Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Betelgeuze
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 86
Joined: 24 Apr 2017
Location: Belgium

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

02 Nov 2017 12:43

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Meanwhile I continue work on upgraded terrains: http://spaceengine.org/blog171102/

That awesome Good job Vladimir!  I see little flowers on the second image (green one)  :)
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 273
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

02 Nov 2017 12:56

Oh, terrain with many detail. Good work. In a Space Engine 1.2+, maybe we can see 3D plants (if no take many memory) :).
Good continuation.
 
User avatar
Maurício Cruz
Observer
Observer
Posts: 19
Joined: 06 Feb 2017

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

02 Nov 2017 16:19

tridimentional textures coming soon... May in to the next version... may be... :cry: :o
Pluto taught us at least how creative the universe could be (DOCUMENTARY)
 
Retsof
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

02 Nov 2017 17:39

Image
Is anyone else seeing this one 'backwards'?  The 'large stones' instead look to me like depressions in the ground.
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 513
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Sea of Tranquility
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

02 Nov 2017 17:55

Yep, but it's not broken, it's just an optical illusion
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
mikehoopes
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Dec 2016
Location: Campbell, CA

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

03 Nov 2017 16:45

Retsof wrote:
Image
Is anyone else seeing this one 'backwards'?  The 'large stones' instead look to me like depressions in the ground.


It is an optical illusion, as Hornblower noted. I experience this every time I look at Dawn images of Ceres:
https://dawn.jpl.nasa.gov/multimedia/images/
 
User avatar
R136a1
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jan 2017
Location: Republic of Korea

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

03 Nov 2017 18:07

Is volumetric nebulas finished?
Do not go gentle into that good night.
 
catvanbrian
Observer
Observer
Posts: 18
Joined: 14 Feb 2017

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

03 Nov 2017 19:55

R136a1 wrote:
Is volumetric nebulas finished?

Who knows

"Monokuma 2012"
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 490
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

04 Nov 2017 04:50

I write a blog posts about everything I do. If I didn't wrote about finishing nebulae, this mean that they are not finished.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 246
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

04 Nov 2017 15:45

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Meanwhile I continue work on upgraded terrains: http://spaceengine.org/blog171102/

Beautiful update! Great work! :D

The old set of 128 textures with a low resolution of 256 x 256 is replaced by a new one with resolution of 1024 x 1024 (meanwhile I collected 4 dozens of free textures from different sources). Even with compression, one texture will take 5 MB of video memory (in fact, these are two textures – colors and normals with a displacement map in the alpha channel). A set of 64 compressed textures will take 320 MB, it is quite tolerable (256 pieces would take more that a gigabyte).


So the new texture sets will actually be easier on the graphics card than the current ones from 0.980?
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 346
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

06 Nov 2017 18:32

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post So the new texture sets will actually be easier on the graphics card than the current ones from 0.980?

No, the new textures will be much more demanding.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 246
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

06 Nov 2017 20:19

HarbingerDawn wrote:
PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post So the new texture sets will actually be easier on the graphics card than the current ones from 0.980?

No, the new textures will be much more demanding.

Ouch. 'Was afraid of that. :'(

Thanks. :)
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
The_Blazer
Observer
Observer
Posts: 10
Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

07 Nov 2017 05:46

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Source of the post No, the new textures will be much more demanding.

Is there a measure (yet) of how much this will be in terms of VRAM? Will lower-end systems be able to switch to lower-quality textures through the options menu or will SE just not run/stutter constantly if you don't have enough graphics memory?
Born too early to explore space... but just in time for Space Engine!
 
User avatar
Salvo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 234
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

07 Nov 2017 07:19

The_Blazer wrote:
HarbingerDawn wrote:
Source of the post No, the new textures will be much more demanding.

Is there a measure (yet) of how much this will be in terms of VRAM? Will lower-end systems be able to switch to lower-quality textures through the options menu or will SE just not run/stutter constantly if you don't have enough graphics memory?

It's hard to say but I suppose the LOD value will influence a lot more the performance. I guess if you put it to the lowest level you'll have an acceptable performance even if you have very little VRAM  :)
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 346
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Work progress - 0.9.9.0

07 Nov 2017 08:26

The_Blazer wrote:
Source of the post Is there a measure (yet) of how much this will be in terms of VRAM? Will lower-end systems be able to switch to lower-quality textures through the options menu or will SE just not run/stutter constantly if you don't have enough graphics memory?

As SpaceEngineer already said in his blog post, the new textures will take up 320MB of memory. It will also be possible to disable detail textures to improve performance, though a low-res option has not been implemented yet.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest