Page 1 of 1

My SE settings

Posted: 24 May 2017 23:28
by A-L-E-X
I set the resolution to 800x600 and turned sounds off (by setting volume to 0).  All other settings are at default besides Graphics settings which are as follows
Screenshot - 5_20_2017 , 2_05_35 AM.jpg

My SE settings

Posted: 24 May 2017 23:33
by A-L-E-X
Anistropy- 16, since AF does not really impact the graphics card

Antialiasing 2x, I tried 4x but menus became slow

FXAA, Dithering both set to on

Aurora and Ship Warp quality set to high

Black Hole quality low since higher levels caused problems with scrolling (high CPU impact.)

LOD 0.0 because higher LOD made it take a long time to load textures

Loading speed 30, higher load speed caused scrolling delays, lower load speed caused an excessive amount of time to load dense star areas like the center of the galaxy

everything else kept at default

My SE settings

Posted: 14 May 2019 05:18
by HarbingerDawn
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post lower load speed caused an excessive amount of time to load dense star areas like the center of the galaxy

Loading speed has nothing to do with loading stars, it only affects landscapes (and I think in 0.980 there is a bug which makes it have no effect at all).

My SE settings

Posted: 14 May 2019 13:11
by A-L-E-X
HarbingerDawn wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post lower load speed caused an excessive amount of time to load dense star areas like the center of the galaxy

Loading speed has nothing to do with loading stars, it only affects landscapes (and I think in 0.980 there is a bug which makes it have no effect at all).

HD I am seeing a bug - or maybe this has to do with an add-on I need to remove?   If I visit a large number of planets in a short time (like 5 planets in 30 min) the landscape loading indicator keeps running (the circular thing in the upper right) and if I click on the solar system diagram, the member planets of that system keep blinking.  Sometimes the planetary landscapes load slowly and while they are loading I can see through them.  Eventually, if I visit enough planets, the program crashes and I have to reload the program.  Upon reloading, the same issues start happening again and I have to do an entire reboot to get them to stop.  The other thing besides loading planet landscapes which causes this is if I visit a black hole and then go to a planet.  What do you think is going on and how can I fix this issue?

My SE settings

Posted: 14 May 2019 19:05
by HarbingerDawn
I think those sound like typical SE issues and I doubt you can do anything about it.

My SE settings

Posted: 15 May 2019 02:19
by vlad01
Yeah I get the same problem too, followed often by a crash.

I'm used to having to restart SE often.

My SE settings

Posted: 05 Jul 2019 00:28
by Palmer36
And even restarting SE dont work...Hopefully someone will post a solution here 

My SE settings

Posted: 05 Jul 2019 00:59
by A-L-E-X
HarbingerDawn wrote:
I think those sound like typical SE issues and I doubt you can do anything about it.

SE 0990 runs MUCH better, even with the GAIA 5 million star add on.  I dont get any of the issues that I had with the earlier version, even when using the ultra preset, which is what I am using!  I boosted saturation, contrast and sharpness to max and the colors and terrain really pops!
Question, I have a 6 GB video card, what happens when the video memory is maxed out?  Mine often is but there is still no lag.  Also, maxing out video memory doesn't lessen the life of a video card does it?  Temps still remain around 60C and usage is around 35%

My SE settings

Posted: 05 Jul 2019 03:54
by vlad01
I thought I posted back the solution but I obviously didn't.

The above issues of the terrain loading forever and eventually crashing is a problem with texture compression, Turing it off immediately fixed the problem for me.

My SE settings

Posted: 06 Jul 2019 23:15
by A-L-E-X
ah okay how did you turn it off?  I am using 0990 now and the ultra preset and everything loads quickly for me even with all the HD paks installed.