Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 97
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1845
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

10 Feb 2017 02:48

Well, first of all you could of course have different object commands. For example:
SelectRandomObject(n)
SelectRandomGalaxy(n)
SelectRandomStar(n)
SelectRandomPlanet(n

(n) would be the distance radius in Parsec, (0) the distance would not matter.

Of course, I do not know how difficult it is, but SelectRandomPlanet(0) would obviously have to supply a planet that exists.

A few additional commands could not hurt either.
For example
SelectRandomPlanet(0)
Goto (Time 10)
Wait 10
Rotate (10,360)
Wait 10

'Rotate(10,360)' rotates the planet 360 degrees within 10 seconds.

But I do not insist! :)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Fireinthehole
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 82
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Lysekil, Sweden

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

10 Feb 2017 10:47

Nice to see great progress! I see you work a lot on rings. Will you implement ringshine for this next version? :)
 
User avatar
The_Blazer
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

10 Feb 2017 16:18

[size=100]You can run [/size][size=100]*.se[/size][size=100] file from SpaceEngine by opening console ([~] key by default) and typing this command:[/size]

Wouldn't it be better to have some GUI buttons for this?
Also, it would be pretty cool if you could just click on a .se file and it would automatically start Space Engine and load itself in.
Born too early to explore space... but just in time for Space Engine!
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 286
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

10 Feb 2017 16:37

Another way to run *.se files is passing them to SpaceEngine’s executable through command line argument. The best way to do that is associate *.se extension with SpaceEngine.exe in your system. In that case double-clicking on the file will launch SpaceEngine and order it to execute the scenario script. If SpaceEngine is already running, this running instance will execute the script.
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
phiseb5
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Feb 2017 01:55

Just a short post, congratulations on the work so far on SE.
Looking forward to the next release (VR could be fantastic)
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 407
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Feb 2017 03:15

With the new script (.se), we could make a scenario or isn't possible for this moment (for 0.9.8.1) ?
Because I see trigger, waypoint, variables,...
► Information
 
User avatar
ettore_bilbo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 192
Joined: 11 Nov 2016
Location: Italy

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Feb 2017 15:38

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post I am working on am uncontrollable ships. Some of you can remember them in some very old version. This feature makes possible making of a real spacecraft such as ISS and Hubble, which will always stay on a pre-defined orbit. This is needed for splitting SE in two modes: planetarium and single player. For single player mode (where user can control ships), this can be useful to create some NPC ships or space stations. Player will have ability to dock with a NPC ship/station.

This is something I've been waiting for a long time!!! wonderfull :-D
do you think to implement it in 0.981 or later?
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1089
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

18 Feb 2017 02:11

Quarior wrote:
Source of the post With the new script (.se), we could make a scenario or isn't possible for this moment (for 0.9.8.1) ?
Because I see trigger, waypoint, variables,...

It is in 0.981
ettore_bilbo wrote:
Source of the post do you think to implement it in 0.981 or later?

And this is too in 0.981
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 264
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

18 Feb 2017 08:33

Quadro wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
I am working on am uncontrollable ships. Some of you can remember them in some very old version. This feature makes possible making of a real spacecraft such as ISS and Hubble, which will always stay on a pre-defined orbit. This is needed for splitting SE in two modes: planetarium and single player. For single player mode (where user can control ships), this can be useful to create some NPC ships or space stations. Player will have ability to dock with a NPC ship/station.

Huh. You make it sound hard to implement.
Aren't orbits predefined right now for space ships?

Right now if you put a ship in orbit around a planet and accelerate time, this ship will either fall on planet or eject into infinity especially under very high time factors and especially if you select to control another ship or focus on another stellar object.
This is great feature Space Engineer and much anticipated, Thank You!
 
User avatar
ettore_bilbo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 192
Joined: 11 Nov 2016
Location: Italy

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

18 Feb 2017 12:40

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post And this is too in 0.981

great!!!
if I may ask, how will it works? with some kind of scripted catalogs to write manually or with an in-game system?
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1089
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Feb 2017 05:45

ettore_bilbo wrote:
Source of the post if I may ask, how will it works? with some kind of scripted catalogs to write manually or with an in-game system?

Catalogs, like all static objects (planets, moons etc).
A small improvement - ability to change length of the orbit trails:
scr00253.jpg

scr00254.jpg
 
StefanPWinc
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Feb 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Feb 2017 09:07

SpaceEngineer wrote:
A small improvement - ability to change length of the orbit trails:

Small maybe, but potentially very helpful! This can make it easier to see where the objects are, and make the orbits less cluttered, nice work! :)
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Feb 2017 09:30

Very nice idea, SpaceEngineer. Thanks for implementing it :)
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
NathanKerbonaut
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 129
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Feb 2017 10:11

It's little things like these that have me so excited for the next release. :D
I like cute pokemon and space games.
My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=173
Profile pic source: https://goo.gl/JdZX5v
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1089
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

22 Feb 2017 09:51

Added a displaying of an orbital resonance with neighbouring planets/moons:

scr00348.jpg


scr00349.jpg
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 97

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest