Free planetarium

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 10
 
zhar22
Observer
Observer
Posts: 18
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 12:05

Well my question is about use of textures generated by space engine, i want to base (loosely) some art of a texture generated by space engine and wanted to know if i need to ask for permission.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 686
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 12:37

You're free to use it for non-commercial purposes, for details see http://spaceengine.org/manual/license/ and http://spaceengine.org/manual/faq/
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 19:00

I'm a new member and just downloaded the program.  I also have Starry Night Pro Plus 6.4 and 7.5, Stellarium 1.5, Celestia, and a few others.  Although SNPP takes up a lot more room, it looks like Space Engine is by far a more complex program!  I have a question- is there any way to update the list of exoplanets the way that SNPP and Stellarium do?  SNPP 7.5 even downloads new models of the newly discovered exoplanets once a week!  I want to see the 7 newly discovered earthlike exoplanets in this program as well as newly discovered exoplanets without the program needing to be updated to a new version :)

Also, how does one start new threads on  here? I can't find the option for that.
 
seagull
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 19:20

Thanks!
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 884
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 19:24

A-L-E-XI'm afraid there is not a way to automatically update the list of exoplanets, though each new release usually has more of them.  However, you can add systems as mods, and in fact there are a few mods already for the TRAPPIST system that you can check out. :)

http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=190
http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=189

As for starting new threads, it's not something you can do right away, but you'll gain that ability after you post a bit more.

Welcome to the forum!
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 19:51

Thanks for the help!  Right now I am just getting the feel of the program and trying to fix these lag issues :(  The stars I go to also seem to blink in and out, and when I go full screen everything disappears and all I see is black.  Right now, I keep the window setting to 1024x768 and that seems to be okay.  I set Landscape LOD to -2, Minimum Video Memory in the CFG file to 2048 MB, and turned Threaded Optimization to Off.  My nvidia driver version is 340.52.   I have an older system that was great when I built it, but right now it's near the minimum of the required specs.  Due to home renovations, I won't be able to build another system for about a year or so, so I hope we can get rid of these lags in the meantime.  My system is a Core 2 Quad Q600, with 2 GB of RAM, Win XP 32 bit, Geforce 8800 GTS 640 MB 112 SP video card.  Should that be enough to run the simulation without lags?  I also want to keep my video card temp from getting to 100 C lol, and I noticed the lag when the fps zoom up to 300 or so, everything seems to be fine when they are between 10-15 fps, so maybe there is a way to cap the fps there?  Thanks!
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 20:06

Well, I tried to land on a star in fullscreen mode and I got a Visual C runtime error.  I have dual LCD monitors, each is 1280x1024, but it won't work at full screen although it does seem to work at 1024x768 in window mode.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

06 Mar 2017 21:11

I've gotten it to where the program starts quickly (less than 1 min) and there are no errors on start up, but the program always crashes upon exit, I have to use ctrl-alt-delete to get rid of the process and restart it.
 
User avatar
Salvo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 213
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

New Members Introduction Thread

07 Mar 2017 02:41

A-L-E-X, there is a thread for talking about lag/errors and such: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?t=7&start=180
EDIT: Oh, you just did it yourself, nevermind. Just one note: Avoid posting multiple consecutive posts, if no-one answered yet you can click on the white pencil on the top-right corner of the post to edit it. I use that function a lot :)
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

07 Mar 2017 12:21

Thank you! I will do that from now on :) The program seems to be working much better today, I guess I had too many browser tabs open yesterday (over 20!) which was causing it to lag.  Even my GPU is cooler today- 73C instead of 101C after an hour of using this wonderful program!  The only issue I'm still having (not a big deal) is that I can't close out of the program lol.  Trying to click Exit or the X at the top right causes the program to freeze, so I just do Ctrl-Alt-Del to shut down the program or wait for the Windows not responding dialog box to pop up.
 
User avatar
amoebae
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

07 Mar 2017 20:07

Thought I should pop by and say hi.

I had a registration at the old forum, but apart from browsing a bit I only really posted a few screenshots now and again. I'll probably end up doing the same here (I've already posted some), but I do enjoy reading what others are talking about even if I don't contribute much myself.

I'm all about the screenshot eye-candy, and while I have a rudimentary understanding and general interest in spacey stuff (that's the technical term, obv) I mostly enjoy Space Engine for the chilled exploration and taking cool pictures. I use ReShade 3.0 and SRWE, and if anyone wants any tips on how to use either of them just let me know.

Anyway, hi :)
 
User avatar
Jack ONeill
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 10 Mar 2017
Location: Prague, Czech republic, Terra, Solar Sys., Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo SC, Laniakea SC

New Members Introduction Thread

10 Mar 2017 03:39

Hi, folks. I just came back from Argos.
 
User avatar
apenpaap
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

12 Mar 2017 15:03

Hi all, it's been a while since I checked in; in fact I only just realised there's a new site.
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 884
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

New Members Introduction Thread

12 Mar 2017 16:34

Nice to see you again Apenpaap!
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Members Introduction Thread

14 Mar 2017 11:36

Hi I have a question, I have been trying to find some supermassive black holes with the program and realized the top three are not in the program!  Or are they there and I just haven't found them?  Here they are 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_m ... lack_holes

List of most massive black holes

[th]Name[/th]
[th]Solar mass
(Sun = 1)[/th]
[th]Notes[/th]








S5 0014+8140000000000[6][7][8]A 2010 paper suggested that a funnel collimates the radiation around the jet axis, creating an optical illusion of very high brightness, and thus a possible overestimation of the black hole mass.[6]
SDSS J102325.31+514251.033100000000[9]
Black hole of central quasarof H1821+64330000000000[10]Nearest galaxy cluster harboring a quasar in its core.[10]


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S5_0014%2 ... black_hole

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H1821%2B643

Those two aren't there and number 4 is there but the program lists it as a spiral galaxy quasar while wikipedia lists it as an elliptical galaxy quasar? what gives?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/APM_08279%2B5255

also I cannot see the energetic jet emanating from M87.
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests