Page 3 of 9

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 02:52
by SpaceEngineer
Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post Yes, exactly. I didn't noticed before because of my familiarity with program commands, but in a standard italian keyboard that's the key. http://kbd-intl.narod.ru/english/layouts
Same thing with [ and ] keys for magnitude limit (in italian keyboards they are available only as combinations with an "Alt Gr" key), wich in ita keyboard became ' and ì    . I changed that accordingly in tutorials.

But SE expects entering key codes of ` [ ] symbols. Does this really replaced with à ' ì by default, or you changed key bindings in settings?

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 02:53
by SpaceEngineer
Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post Edit:
I forgot to say that I'm playing with Waypoints with unicode fonts with this surface labels addon I'm preparing, it's using proper utf-8 characters in labels. It adds surface labels to known objects of solar system, like moon craters and such. Probably this is related.

Wow, this is amazing! I should start working on a built-in feature for this. You made half a work, typed all coordinates!
Names of labels must be in English, they will be translated using loc-gui.cfg. You can simply enclose them into [LOC] [/LOC] tag for now.

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 02:55
by SpaceEngineer
Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post As for missing glyphs, I see several warnings in se.log:
and sun, moon, jupiter etc symbols that I believe are linked to BBCodes, like greek letters in stars. So you see something like
" Orionis / Betelgeuse" in GUI.


Yes, I know, this is because that build uses old way to handle Greek letters and astronomical characters. They are mapped to a codes which are not correct letter codes in UTF-8, this is why font renderer can't find glyphs for them.

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 03:29
by SpaceEngineer
Few more lines added. I forgot to translate some strings from the editor(s).

"Can't save nebula model script. See log for details."
"Please enter new preset name, and choose a script file to which you want to save this preset"
"Cannot add new preset: maximum number is reached"

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 07:36
by Mosfet
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post But SE expects entering key codes of ` [ ] symbols. Does this really replaced with à ' ì by default, or you changed key bindings in settings?

I didn't change key bindings, SpaceEngine is using those keys by default. And the console key is ò while we're at it, we don't have a tilde key :) , it was always like this since before 0980. I mentioned these differences once, maybe in old forums, I thought since then that physical addresses of those keys were logically bound at operating system level, then interpreted differently according keyboard layouts. Since Italian doesn't use ~ or ` at all as you can see in standard layout linked before, that physical key is used by another logical character I guess.

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post You made half a work, typed all coordinates!

It is time consuming, but there are .csv files among others ;)

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 08:33
by JackDole
On a German keyboard, these key ' ist replaced by Ä, and this key ~ by Ö!
There are other keys that are assigned differently on a German keyboard.
For example, the \ matches this key ^ and the < and > keys are replaced by , and .!

I took that into account in my translation of the tutorials.
(And it has always been like that.)

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 11:09
by SpaceEngineer
But in English, keyboard still enters ~ by pressing that key? In Russian it is also replaced with Ё, but ~ is a character commonly used in programming, so there must be a way to enter it. Russian keyboard can be switched to default English layout by a special combination. I don't know about other European languages, but in Russia using computer without support of English keys is almost impossible.

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 11:11
by SpaceEngineer
New build 0.990.37.1675 is live, in the test and test-unicode branches. No significant changes, just continuation of Unicode implementation.

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 12:36
by JackDole
The language is not important. The keyboard layout is what makes the difference.
On a German keyboard with umlauts, the keys have slightly different codes than on an English keyboard.
(And apparently as well on an Italian keyboard.)
Of course I have a ~! But I have to press the right Alt key and the [*+~] key.

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 16:22
by Mosfet
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post But in English, keyboard still enters ~ by pressing that key?

In Windows operating systems, we can switch keyboard layout from Ita to Eng by pressing [Alt] + [Shift], then  [Shift] + [\] which is the same key where tilde is in english layout, so it makes sense. Or we could press [Alt] + 126 on keypad. But, wait for it, if I switch to english layout and I press [Shift] + [\] while I'm using SpaceEngine, the console window doesn't open. It does when I hit [\]... It's a fact that a lot of italian coders simply use english keyboards, or they know by heart which keys have to hit to have those characters. A veritable hell, we should speak only one language.

Localizations

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 23:42
by Mr. Abner
Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post... we should speak only one language.

But of course, and therein lies the problem. I vote for Earthican. ;)

Localizations

Posted: 22 Jul 2019 13:11
by SpaceEngineer
What punctuation marks are used in different languages, after which carrying to a new line is allowed?

,.;:!? (These used in Russian)
‒ (Hyphen)
- – — (various dash)
。,、:;?!(Chinese punctuation marks with embedded space)

Localizations

Posted: 22 Jul 2019 22:24
by JackDole
German translation file for version 0.990.37.1680 beta.
ger-gui.cfg
(183.63 KiB) Downloaded 61 times

Localizations

Posted: 23 Jul 2019 09:52
by tRetro-Visor
A note to Swedish and Spanish translators:
Image
Image
As seen here, the text is too long and it overextends the given values on the left info tab of the Oceans
The string has to be shortened

Localizations

Posted: 23 Jul 2019 12:03
by SpaceEngineer
I shortened "Composición de los mares" to "Compos. de los mares" (and for consistency, changed previous line "Composición atmo." to "Compos. atmosferica"). Is this correct?
I have no idea how to fix Swedish.