Free planetarium

 
User avatar
ettore_bilbo
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 11 Nov 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

11 Jun 2017 10:24

Julian wrote:
Source of the post Would it be hard to implement making scripted spacecraft pilotable? It seems like a good feature to have.

I think scripted object will be almost only stations and buildings on the ground, or satellites. Something you don't need to move, but just keep in the same place or orbit every time. I don't see any reason for making scripted spacecraft and then make them pilotable...
 
User avatar
The_Blazer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

13 Jun 2017 07:34

ettore_bilbo wrote:
Source of the post I don't see any reason for making scripted spacecraft and then make them pilotable...

Gameplay? Things like the scenarios in Kerbal Space Program. Stop this ship from crashing into the planet; rendezvous with the Explorer in this shuttle from this planet; reach this station from this moon, etc.
Born too early to explore space... but just in time for Space Engine!
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
Explorer
Posts: 161
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

13 Jun 2017 11:33

The_Blazer wrote:
ettore_bilbo wrote:
Source of the post I don't see any reason for making scripted spacecraft and then make them pilotable...

Gameplay? Things like the scenarios in Kerbal Space Program. Stop this ship from crashing into the planet; rendezvous with the Explorer in this shuttle from this planet; reach this station from this moon, etc.

That can be done without making the static spacecraft pilotable. Just spawn a spacecraft at position x, at time y, with velocity vector z, and give the user control of it. There's your scenario. I think there's a misunderstanding here about what exactly the "scripted spacecraft" are. They're spacecraft models, but act like planets and moons. They're on static Keplerian orbits with regular planetary rotation parameters and cannot be controlled. Much like the spacecraft in Celestia.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 970 4096 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
ettore_bilbo
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 11 Nov 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

13 Jun 2017 14:10

The_Blazer wrote:
Source of the post Gameplay? Things like the scenarios in Kerbal Space Program. Stop this ship from crashing into the planet; rendezvous with the Explorer in this shuttle from this planet; reach this station from this moon, etc.

ahhh, you mean scripting more like a mission creator... this is an advanced gameplay, don't think SpaceEngineer has time to spent on this at this point of development.
anyway, as HarbingerDawn said you can spawn a pilotable ship in place you want and do your mission :-D
 
ephu
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 05 Apr 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

14 Jun 2017 10:08

so I'm watching videos by "HarbingerDawn" about this version, just want to say thanks to developer and Harbinger. This version looks really good. I love the auto exposure with blackholes!        
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

18 Jun 2017 03:48

Sorry for delaying VR, but I was forced to shift priorities. VR is a tiny part of "SE market", I spent on it too much time and it still require a lot of work. But 0.981 will have almost full VR support (no native Oculus Touch, because I don't have them).
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
Explorer
Posts: 161
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

22 Jun 2017 06:28

I made a note in the OP about what posts are and are not allowed in this thread. I will begin deleting all off-topic posts - retroactively and effective immediately. If things get out of hand, if people ignore the OP, if people start spamming everywhere about why their posts keep disappearing, this thread will be locked and only SE Team members will be able to post here. I really don't want to do that, so everyone please behave.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 970 4096 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Nantes
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 May 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

22 Jun 2017 21:08

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Sorry for delaying VR, but I was forced to shift priorities. VR is a tiny part of "SE market", I spent on it too much time and it still require a lot of work. But 0.981 will have almost full VR support (no native Oculus Touch, because I don't have them).

As an owner of the Rift who was eagerly waiting for this update, I'm sad to read that, but I perfectly understand the reasons.
Lots of games who are not Oculus-native are still able to support them due to SteamVR... What if you launched SE on Steam in order to benefit from that?
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 590
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

22 Jun 2017 23:30

Nantes, no native support but Oculus touch will work through SteamVR. When beta testing started I specifically gathered people who have Oculus touch to test it out and so far it seems to work fairly well through SteamVR.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
Nantes
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 May 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

23 Jun 2017 05:33

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Nantes, no native support but Oculus touch will work through SteamVR.  When beta testing started I specifically gathered people who have Oculus touch to test it out and so far it seems to work fairly well through SteamVR.

Yes, but will SteamVR work even with games that are not on Steam? I'll have to launch it as a non-Steam game and it will work? :D
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

23 Jun 2017 06:26

Nantes wrote:
Source of the post Yes, but will SteamVR work even with games that are not on Steam? I'll have to launch it as a non-Steam game and it will work?

Yes. SE is a non-Steam game yet.
 
User avatar
11ryanc
Observer
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Dec 2016
Location: United States

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

23 Jun 2017 13:57

So to clarify. Will the final release of SE 0.9.8.1 require Steam client, or run standalone just like all the previous versions?
Intel Core i7 4790k, MSI Z97 PC Mate, EVGA GTX 950, 16 GB DDR3
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 590
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

23 Jun 2017 14:10

11ryanc wrote:
Source of the post Will the final release of SE 0.9.8.1 require Steam client, or run standalone just like all the previous versions?

Standalone, even the Steam version currently works outside of Steam but this may change.  If you want to run it in VR though, it will require Steam.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests