Free planetarium

 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 242
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

05 Feb 2017 05:51

SpaceEngine is not based on Celestia nor any other engine, I wrote the code all by myself (except some common algorithms like quicksort, memory manager, OpenGL tricks, that can be found in books and everywhere else in the Internet). The first public version was 0.74, it was released on the Russian GameDev forum. It worked only on NVidia GPU, has procedural planets, but no procedural terrain (3D terrain was only on Earth and some other Solar System bodies). You can follow SE evolution on the Russian GameDev (Google translate could help):

SpaceEngine thread on GameDev


Links to download all released versions of SE. Stable work is not guaranteed :)

0.74 (NVidia only)
0.84
0.85 (patch)
0.90 (patch)
0.93
0.94
0.95
0.96
0.961 (patch)
0.97
0.971
0.972
0.98

Until 0.74, SE had a very quick version number change, every small improvement increased the number bo 0.1: 0.5 - 0.6 - 0.7. Then I realized that it is too fast, so I decreased the numerical step and now every big release has a version number increased by 0.0.1, while patches add 0.0.0.1: 0.9.6.0 - 0.9.6.1 - 0.9.6.2

Terrain engine in SE is pretty much the same even now, it wasn't changed since a beginning of SE.

Look at the graphics settings dialog in 0.74 :)
scr00099.jpg
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 242
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

05 Feb 2017 06:02

SE 0.4



SE 0.5



SE 0.6



SE 0.7



SE 0.8

 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 529
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

05 Feb 2017 07:48

The program sure has come a long way.   :)
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Posts: 370
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

History of SpaceEngine

05 Feb 2017 08:03

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Source of the post The program sure has come a long way.  

Yeah
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
Danielmas
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Feb 2017
Location: Earth, Europe

History of SpaceEngine

05 Feb 2017 11:43

Absolutely awesome! I run 0.85 (patch) version  with r_IgnoreFBO enabled and I can run the Space Engine on Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD without graphics glitches (apart from it making only a few frames per second)! Perfect! (see attached images)
Attachments
Space Engine.png
Earth.png
 
User avatar
Salvo
Space Pilot
Posts: 117
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

06 Feb 2017 02:31

Yesterday I've tried SE 0.9.4 (I had it in my external HD), and I discovered I couldn't see procedural terrain, planets were all white. But it was an already implemented feature, right? I didn't investigated very much, also because it was 11 pm!
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
A-L-E-X
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

History of SpaceEngine

05 Apr 2017 00:12

Thanks for this thread.  Could someone list how the specs for the program have changed through the years? (I mean min RAM, GPU memory, CPU, etc.)
 
A-L-E-X
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

History of SpaceEngine

05 Apr 2017 00:15

Danielmas wrote:
Absolutely awesome! I run 0.85 (patch) version  with r_IgnoreFBO enabled and I can run the Space Engine on Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD without graphics glitches (apart from it making only a few frames per second)! Perfect! (see attached images)


Is this a program where the fps matter more or the amount of video memory? I am asking because I am about to make a purchase for a graphics card and I have the choice between a used GTX 580 (1.5 GB) and a new GT 730 (4GB).  The latter has more memory but the former is much faster.  I want to future proof for a few years at least, so I'm worried with rising specs for the program I need the upgrade.  I am also upgrading to 4 GB RAM.  Currently I have an 8800 GTS (640 MB) and 2 GB RAM, Core 2 Quad Q6600.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 242
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

05 Apr 2017 03:27

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post GTX 580 (1.5 GB) and a new GT 730 (4GB)

Man, those are 5 years-old GPUs. Why not buy some GTX 1060?
580 is much faster than 730: link, and 1.5 GB is enough for SE, if you will not use LOD 1.
 
User avatar
Salvo
Space Pilot
Posts: 117
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

05 Apr 2017 04:31

SpaceEngineer wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post GTX 580 (1.5 GB) and a new GT 730 (4GB)

Man, those are 5 years-old GPUs. Why not buy some GTX 1060?

Image
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
ephu
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Apr 2017

History of SpaceEngine

05 Apr 2017 08:51

wow thats a great progression. Looking forward to next years too!
 
User avatar
problemecium
Astronaut
Posts: 46
Joined: 30 Dec 2016

History of SpaceEngine

05 Apr 2017 13:51

Amen Salvo. I don't play on Intel HD Graphics just to bother everyone - GPUs these days are expensive!
(inb4 "you can go to [website] and pick up a GTX [number] for about $200...": If you think $200 is in my budget you're already grossly overestimating it.)
ᴩʀoʙʟᴇᴍᴇᴄɪᴜᴍ﹖
Formerly known as "parameciumkid."
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 529
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

History of SpaceEngine

05 Apr 2017 16:44

problemecium, if you move over to the PC discussion thread and post your budget I, or someone else, may be able to help you find some better options.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

History of SpaceEngine

07 Apr 2017 08:44

SpaceEngineer wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post GTX 580 (1.5 GB) and a new GT 730 (4GB)

Man, those are 5 years-old GPUs. Why not buy some GTX 1060?
580 is much faster than 730: link, and 1.5 GB is enough for SE, if you will not use LOD 1.

Problem is that my motherboard is not compatible with anything newer than PCI-e 2.0  The GT 730 was actually the last PCI-e 2.0 GPU made- from 2014.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests