Page 31 of 32

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 09 Aug 2017 12:00
by JCandeias
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post I'm not so sure.  The color of the sky should depend on the color of the parent star(s).

As SpaceEngineer explained above:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post Yes, but just multiplicatively. Ie if atmosphere where white, and illuminated by a red star, it becomes red.

That is: if I understant the program structure correctly (and Vladimir will correct me if I'm wrong), the colour of the star is a kind of modifier applied to the basic shader, which is made for white light. I was referring to these shaders.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 09 Aug 2017 14:34
by A-L-E-X
JCandeias wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post I'm not so sure.  The color of the sky should depend on the color of the parent star(s).

As SpaceEngineer explained above:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post Yes, but just multiplicatively. Ie if atmosphere where white, and illuminated by a red star, it becomes red.

That is: if I understant the program structure correctly (and Vladimir will correct me if I'm wrong), the colour of the star is a kind of modifier applied to the basic shader, which is made for white light. I was referring to these shaders.

Thanks, I wonder how it would work with multiple star systems?  For example, the planet orbiting Proxima Centauri.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 10 Aug 2017 02:25
by SpaceEngineer
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Thanks, I wonder how it would work with multiple star systems?  For example, the planet orbiting Proxima Centauri.

Just run SE and watch.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 10 Aug 2017 02:42
by A-L-E-X
SpaceEngineer wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Thanks, I wonder how it would work with multiple star systems?  For example, the planet orbiting Proxima Centauri.

Just run SE and watch.

SE I am trying to run SpaceEngine as a planetarium program from my current location.  Why is it that Sirius appears red- is this because of how close it is to the horizon or is this some sort of glitch?
Screenshot - 8_10_2017 , 5_39_00 AM.jpg

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 10 Aug 2017 03:27
by A-L-E-X
A-L-E-X wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Thanks, I wonder how it would work with multiple star systems?  For example, the planet orbiting Proxima Centauri.

Just run SE and watch.

SE I am trying to run SpaceEngine as a planetarium program from my current location.  Why is it that Sirius appears red- is this because of how close it is to the horizon or is this some sort of glitch?
Screenshot - 8_10_2017 , 5_39_00 AM.jpg

Question answered- it's white now :) Now I just need to find a way to save the limiting magnitude I want to set- can that be done with the console?

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 10 Aug 2017 06:14
by HarbingerDawn
A-L-E-X, this is off topic for this thread. Set default magnitude settings in the main user config file.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 12 Aug 2017 23:48
by cjacobs1986
I recently purchased the Oculus VR and saw on reddit that you were beta testing VR with Space Engine.  I was running Space Engine before the whole VR purchase. Are you looking for another tester and if so where do I download the VR beta?

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 13 Aug 2017 03:24
by SpaceEngineer
SE doesn't work on Oculus, I am still didn't fix that.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 13 Aug 2017 09:06
by DoctorOfSpace
SpaceEngineer, natively unsupported but it seems people who use SteamVR can use it with the Rift.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 13 Aug 2017 20:05
by cjacobs1986
I've been successful getting other SteamVR games to run, if that's something you want me to try too.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 15 Aug 2017 11:09
by Azirphaeli
Was gonna say, SteamVR should natively support the rift so if SE is using that then aside from needing to maybe hold the touch controllers at a goofy angle it should work well enough to get the job.

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 16 Aug 2017 14:25
by Prof
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Salvo wrote:
Source of the post Whaat? This are huge news! Did you already start working on it or it is such an easy implementation that it can be ready in just a month? 

It could take less than a week, there are plenty of free astronomical code libraries exist for this.

So, how's this update with VSOP87/DE403 coming along? The eclipse is upon us, the hype is enormous, but couldn't simulate it in SpaceEngine yet. Stuck with Celestia, which is accurate, but looks far outdated...

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 19 Aug 2017 01:54
by SpaceEngineer

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 19 Aug 2017 10:04
by Captain Crowbar
SpaceEngineer wrote:

Great write up! Will there be a UI indicator for if the currently selected object is using an ephemeris at the current in-game time?

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

Posted: 19 Aug 2017 12:48
by SpaceEngineer
I made a patch for 0.980, which adds ephemerides to it, so you can watch real solar eclipses:
http://spaceengine.org/news/patch0980e/