Free planetarium

 
sas123
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Jun 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

01 Jul 2017 02:20

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Made some upgrades to the chart mode. Now it's possible to compare planets by diameter, mass, density and temperature.
(BTW check out that planet - RS 8474-2690-8-9131880-116 AB5 - it is a tidally locked titan).

scr00166.jpg

I also added a "2D system map" mode, similar to those in ED. It is great to learn architecture of the system. Additional work is needed to make it look nice (better selection of distance between stars, planets and moons).

scr00164.jpg

What else could be useful here?
1) Not-to-scale mode? (like in solar system browser)
2) Default ambient lighting?
3) Locked camera? (allowing only scrolling and zooming)
4) Some static background?
5) Maybe this thing could replace the solar system browser?

Another upgrade is related to the map mode. It is now adaptively changes the amount of objects displayed (better to see this on video). The amount of objects can be controlled by the new slider. Now it's easy to find nebulae and clusters (their brightness is adjusted by the map independently off stars and galaxies).

scr00167.jpg

scr00168.jpg

I reckon 3 and 4 for the 2D map should be implemented. 3 Because there doesn't really need to be more movement options than Zoom, Scroll, Drag and Click. 4 Because a nice even background will make seeing the 2D Map easier for the eyes.
 
User avatar
Teterrimo
Observer
Observer
Posts: 12
Joined: 03 Dec 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

01 Jul 2017 20:42

Maybe you can put the credits when someone wants to close the game and press exit button. Always before come back to desktop you show the credits.
Like always, amazing work !!
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 350
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

04 Jul 2017 07:04

I switching to make blog posts instead of using the forum thread. You can see this in the news section on the Russian site. The English site will be updated similarly soon.
 
User avatar
Salvo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 161
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

04 Jul 2017 07:54

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Well, I switching to make blog posts instead of using the forum thread. You can see this in the news section on the Russian site. The English site will be updated similarly soon.

I second your decision.
Also a bloggy thing is RSS-friendly, and since I discovered RSS I'm using it quite often!
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
Huntingknight
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

04 Jul 2017 09:53

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Yes, 3D clouds also will be implemented using raymarching.

Will you make it a setting so that you can reduce or increase cloud coverage? It would be a shame if clouds covered an entire planet that has lovely terrain to explore.
 
User avatar
spaceguy
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 136
Joined: 30 Dec 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

04 Jul 2017 11:50

Huntingknight wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Yes, 3D clouds also will be implemented using raymarching.

Will you make it a setting so that you can reduce or increase cloud coverage? It would be a shame if clouds covered an entire planet that has lovely terrain to explore.

You can do that now minus the reduction/increasing part. There's a icon of a cloud on the right panel side which you can toggle clouds on or off. 
With volumetric clouds, I'd reckon that this feature would functionally be the same. Though the ability to reduce or increase cloud coverage does sound nice.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 639
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

04 Jul 2017 12:15

spaceguy wrote:
Source of the post Though the ability to reduce or increase cloud coverage does sound nice.

Most likely you will be able to do that in the editor, with the same sliders that exist now.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 350
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

07 Jul 2017 17:02

Weekly update:

- Large drop-down boxes (as like module selector in the ship editor) could be scrolled with mouse wheel, and are adaptive to the screen resolution
- Drop-down box behaviour changed to classic (stays opened until left click)
- Save, Reload and Undo in the nebula editor
- Fixed bug with star polar faces
- Fixed eclipse shadow bug
- Fixed rendering of orbits of a static ships
- Fixed multiple bugs in the ship editor
- Fixed lens flare + accretion disk bug
- Fixed color saturation of star corona and atmosphere

- And many small fixes and improvements
 
User avatar
ShadowRaikou
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

07 Jul 2017 21:36

Nice stuff as always!
 
sdescon
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jul 2017

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

11 Jul 2017 05:37

Can't wait for 0.9.8.1! Thank you for the amazing work, SpaceEngineer and team!
 
User avatar
Astrophisiclover
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Location: One planet of ARP 273

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

11 Jul 2017 06:15

For 0.9.8.1 version. What is the minimum requirments system?   (im italian sorry for my english idk if I write correct the question :lol:)

P.S When is the relase date
 
User avatar
Betelgeuze
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 56
Joined: 24 Apr 2017
Location: Belgium

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

11 Jul 2017 07:37

Astrophisiclover wrote:
P.S When is the relase date

What said on FAQ:

Q: When is the next release coming out?
A: There is no release date. It will be out when it’s done.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 543
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

11 Jul 2017 07:47

Astrophisiclover, minimum requirements are detailed at the main page of the website:
  • Dual-core 2 GHz
  • 4 GB RAM
  • Nvidia or AMD/ATI 1 GB VRAM
I'd go for recommended requirements, though.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Astrophisiclover
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Location: One planet of ARP 273

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

12 Jul 2017 02:38

Yes but 3d Nebulae is fantastic idea but increse the use of RAM CPU and VRAM (same for the 3d clouds) i think the requirments increse for this new features (i think)
 
User avatar
Astrophisiclover
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Location: One planet of ARP 273

Work progress - 0.9.8.1

12 Jul 2017 02:41

Mosfet wrote:
Astrophisiclover, minimum requirements are detailed at the main page of the website:
  • Dual-core 2 GHz
  • 4 GB RAM
  • Nvidia or AMD/ATI 1 GB VRAM
I'd go for recommended requirements, though.

The reqirments i think increase ( 2.5 GHZ, 6GB RAM 1.5/2 GB VRAM) the 3d require more render and more power from the hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Julian and 4 guests