Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 7
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 02:52

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post Yes, exactly. I didn't noticed before because of my familiarity with program commands, but in a standard italian keyboard that's the key. http://kbd-intl.narod.ru/english/layouts
Same thing with [ and ] keys for magnitude limit (in italian keyboards they are available only as combinations with an "Alt Gr" key), wich in ita keyboard became ' and ì    . I changed that accordingly in tutorials.

But SE expects entering key codes of ` [ ] symbols. Does this really replaced with à ' ì by default, or you changed key bindings in settings?
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 02:53

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post Edit:
I forgot to say that I'm playing with Waypoints with unicode fonts with this surface labels addon I'm preparing, it's using proper utf-8 characters in labels. It adds surface labels to known objects of solar system, like moon craters and such. Probably this is related.

Wow, this is amazing! I should start working on a built-in feature for this. You made half a work, typed all coordinates!
Names of labels must be in English, they will be translated using loc-gui.cfg. You can simply enclose them into [LOC] [/LOC] tag for now.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 02:55

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post As for missing glyphs, I see several warnings in se.log:
and sun, moon, jupiter etc symbols that I believe are linked to BBCodes, like greek letters in stars. So you see something like
" Orionis / Betelgeuse" in GUI.


Yes, I know, this is because that build uses old way to handle Greek letters and astronomical characters. They are mapped to a codes which are not correct letter codes in UTF-8, this is why font renderer can't find glyphs for them.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 03:29

Few more lines added. I forgot to translate some strings from the editor(s).

"Can't save nebula model script. See log for details."
"Please enter new preset name, and choose a script file to which you want to save this preset"
"Cannot add new preset: maximum number is reached"
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1391
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 07:36

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post But SE expects entering key codes of ` [ ] symbols. Does this really replaced with à ' ì by default, or you changed key bindings in settings?

I didn't change key bindings, SpaceEngine is using those keys by default. And the console key is ò while we're at it, we don't have a tilde key :) , it was always like this since before 0980. I mentioned these differences once, maybe in old forums, I thought since then that physical addresses of those keys were logically bound at operating system level, then interpreted differently according keyboard layouts. Since Italian doesn't use ~ or ` at all as you can see in standard layout linked before, that physical key is used by another logical character I guess.

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post You made half a work, typed all coordinates!

It is time consuming, but there are .csv files among others ;)
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1587
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 08:33

On a German keyboard, these key ' ist replaced by Ä, and this key ~ by Ö!
There are other keys that are assigned differently on a German keyboard.
For example, the \ matches this key ^ and the < and > keys are replaced by , and .!

I took that into account in my translation of the tutorials.
(And it has always been like that.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 11:09

But in English, keyboard still enters ~ by pressing that key? In Russian it is also replaced with Ё, but ~ is a character commonly used in programming, so there must be a way to enter it. Russian keyboard can be switched to default English layout by a special combination. I don't know about other European languages, but in Russia using computer without support of English keys is almost impossible.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 11:11

New build 0.990.37.1675 is live, in the test and test-unicode branches. No significant changes, just continuation of Unicode implementation.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1587
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 12:36

The language is not important. The keyboard layout is what makes the difference.
On a German keyboard with umlauts, the keys have slightly different codes than on an English keyboard.
(And apparently as well on an Italian keyboard.)
Of course I have a ~! But I have to press the right Alt key and the [*+~] key.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1391
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 16:22

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post But in English, keyboard still enters ~ by pressing that key?

In Windows operating systems, we can switch keyboard layout from Ita to Eng by pressing [Alt] + [Shift], then  [Shift] + [\] which is the same key where tilde is in english layout, so it makes sense. Or we could press [Alt] + 126 on keypad. But, wait for it, if I switch to english layout and I press [Shift] + [\] while I'm using SpaceEngine, the console window doesn't open. It does when I hit [\]... It's a fact that a lot of italian coders simply use english keyboards, or they know by heart which keys have to hit to have those characters. A veritable hell, we should speak only one language.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Mr. Abner
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 343
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Localizations

19 Jul 2019 23:42

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post... we should speak only one language.

But of course, and therein lies the problem. I vote for Earthican. ;)
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

22 Jul 2019 13:11

What punctuation marks are used in different languages, after which carrying to a new line is allowed?

,.;:!? (These used in Russian)
‒ (Hyphen)
- – — (various dash)
。,、:;?!(Chinese punctuation marks with embedded space)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1587
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Localizations

22 Jul 2019 22:24

German translation file for version 0.990.37.1680 beta.
ger-gui.cfg
(183.63 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
tRetro-Visor
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 233
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Chile
Contact:

Localizations

23 Jul 2019 09:52

A note to Swedish and Spanish translators:
Image
Image
As seen here, the text is too long and it overextends the given values on the left info tab of the Oceans
The string has to be shortened
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known."
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Localizations

23 Jul 2019 12:03

I shortened "Composición de los mares" to "Compos. de los mares" (and for consistency, changed previous line "Composición atmo." to "Compos. atmosferica"). Is this correct?
I have no idea how to fix Swedish.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: default0.0player and 1 guest