Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 97
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1089
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

09 Nov 2016 07:34

No, only .se will be associated with executable scripts. Other formats are not a scripts, but a catalog and config files, they cannot be executed by SE script machine.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 407
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

09 Nov 2016 09:00

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post No, only .se will be associated with executable scripts. Other formats are not a scripts, but a catalog and config files, they cannot be executed by SE script machine.

Ah OK, se is a script like tutorials, visit, scenarios,.... I thought that it also concerns files catalogs, configurations (because they say "planets script", that's why).
Good evening to you and good continuation ;) .
► Information
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1089
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

27 Nov 2016 05:19

Fixed a discontinuity in lighting on asteroids:
scr00151.jpg

scr00152.jpg


 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1474
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

27 Nov 2016 05:35

Yay! Wonderful! :!:
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Fireinthehole
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 82
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Lysekil, Sweden

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

27 Nov 2016 07:45

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Fixed a discontinuity in lighting on asteroids:


Great! That bug has bothered me for a while now.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 407
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

27 Nov 2016 08:17

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post Fixed a discontinuity in lighting on asteroids

Thanks, even though I do not often explore asteroids  :) .
► Information
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 595
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Gale Crater
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

27 Nov 2016 08:22

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post Fixed a discontinuity in lighting on asteroids:

Yes! I have been waiting so long for this :D
Will it be in the next Steam update?
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
sinsforeal
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Aug 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

28 Nov 2016 10:11

The asteroid clipping is no longer an issue on amd cards as well?
 
Destructor1701
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 84
Joined: 07 Nov 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

28 Nov 2016 11:23

I gotta say I'm excited for the "waypoint" objects - it'll allow for some interesting navigation, but also make machinima in the engine a bit easier.

Space Engineer, can we load spacecraft in a script? If so, when you execute a script, will the Engine wait until all the script's assets have loaded to start the script?
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1089
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

02 Dec 2016 10:09

sinsforeal wrote:
Source of the post The asteroid clipping is no longer an issue on amd cards as well?

It doesn't depend on GPU.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 1089
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

02 Dec 2016 10:21

Made some upgrades to the chart mode. Now it's possible to compare planets by diameter, mass, density and temperature.
(BTW check out that planet - RS 8474-2690-8-9131880-116 AB5 - it is a tidally locked titan).

scr00166.jpg


I also added a "2D system map" mode, similar to those in ED. It is great to learn architecture of the system. Additional work is needed to make it look nice (better selection of distance between stars, planets and moons).

scr00164.jpg


What else could be useful here?
1) Not-to-scale mode? (like in solar system browser)
2) Default ambient lighting?
3) Locked camera? (allowing only scrolling and zooming)
4) Some static background?
5) Maybe this thing could replace the solar system browser?

Another upgrade is related to the map mode. It is now adaptively changes the amount of objects displayed (better to see this on video). The amount of objects can be controlled by the new slider. Now it's easy to find nebulae and clusters (their brightness is adjusted by the map independently off stars and galaxies).

scr00167.jpg


scr00168.jpg
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 595
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Gale Crater
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

02 Dec 2016 13:14

I love it! Will the steam version receive this update soon?
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
User avatar
NathanKerbonaut
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 129
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

02 Dec 2016 14:33

Awesome work, SpaceEngineer! I've been wishing for features like this :D
I like cute pokemon and space games.
My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=173
Profile pic source: https://goo.gl/JdZX5v
 
zinna
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 30 Nov 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

03 Dec 2016 02:26

The ED-like system map is awesome, you could lock it letting only zoom+scroll (like ED indeed).
Pretty good job anyway!

Will you add a high resolution screen capture, like the Alt+f10 of ED (maybe with a selection of 4k and 8k and 12k)? So we can bypass modifying the resolution for taking screenshots? It's almost impossible with all the crashes getting the screenshots
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1290
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

03 Dec 2016 03:05

zinna wrote:
Source of the post Will you add a high resolution screen capture, like the Alt+f10 of ED (maybe with a selection of 4k and 8k and 12k)? So we can bypass modifying the resolution for taking screenshots?

This has been discussed a bit on the other forum, it may be added eventually.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5960X 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 97

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest