Page 17 of 99

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Mar 2017 12:55
by Gnargenox
Here is an example of what I mean with objects disappearing from view when in the shadow of other objects.
You will see one of the asteroids does this at the 57 second moment on the left side of the screen.
se.log
(88.36 KiB) Downloaded 88 times

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Mar 2017 14:08
by Mosfet
Gnargenox, the recording is capturing the actual speed of rendering? If that's the case, does this happens at lower speed?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Mar 2017 14:51
by Gnargenox
Any speed of actual time, yes. Not a memory issue. Its a display issue having more to do with lighting I suppose. I'll record a large moon being eclipsed at slow speed next.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Mar 2017 15:21
by Gnargenox
ok this is a very obvious case of the problem. Recording the video is of course not the only time this happens. It occurs at any speed that time progresses in SE. It happens nearly every single time something is in full shadow, but I never logged all events lol

Pretty cool huh!?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Mar 2017 16:32
by Hornblower
Why isn't this fixed yet? (Also, what causes the bug in the first place?)
Vladimir Plz Fix

Image
► Show Spoiler

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 Mar 2017 17:29
by roughcollie
Hey,
I'm getting frequent crashes, seemingly no matter what I do while in the planetarium. And my whole computer crashes every time too. I've tried these fixes so far. The longest I've made it is only 8 minutes.

I upped VideoMemorySize to 2048
I changed MipmapsWarp to false
LoaderMode changed from 2 to 1
Landscape LOD to -2
Turned off comet tails and aurora
[font=Arial]In the Nvidia control panel I turned threaded optimisation to off.[/font]

I'd really love to explore this! Is there anything more I can do or something I missed?

I've got Windows 7
Intel i5 3.2 ghz 64 bit
4GB RAM
Nvidia geforce 210 with 1024 MB of RAM, and a total of 2747 MB available graphics memory.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Mar 2017 01:41
by Xoran
roughcollie, Ii you think the crashes happen because your computer aren't very powerful, try lowering loading speed. If that did not work, have you tried deleting the whole SpaceEngine folder, then reinstalling Space Engine?
Recommended specs is:

  • Quad-core 3 GHz
  • 8 GB RAM
  • Nvidia or ADM/ATI 2 GB VRAM
  • Windows 7/8/8.1/10.
Minimum setting is:
  • Dual-core 2Ghz
  • 4 GB RAM
  • Nvidia or ADM/ATI 1 GB VRAM
  • Windows XP

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Mar 2017 14:00
by roughcollie
Thanks for the reply Xoran,

I did try uninstalling and reinstalling, and got the same problem. I tried reducing the loading speed to 10, which seemed to help it last a little longer.

All of my specs seem to be above the minimum. If I was to upgrade something though, which would be more important, adding more RAM to get to 8 GBs, or getting a better graphics card?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Mar 2017 14:03
by Gnargenox
Don't anyone throw a brick at me, but I'm willing to bet it is your video card drivers.

With your system you should not have to tweak anything. You might have trouble recording video in LOD 1 while moving.... but you can adjust anything as much as you'd want with hardly a whine out of your machine. See my specs below to compare.

I might also suggest modifying your virtual memory settings manually instead of allowing windows to set it. I only have 2GB of installed physical memory, so I set my Page File Space up to allocate 9GB of room on my hard-drive to be set aside. I think it is in Control Panel, Performance Information and Tools, Advanced Tools, Adjust the appearance and performance of Windows, Advanced Tab, and under Virtual Memory press the "Change" button. In the next window that pops up make sure "Automatically manage paging file sizes for all drives" is NOT selected. Then hit the "Custom" check box and enter numbers for an initial size (I said 4GB) and maximum size (I said 9GB) and press "Set". System managed size and No Paging File should not be selected.

Even though windows recommends only 3GB of space I am currently using 6GB. Windows will use space on your hard drive as if it were RAM. A Solid State drive will NOT appreciate you doing this, they are not the same as memory chips, so the risk is yours.

Then update your video drivers, just because.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 27 Mar 2017 09:47
by roughcollie
Thanks for the tip gnargenox. 

My video card driver is up to date. I tried what you said and set virtual memory to 9 GBs, and the initial size to 4GBs. I also changed my display settings for max performance, and reduced loading speed to 8. It did run a lot smoother this time, but still after about 8 minutes my screen went black, the music became just a flat tone, and my computer wouldn't respond to anything. I even let it sit for 5 minutes like that without touching anything to see if it would come back, and it didn't. :'(

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 27 Mar 2017 11:51
by Gnargenox
roughcollie I would suggest grabbing a musical instrument and panhandling at the bus stop in order to upgrade your video card.
$25 brings you light-years ahead, well close to it.
compare1.jpg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 27 Mar 2017 16:31
by VoyagerX
idk if you already solved the crash issue but i would make sure windows itself is not causing any problem. in my personal experience with another video game (which did not required much of a graphic card) the problem was due to some file called ntdll.dll (a windows´ file). Although i reinstalled win7 in that time to have a fresh system the problem still occurred. And as Gnargenox said.. your system is config is good but i would also doubt of your graphic card.. idk. Although if i had to recommend a graphic card for your i5, nvidia gtx 750 ti will take your system thousands of light years away

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 28 Mar 2017 19:59
by commander1
I have started exploring SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0 Beta and I have been using my Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick in spacecraft mode to control flight path & speed. While twisting the joystick produces Yaw left & right as expected, pulling back on the joystick yields pitch down, pushing forward yields pitch up, joystick left causes roll right, and joystick right produces roll left. Changing the axis +- values in the SE Ship Controls doesn't seem to change joystick behavior. Keyboard commands work as expected for roll, pitch and yaw. My Logitech Extreme 3D Pro is properly calibrated via the Logitech profiler utility. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

P.S. Awesome program! I am enjoying & learning a lot. Thanks Space Engineer...

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 29 Mar 2017 22:10
by N0B0DY
Atmospheric Extinction does not work fro Spacecrafts:
► Show Spoiler


I was trying to recreate the famous Rogue 1 Death Star rise scene :)

Gnargenox, I have reported something similar in the old forum but for catalog objects, not for procedural. In particular if you go to planet mercury, enter its shadow and have it selected (or unselected - can't remember exactly) you will notice that it disappears when the sun drops below the horizon. Unfortunately I can't link the description from the old site because the old site appears to be off-line - I have also posted a video link there. OK I found the videos:
► Show Spoiler

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 30 Mar 2017 17:38
by Angelica Pickles
In particular if you go to planet mercury, enter its shadow and have it selected (or unselected - can't remember exactly) you will notice that it disappears when the sun drops below the horizon

Yes i reported this too, and this happens with many planets and it is when they are NOT selected and in between the star and camera (or in shadow) same happens in certain systems with 3D objects too regardless if the 3d object is selected.

However, i believe Vladimir has fixed this for the next release it is in the bug fixed list here:

viewtopic.php?t=31

- Fixed disappearing of a planet when camera is in it's shadow and planet is unselected

Weather this expands to disappearing 3d objects in shadow I'm not sure, i would assume the issue was related.

A.P