Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Fireinthehole
Space Tourist
Posts: 29
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Sweden

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 Apr 2017 00:44

SpaceEngineer never ceases to amaze us! :)
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Posts: 195
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 Apr 2017 01:33

Beautiful and the last screenshot is very nice. The reality coming in Space Engine :).

Just, can you make a picture gif for a solar eclipse for show the new effect "sun" ?
 
User avatar
The_Blazer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 Apr 2017 05:36

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post  I planning to make it even more simple, with a switch of presets, like in modern games: Low, Medium, Hight, Ultra, Custom

Please don't reduce the options menu too much if you are planning to release on Steam, especially if you plan on releasing commercially. A lot of the PC gaming fanbase likes extensive options menu and influencial reviewers will tear the game to shreds if they can't have manual access to as many settings as possible.
If you want my unsolicited advice, the 'custom' option should include everything that does not completely change the look and feel of the engine/causes serious bugs and crashes.
Born too early to explore space... but just in time for Space Engine!
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 590
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 Apr 2017 12:20

The_Blazer wrote:
Source of the post A lot of the PC gaming fanbase likes extensive options menu and influencial reviewers will tear the game to shreds if they can't have manual access to as many settings as possible.

Condensed not reduced.  The menu is still far more in depth than most games so I don't think this is something to worry about.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Posts: 165
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

15 Apr 2017 16:09

Can't wait to try it out. Good job! :)
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 294
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 08:29

Added ability to reduce illumination color saturation. It is a kinda fake white balance adaptation. Real white balance adaptation as a post-process will make all planets looks like Earth, with distorted colors of the star sky, This is not what I want from SpaceEngine. But reducing incoming sunlight saturation by just 30% makes very large difference! Compare these screenshots of TRAPPIST-1 d before and after:

scr00567.jpg

scr00568.jpg


TRAPPIST-1 star has a surface temperature of 2560K - just like a filament of a light bulb. So illumination on a planet must remind illumination under light bulb, perceived colors must not be so yellow as in SE before.

Maybe the Moon is a better example:

scr00572.jpg

scr00573.jpg


Next, added ability to choose the color system used to generate the Planck (thermal) spectra colors. It is kinda a white point/white balance settings, used to convert computed Planck spectrum into RGB values. There was a multiple systems available in all versions of SE, but no ability to switch between them. I choose the SMPTE system ages ago, but now you can choose the one you like better. This settings affects appearance of hot surfaces such as sun photosphere and lava, also affects color of sunlight illumination (but not so much as simple desaturation). Comparison of SMPTE and CIE systems are below.

scr00569.jpg

scr00570.jpg


I also made a small trick to reduce aliasing of a star surface textures (suppressing the granulation on the upper LOD levels). Screenshots shows TRAPPIST-1 before and after.

scr00564.jpg

scr00566.jpg
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 590
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 08:37

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post Added ability to reduce illumination color saturation. It is a kinda fake white balance adaptation. Real white balance adaptation as a post-process will make all planets looks like Earth, with distorted colors of the star sky, This is not what I want from SpaceEngine. But reducing incoming sunlight saturation by just 30% makes very large difference! Compare these screenshots of TRAPPIST-1 d before and after:

Awesome, another aspect of reshade made obsolete.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
ShadowRaikou
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 08:53

Awesome work! I'm so excited for this update.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Posts: 165
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 14:09

Very nice! Looking forward to it! :D
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Posts: 195
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 14:43

Nice.
Question for modding for the future : The logo support animated gif and we can change the position of elements on menu ?
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 294
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 15:07

Quarior wrote:
Source of the post Question for modding for the future : The logo support animated gif and we can change the position of elements on menu ?

No, customizeable menus is very hard to implement. Animated logo - probably, but certainly not gif, it is a old and low quality format :)
Anyway, there are thousands of more important features than these two. With GUI I have time to make only easy things, like merging settings into a single menu, new skins or this effect (thanks to new post-processing system, it was quite easy to add):
scr00575.jpg
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 502
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 15:57

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post new skins or this effect

ow, that's way better, window transparency was too high for me.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Posts: 165
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 16:16

Nice! Will that effect be configurable and/or slider-able? I like the window tranparency :)
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 294
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 17:31

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post Will that effect be configurable and/or slider-able?

Don't you think SE already has too many sliders? Effect will be configurable in the skin script, this is enough IMO.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Posts: 165
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

20 Apr 2017 21:11

Lol, good point. :lol:
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests