Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 621
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

General 0.990 Discussion

11 Jun 2019 13:13

Messier wrote:
Source of the post What will Pro actually do aside from licensing?

Everything it does is listed on its store page.
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1513
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General 0.990 Discussion

11 Jun 2019 14:34

HarbingerDawn wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post But you do not need the Steam client on the computer you are purchasing it from, you just need the username/password or email address to use on the game page you linked to earlier correct?

Yes

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post And once done, then it can be used on the computer on which the Steam client is located!

Yes, but you need an internet connection to download it, in which case you might as well buy it from there to begin with.

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Any idea at what time the game will be able to be purchased and downloaded tomorrow?

Aiming for 9am UTC, but it might vary from that.

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post you mentioned that a price had been set for the Pro version?  What will its price be and will it be available on the 11th?

It will be available at launch for $59.99 (in addition to the purchase price for the base version, as Pro is an addon package, not a standalone version).

Thanks, so the Pro version will be approx $80 US total (Standard+Pro)?
Are both these licenses permanent (in other words all new versions after the original license is bought will be free, whether one buys the Standard or Pro version?)

Also one other question, I am trying to get SE as a gift for others, but when I go to the appropriate link, it wont let me add the people to send it to?  I am using Chrome- is anyone else having the same problem when trying to add the name of friends to gift it to?

https://store.steampowered.com/checkout/?purchasetype=gift
 
User avatar
ProximaCentauriB
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 37
Joined: 18 Feb 2017

0.99

11 Jun 2019 19:17

Congratulations on a job well done! Everything about this new version is just so beautiful. The attention to detail is exquisite. I'll look forward to exploring new planets as they're added via Steam. 
se 99 lovely cliffs.jpg
cliffs
Space, the final frontier...
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz | GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 8 GB
 
User avatar
Mouthwash
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 172
Joined: 22 May 2017

General 0.990 Discussion

12 Jun 2019 04:24

I zoomed in on the planet you start by and found that the shore consists of right angles. Not a great first impression. I do love the new terrain (although the "pebbles" terrain looks heavily tessellated from a distance).

It's too soon to form an overall impression, though.
 
User avatar
Heaven's Disciples
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Dec 2017

General 0.990 Discussion

13 Jun 2019 03:37

The Steam release has an incredible amount of improvements from the beta version.
SpaceEngine is truly amazing software. I do have a few questions, though.

Randomize X, Y, Z

When I added the files for my custom planetary system, all of the terrain maps look very different from the beta version. Did the algorithm for creating maps using the Randomize X, Y, Z change? If so, is there a way for me to alter the numbers to get my previous terrain map back? Will the terrain maps change with each new update?

Biome and Palette Terrain Weight vs Surface SurfStyle

Also, is there a relationship between the biome and palette terrain Weight value and a planet's Surface SurfStyle? I was having trouble assigning custom planets to the CFG files (e.g. custom_terra_wet_green.cfg). I created a unique decimal for the Weight to differentiate it from the base CFG files. However, the CFG's files Weight value is not the same value as the planet's Surface SurfStyle. I had to use the Planet Editor's SurfStyle slider to view where each CFG starts and stops for each CFG file. This number seems to change as I create new custom CFG files, however. Is there a simpler way to directly match a custom planet to a CFG file?

Exporting Heightmaps From Selected Areas

Is there a way to select a specific area on a planet or moon to export the heightmap? I would like to use the heightmap of specific local areas in another software to create scenes for illustrations, such as cities or a much smaller space. If not, are there future plans to add this feature?

SpaceEngine 3rd Party Plugins API

Are there future plans to create an API to allow developers to create plugins that can run directly on SpaceEngine? For example, if someone had an idea of creating a custom planetary system generator.
 
User avatar
default0.0player
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 28
Joined: 27 May 2019

General 0.990 Discussion

14 Jun 2019 06:14

For those who don't know 0.990 no longer has "auto exposure" "real sun/planet brightness"
Here's what 0.990 did in 0.980
SpaceEngine (1920x1080) 2019_6_14 21_04_06.png
SpaceEngine (1920x1080) 2019_6_14 21_03_51.png
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1513
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General 0.990 Discussion

14 Jun 2019 15:59

Yay I finally bought it!  I just got the Standard version for now because I dont make videos and only have a 6 GB graphics card so not sure I will even be able to use the higher resolutions possible with the Pro version.  Can I get the Pro add-on for $60 at a later time if I feel I need it?  Also what do I do now- I see a green button for "remote install"- I'm on the computer I bought the program from and will install it on, should I press the green button on the web page?  I already have the Steam app installed.  Or should I click on the blue button at the bottom, where it says "Install your new games now?"

THANK YOU FOR YOUR PURCHASE!

[size=100]An email confirmation has been sent to you.

Any digital items in this order are now registered to your account on Steam. To access your items, simply visit your library in Steam whenever you're ready.


[color=#ffffff]WANT TO REMOTELY INSTALL YOUR NEW GAMES?

We see you're currently logged into the Steam desktop app. Would you like to remotely install your games onto this machine?
[/size][/color]

[size=100][color=#ffffff][size=200][font=Motiva Sans, sans-serif]Got Steam?
[/size][/font][/size][/color]
You'll need the Steam application to access your new products.
 
nasigoreng
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Jun 2019

General 0.990 Discussion

15 Jun 2019 00:24

Hey everyone
My apologies if I am posting wrong.
Is SLI function available in the 0.990 version of space engine?
When I checked Vladimirs web site in the past whilst I was using the previous free version it stated that SLI had been implemented.
Also someone confirmed with me on this forum that it would be.
I have bought the steam version and it does not seem to function or show any settings that it is available and I know for certain that my two identical 650 TI boost are running sli fine in benchmark.

Any help on this issue would be great otherwise space engine and this blasted windows machine will just have to be mothballled and collect dust again for a while until a better option to enjoy this software presents itself.
Cheers all and thanks again.
 
GP300
Observer
Observer
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Nov 2017

General 0.990 Discussion

15 Jun 2019 12:57

I would love to have the option have a mode with "auto exposure" = ON and "real sun/planet brightness" = OFF, or enabling the option to set "real sun/planet brightness" = ON or OFF in the cfg-file ny adding the commands there without having to mess up the nice gui with additional checkboxes. Maybe it's hard to add that option to 0.990 due to it being so different internally compared to 0.980? Programming isn't my strong side.
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 153
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

General 0.990 Discussion

15 Jun 2019 18:40

Is applying geological strata to volcanoes a new behavior in 0.990? I don't recall ever seeing them in 0.980, and we really shouldn't expect to see horizontal strata on volcanoes like this:
Image
Image

I've always wished Space Engine could do more to change up the appearance of geological strata. They're always orange, they're always horizontal, and they appear on every terra, ice world and titan in the universe.
Image
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Julian and 1 guest