Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 120
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Making High res. Earth maps.

07 Jan 2018 21:13

How would I go about making ultra high res maps of Earth regardless of how much space they would take up?? I saw the grand canyon mod and know its possible. I just need a few pointers as to were to get started. The steps that I need to take and programs that I need to do so. Once I get it down I will do local requests for people and eventually try to do the whole Earth, although at that res. I imagine it would be a TB lol.. Thanks. 
 
User avatar
stewartIM
Observer
Observer
Posts: 19
Joined: 27 Nov 2016

Making High res. Earth maps.

25 May 2018 15:30

Unfortunately, it looks like it could be more than a terabyte.

Calculations:

Size of Earth Surface textures in SolarSystemHD & SolarSystemUltra:
[list]
[*]Layers 1-4: 129 MB
[*]Layer 5: 297 MB
[*]Layer 6: 944 MB
[*]Layer 7 (Solar System Ultra): 2,790 MB
[/list]
It appears that with each new layer, the size approximately triples. Thus, to get the entire Earth's texture to the precision of the Grand Canyon mod (Layer 11, with bump at Level 12), it could take up anywhere from 200 to 700 GB.

This is the surface layer only - to get the bump map (which increases by about 350% with each step) would probably take an additional 2 TB, and that's not even taking into account the lights and the clouds.
 
User avatar
Andromeda
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 37
Joined: 18 Nov 2016

Making High res. Earth maps.

21 Nov 2018 05:01

Though keep in mind, the Grand Canyon needs to be very detailed. Most parts of the Earth aren't nearly as remarkable, and you could probably get away with using repeated textures or compression.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1127
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Making High res. Earth maps.

21 Nov 2018 18:58

tornadotodd wrote:
How would I go about making ultra high res maps of Earth regardless of how much space they would take up?? I saw the grand canyon mod and know its possible. I just need a few pointers as to were to get started. The steps that I need to take and programs that I need to do so. Once I get it down I will do local requests for people and eventually try to do the whole Earth, although at that res. I imagine it would be a TB lol.. Thanks. 

Where can I get the Grand Canyon mod?  I wish we could have something like that cover the entire surface of the earth!
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1127
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Making High res. Earth maps.

22 Nov 2018 06:56

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post I wish we could have something like that cover the entire surface of the earth

It's possible but would require petabytes of storage.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1127
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Making High res. Earth maps.

22 Nov 2018 15:01

Yes and I haven't even downloaded the HD or ultra textures because I hardly spend any time exploring the solar system, Doc.  In your opinion do you think it's worth it?  What about this new Gaia add-on?  I'm hesitating because if we don't know the actual classification of the stars then what we see in the add-on could be all wrong.
 
vlad01
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 251
Joined: 02 May 2018

Making High res. Earth maps.

22 Nov 2018 16:06

If there was a ultra HD solar system pack with over a TB I still would download it.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1127
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Making High res. Earth maps.

23 Nov 2018 22:49

Well the max HD I have right now in my system is a 1 TB mech HD (it has SE on it) along with a 500 GB NVME SSD.  I also have an extra 2 TB HD but its 5400 RPM and a 2 TB external HD.  I haven't used those yet.  Do external HD have a high failure rate?
 
vlad01
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 251
Joined: 02 May 2018

Making High res. Earth maps.

24 Nov 2018 19:19

Depends on brand, some are a yes to that.

Anyway 4-6TB is almost the norm how and drives are really cheap, the mechanical ones. Even 1TB SSDs are pretty cheap now and dropping fast as there is a over supply of NAND flash.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1127
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Making High res. Earth maps.

24 Nov 2018 23:00

Yes SSD are becoming cheaper than RAM!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest