to this site now, I've done a thing that I should be doing a while ago:

Image

I can't say I regret the old one, maybe just for the images!

Old site

Posted: 11 Dec 2016 15:54
by Mosfet
There's nothing attached, Salvo

Old site

Posted: 11 Dec 2016 16:09
by Ostarisk
Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post There's nothing attached, Salvo

Someone was impatient.  ;)
You're supposed to wait until the green bar dissapears, when attaching files.

Old site

Posted: 12 Dec 2016 02:14
by SpaceEngineer
Are old sites still didn't work from US? Try also default ucoz hosting urls:
http://en.spaceengine.org = http://spaceengine.ucoz.ru
http://ru.spaceengine.org = http://spaceengine.ucoz.org

Old site

Posted: 12 Dec 2016 03:00
by Salvo
Ostarisk wrote:
Mosfet wrote:
There's nothing attached, Salvo

Someone was impatient.  ;)
You're supposed to wait until the green bar dissapears, when attaching files.

I've done an experiment: I've attached the file, taken the url of the image, posted the image and then deleted the attachment. Still, I could see the image for a while, but now it clearly disappeared.

That attachment box was quite ugly and I was curious to know if data would be deleted or not. Maybe the image was still in the cache of my browser so I could still see it.  8-)

Old site

Posted: 12 Dec 2016 03:17
by HarbingerDawn
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Are old sites still didn't work from US? Try also default ucoz hosting urls:
http://en.spaceengine.org = http://spaceengine.ucoz.ru
http://ru.spaceengine.org = http://spaceengine.ucoz.org

None of those links work for me :/

Old site

Posted: 12 Dec 2016 12:42
by Hornblower
So, is this an issue with Ucoz or something else? 

Old site

Posted: 12 Dec 2016 13:50
by HarbingerDawn
Hornblower wrote:
So, is this an issue with Ucoz or something else? 

It's more likely an issue with the name server.

Old site

Posted: 12 Dec 2016 21:08
by HarbingerDawn
Mosfet, I've tried everything. I've changed DNS, cleared browser caches, restarted browsers, and restarted my PC. Nothing has had any effect. The old site is inaccessible from all browsers unless doing some "trick" (like using Google Translate to view the site; then it works, except for graphical assets). I think something got configured improperly with the name server. I'm not sure what else to think at this point.