Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 261
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 02:15

Beautiful update! Great work as always! :)
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 500
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 03:45

gamadh wrote:
Source of the post Vladimir, This planet in the image has the colors changed in the editor or it actually has these colors originally?

Colors of planets are random mess now because of multiple changes in the code. I didn't start updating the texture/palette generation.
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 09:40

This is really great.

I have a request, though. From what you say, all atmospheric code is based on calculations of equilibrium conditions, and if I'm not mistaken those supercede whatever one tries to type in catalog definitions. Now, I'd find extremely useful to be able to input non-equilibrium data in catalogs for planets under terraforming (be it active, with some means of pumping certaing gases into the atmosphere, or passive, as things revert slowly back to the original equilibrium). Could this be done? Maybe by means of a flag (terraforming=true, f.i.) in the catalogs themselves?
My addons are to be found at JCandeias' Ships

Current count: 2
 
Typbürste
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 24 May 2017
Location: Berlin

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 09:56

SpaceEngineer, this is just great! My most wanted feature, finally reworked Atmospheric Compositions and even a new filter! Yayyyy :D
Are you sure you can still call that 0.9.8.1? With all this new great features 0.9.9.0 would fit better!^^
I'm dying to play it myself! :) Keep up the excellent work!
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 267
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 10:01

Typbürste wrote:
Source of the post
Are you sure you can still call that 0.9.8.1? With all this new great features 0.9.9.0 would fit better!^^

hehehe ;)
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
Nahor
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 10:39

ARBB wrote:
Source of the post Nah, we don't care about the time it takes

Who are you to talk for others? (or are you royalty?)
Personally, I don't want it to take too long. I certainly don't want to wait 10 years or I would just lose interest. As it is, I find that it has already been too long, especially when others have been posting pictures of the new features for quite a while. I feel left out.
Not that I want to get a new update every week either, that would be annoying (*ahem*phone's app store*ahem*).
I think 3 to 6 month would be ideal. Long enough to develop at least one meaningful feature in each release. Not too long to lose interest or feel left out. And maybe quicker releases for annoying bug fixes (like the inability to explore randomly because the app crashes after selecting about ~30 stars)
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 500
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 11:35

Nahor wrote:
Source of the post (like the inability to explore randomly because the app crashes after selecting about ~30 stars)

Hm, 30 is the exact size of the planetary systems cache. It's strange what SE crashes while releasing it. Do you have some ships spawned in the game?
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 500
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 11:38

JCandeias wrote:
Source of the post This is really great.

I have a request, though. From what you say, all atmospheric code is based on calculations of equilibrium conditions, and if I'm not mistaken those supercede whatever one tries to type in catalog definitions. Now, I'd find extremely useful to be able to input non-equilibrium data in catalogs for planets under terraforming (be it active, with some means of pumping certaing gases into the atmosphere, or passive, as things revert slowly back to the original equilibrium). Could this be done? Maybe by means of a flag (terraforming=true, f.i.) in the catalogs themselves?

You have to enter something like total mass if oxygen / nitrogen / etc, and ask engine to generate other gases procedurally (or generate everything and replace specific gases with the provided amounts). But would it be useful? You have to restart SE in order to see apply changes made in the script. Maybe in future, when planet editor will be a real game tool, such function could be useful.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 500
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 12:04

I hope everyone knows that if you hover the mouse cursor over the "Filter" cells in the star browser table, you will see a hint with a list of all planets/moons in the system which matches the filter? This function was added many years ago. See the small yellow box near the cursor:

scr00825.jpg


I added a new function - clicking the table cell in the "Filter" column selects the first detected planet/moon in that small list; second click selects the second one and so on. Open the Wiki, and you will be able to quickly inspect all detected planets. The same function works for the "Life" column.
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 12:38

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post You have to enter something like total mass if oxygen / nitrogen / etc, and ask engine to generate other gases procedurally (or generate everything and replace specific gases with the provided amounts). But would it be useful? You have to restart SE in order to see apply changes made in the script. Maybe in future, when planet editor will be a real game tool, such function could be useful.

I think it would be useful, since you're now using atmospheric data to influence the distribution of fluids and ices around the planets, thus impacting the landscapes (and even the possibility of life). It was very needed, and it's a very welcome development, but those of us using the engine creatively would probably like to have a little more control over the environmental conditions in our planets, even if that means postulating that some kind of terraforming (or environmental alteration) machinery is in place. My idea was to have a flag that could be used in the catalogs themselves to allow for environmental conditions that would otherwise be deemed impossible by the engine and therefore replaced by the result of internal algorythms.

Unfortunately I'm way too busy at the time to make tests and calculations and give examples. And will remain so for at least one month.
My addons are to be found at JCandeias' Ships

Current count: 2
 
User avatar
Sion
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 23
Joined: 04 Nov 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 13:02

I honestly just say call it 9.9.0. I mean, there is so many new features coming to the game!!
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 16:36

N0B0DY wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Recent weeks I had work on a planetary chemistry. It is updated atmosphere composition code - I should call it the planetary chemical composition code now. Because it computes not only the atmosphere, but the seas/oceans and frozen ices. It performs iteration of the global climate conditions on the planet, computes equilibrium amount of gaseous, liquid and frozen substances on the surface. So now oceans also have the chemical composition: you can find exotic cases like a terra with carbon dioxide or ammonia seas, or a frigid aquaria with a neon seas. This is where the new planet classification shines: the old classification scheme would have a problems to classify such a planets.

I also had upgrade the star browser (for debug purpose, as usual - I needed a tool to find a planet with a specific conditions). Now it uses the new planet classification (3 classes are selectable - temperature, volatiles and bulk class). I also added a simple filters to find planets with a specific composition of an atmosphere and hydrosphere (not sure how to call it in general - "liquosphere"?).

scr00819.jpg

I will write a blog post about this features later on.

Vladimir call it "Fluidsphere". The term "fluid" can be collectively used for both gases and liquids:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluid.
Now that I read more carefully about the properties of fluids maybe fluid is not scientifically accurate to describe the atmosphere and hydrosphere. Because fluid can be very viscous solid and not necessarily gas. Gases can be compressed but liquids can not. I think liquo-sphere is a good suggestion you made. As always I succumb to your superior knowledge and scientific talents.
Excelent work as always btw :)

That's a really good point.  Glass is a solid and fluid at the same time. (It just flows really slowly.)
 
Nahor
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 18:21

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Nahor wrote:
Source of the post (like the inability to explore randomly because the app crashes after selecting about ~30 stars)

Hm, 30 is the exact size of the planetary systems cache. It's strange what SE crashes while releasing it. Do you have some ships spawned in the game?

No I don' have ships. I just start the game, go to planetarium, click around, crash. I don't have any mods but I do have the hi-rez textures for the solar system.
 
Nahor
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 18:38

gamadh wrote:
Nahor     Hey man, think about this, the longer it takes, the better the space engine and I also think that waiting for the necessary time is cool, and Vladimir is doing it for free.  :)

The best is the enemy of the good. And reasoning this way, the app should never be released because there will always be some other feature that can go in if we wait "a bit more"... unless Vladimir can find a quick way to simulate a whole universe within itself (and that means simulating Space Engine too, inception with turtles all the way down).

Vladimir can take the time he wants. But he did ask if he should delay the next version another month to get another feature in. I'm just making my voice heard... although I would have kept quiet if someone hadn't presumed to speak for me :P
 
User avatar
Salvo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 238
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

17 Sep 2017 23:11

Planets in the next version will have so many details on them you could easily just take a planetary system and write a book out of it.
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest