Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Stellarator
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 317
Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Location: Sagittarius A*

Work progress 0.9.9.0

24 Oct 2018 18:01

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post SE does not updated on-the-fly, so no climate change effects are possible.

Will it ever though? Weather and other meteorologic and geologic changes on planets would be very immersive, but I imagine quite tricky to code.

I REALLY like that "humidity" factor on exoplanets. Looking forward to more stuff like that.
Futurum Fusionem
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 419
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress 0.9.9.0

24 Oct 2018 20:41

^^^ Ja same here. My Belle Hades planet can finally be that uber-humid jungle world it's always been meant to be :3
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Stellarator
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 317
Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Location: Sagittarius A*

Work progress 0.9.9.0

25 Oct 2018 00:05

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post uber-humid jungle world it's always been meant to be

Complete with Space Ebola-Aids-Deng-Malaria Plague? Okay I'll visit. Is there a brochure with suggested vaccinations and VISA info  :lol:?
Futurum Fusionem
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 364
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress 0.9.9.0

25 Oct 2018 00:26

SpaceEngineer wrote:
HarbingerDawn wrote:
Source of the post Quarior wrote:
When you said « planet animated », ie there have a animated climate ?

Where does it say "animated"?

Indeed, where? Textures of planets in SE does not updated on-the-fly, so no climate change effects are possible.
Quarior wrote:
Source of the post The mod name is the name of the folder and/or customize with a file of configuration ? Also, is for all object in the folder and we can erase the mod and a category type for each objects/systems ?
Example : By example for Star Wars, there are planets/systems no mention in movies but maybe in a game or the fan community so the mod Star Wars Catalogs need to split in different mods ?

Sorry, I don't understand.

Oops... I have bad read... I think it is in point but I don’t find so maybe the tired :
Added parameter “humidity” to control vegetation coverage on planets with life
Now the vegetation/desert ratio on planets with life can be controlled with a single parameter. There are 6 other parameters, which I haven’t described before. They control the distribution of 3 biomes: forest, grass and desert (more accurately, steppe): climateDesertMin, climateDesertMax, climateForestMin, climateForestMax, climateGrassMin, climateGrassMax. These biomes have different detail texture sets in the biomes and palette preset config: Desert, Forest, Grass.

For the second point, you said in your blog post is precise for a object where mod from or is a real object so how to ?
First, is automatically with the folder name ?
Second, is semi-automatically, ie in the mod folder, there a a file like mod.info :
ModName « My Mod »
ModCategory « Movie » //or « Game universe » or « Book »

Third, we need for each objects/planets/systems to define where come from and category :
StarBarycenter « My system »
{
Mod « My mod »
Category « Movie »
RA 3 6 8
Dec -4 -7 9
DistLy 7.34
Hide true
}

And final point, is for a same mod we can define multiple category or erase category and name of the mid for each system or object.

I hope I more understandable.

Have a nice day.
► Information
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 775
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress 0.9.9.0

25 Oct 2018 01:10

Quarior wrote:
Source of the post For the second point, you said in your blog post is precise for a object where mod from or is a real object so how to ?
First, is automatically with the folder name ?
Second, is semi-automatically, ie in the mod folder, there a a file like mod.info :

I feel myself as Luke Skywalker listening to Yoda...
Franchise is a new filed in the local database file. They are files config/user-loc-db.cfg and data/locale/loc-db.cfg, where loc is your language. Example of such a file:

PObject
{
    LocName "Форкий"       // object name in your language
    Name    "Phorcys"      // object name from catalog
    Parent  "Nuphen"       // object parent name from catalog
    Pioneer "Космический телескоп TPF" // object discoverer (fictional in this example, may be SE user name)
    Date    "2025.06.18"               // discovery date (fictional in this example)
    Franchise "Мир больших приливов"   // franchise name - in your language
    Descr "Форкий - самый маленький из газовых гигантов системы [NU] Феникса." // object description in your language
}


Database files are place where SE Wiki saves descriptions and names then you add them by pressing "Edit" button on the Wiki window. If you tick the "Real object", its description will be saved to data/locale/loc-db.cfg (this supposed to be description of a real object like Solar system bodies, stars, constellations etc), otherwise to config/user-loc-db.cfg (this supposed to be a user discovery of some interesting procedural object).

Another thing that I implemented, is that SE now loads additional database files #/locale/*-loc-db.cfg, where # means all data/, addons/, addons/*/ folders. The file could have any name, ending with -loc-db.cfg, where loc is your language.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 364
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress 0.9.9.0

25 Oct 2018 03:38

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Quarior wrote:
Source of the post For the second point, you said in your blog post is precise for a object where mod from or is a real object so how to ?
First, is automatically with the folder name ?
Second, is semi-automatically, ie in the mod folder, there a a file like mod.info :

I feel myself as Luke Skywalker listening to Yoda...
Franchise is a new filed in the local database file. They are files config/user-loc-db.cfg and data/locale/loc-db.cfg, where loc is your language. Example of such a file:

PObject
{
    LocName "Форкий"       // object name in your language
    Name    "Phorcys"      // object name from catalog
    Parent  "Nuphen"       // object parent name from catalog
    Pioneer "Космический телескоп TPF" // object discoverer (fictional in this example, may be SE user name)
    Date    "2025.06.18"               // discovery date (fictional in this example)
    Franchise "Мир больших приливов"   // franchise name - in your language
    Descr "Форкий - самый маленький из газовых гигантов системы [NU] Феникса." // object description in your language
}


Database files are place where SE Wiki saves descriptions and names then you add them by pressing "Edit" button on the Wiki window. If you tick the "Real object", its description will be saved to data/locale/loc-db.cfg (this supposed to be description of a real object like Solar system bodies, stars, constellations etc), otherwise to config/user-loc-db.cfg (this supposed to be a user discovery of some interesting procedural object).

Another thing that I implemented, is that SE now loads additional database files #/locale/*-loc-db.cfg, where # means all data/, addons/, addons/*/ folders. The file could have any name, ending with -loc-db.cfg, where loc is your language.

Is more easy I think so thanks for information.
So for define the category, I replace Franchise by Movie, Book and GameUniverse by example ?
PObject
{
LocName "Azeroth"
Name "Azeroth"
Parent "Azesystem"
// Pionner "Inhabitants of Azeroth"
// Date "8000.01.01"
GameUniverse "World of Warcraft" //instead Franchise
Descr "The main planet from the game."
}


Have a nice day.
Last edited by Quarior on 25 Oct 2018 03:47, edited 2 times in total.
► Information
 
User avatar
greenhand
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: 13 Apr 2017

Work progress 0.9.9.0

25 Oct 2018 03:46

HarbingerDawn wrote:
iTzNikkitty wrote:
Source of the post They've said that it probably would be around $20 or less.

There has been no official comment at all about pricing, please do not spread potentially misleading information.

iTzNikkitty wrote:
Source of the post No, but they've said that previous versions will remain free.

Nobody has said that there won't be a demo, again please refrain from making unsubstantiated claims.

nobody looks to these people as authoritative sources bro. calm down.
 
User avatar
Solaris_
Observer
Observer
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: China

Work progress 0.9.9.0

25 Oct 2018 05:47

Lava planets look so realistic!
I'm always ready to see news,regardless what is it.
 
Loafmeister
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Oct 2018

Work progress 0.9.9.0

25 Oct 2018 08:28

Great blog entry, excite level increasing! Thanks for the update Spaceengineer
 
User avatar
AnimsSpace
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Dec 2016
Location: Neptun

Work progress 0.9.9.0

27 Oct 2018 06:57

I can’t find any words for this nice well done work, I still have my opinion that SE deserves so much more attention, i‘m very excited for the new version 0.9.9.0. keep it up and take your time, you already improved it so much. The graphic hurts my eyes so good it looks the planets etc.
Space is more than beautiful
 
Shion
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 May 2018

Work progress 0.990

30 Oct 2018 05:54

I would pay a couple hundred dollars for the next SE, no problem. 30 years ago a Sega Mega Drive cartridge was 100 and it was a fair price for the industry.
 
JKerman
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 42
Joined: 18 Oct 2017

Work progress 0.990

30 Oct 2018 09:38

Macronicus wrote:
JKerman wrote:
https://i.imgur.com/ExXOzJ6.jpg


Why? How many times do we have to tell people that space engine will be released when it's done. So stop it already.

Sorry, I was just joking.
 
User avatar
Dr. Kaii
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 223
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Manchester England
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

30 Oct 2018 10:02

Please leave the moderating for moderators. I personally found that image quite funny, he wasn't actually asking, just making a joke about the whole waiting thing. Maybe a fellow mod will disagree, but still it's important to let us do the moderating, if you spot any posts that need our attention, please report them.
i7 7700K - 4.7MHz, Inno3D GeForce GTX 1080 HerculeZ Twin X2 8192MB, 32GB DDR4 3000MHz, CV1 + Oculus Touch
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 486
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress 0.990

30 Oct 2018 15:46

Everyone, please stop making off-topic posts in this thread. I've already had to issue temporary bans to a few people who have ignored repeated earlier warnings about this. Show a modicum of restraint and forethought when posting, please.
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
vlad01
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 189
Joined: 02 May 2018

Work progress 0.990

31 Oct 2018 00:05

Will 0.990 have an improved terrain loader over 0.980e that is more independent from movement?

Currently the loading is mostly stopped during travel movement and resumes only once standing still even if loader is forced to load more tiles per frame as can be set in the config file, this does results in a much faster loading when still and looking around but still is dependent on travel moment and thus still slow or stopped during travel.   Will the new version handle this more asynchronously?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest