Page 96 of 97

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 13 Jul 2019 23:23
by JackDole
TobyCasterTroy wrote:
Source of the post So, I just bought the game last night and whenever I try to launch the game a message pops up saying "Your system has an obsolete OpenGL version. Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware. seWindow::CreateGLCoreContext(): Can't set a pixel format: code 0x0. AMD Radeon HD 7700 graphics

Post your 'se.log'. It is in the 'system' directory of SpaceEngine.
But you probably need to update your video driver.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jul 2019 06:58
by f2d
Taellyn wrote:
Like a planet that is furthest from a star is the hottest one. And found another system where each planet had the exact same temperatures. Help please!

By the way, location code ("RS XX-XX", etc) of the place you are in may be copied by pressing F3 → current → Ctrl+C, so you don't have to type it by hand and possibly make a mistake in some digit.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jul 2019 07:51
by Taellyn
I've run into this issue with each planetary system I visit. Here is an example: RSC 1229-89-2-28-54 (Located in the Triangulum Galaxy [M33]) The 4th planet is hotter than the first two, the ringed 8th planet is is hotter than the 6th planet. The 10th planet is hotter than 6th. I just may not understand planetary dynamics, as much as I thought I did. 

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jul 2019 11:16
by JackDole
Taellyn wrote:
Source of the post I've run into this issue with each planetary system I visit. Here is an example: RSC 1229-89-2-28-54 (Located in the Triangulum Galaxy [M33]) The 4th planet is hotter than the first two, the ringed 8th planet is is hotter than the 6th planet. The 10th planet is hotter than 6th. I just may not understand planetary dynamics, as much as I thought I did.

That seems completely normal to me.
You have to pay attention to the greenhouse effect.
For example, the 4th planet has a greenhouse effect of over 500 degrees. (And also the 5th planet.) (Just like Venus in our solar system!)
The eighth and the tenth planet are an ice giant and a gas giant, which have very high atmospheric pressure and high atmospheric density (and possibly high levels of radiation) and are by nature probably warmer than rocky planets.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jul 2019 12:50
by Taellyn
JackDole

  Thank you for your response. Should have thought of that in the first place!  :)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 10:39
by maticitidal
I am having problems with stars, they are not visible, only the corona is visible, can I get help with this, Stars are enable, due to them being seen in the picture as your usual stars

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 16:29
by Mosfet
maticitidal, please attach your se.log file wich is in your SpaceEngine \system folder.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jul 2019 18:51
by maticitidal
Here

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 20 Jul 2019 19:29
by maticitidal
Uh Mosfet?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 20 Jul 2019 23:50
by JackDole
maticitidal wrote:

You have an 'Intel (R) HD Graphics 2000' graphics card. SpaceEngine does not work with this video card.
If you have a laptop with a second, switchable graphics card, make sure in the settings for this graphics card that SE uses that card.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jul 2019 07:06
by fxmodels
I cant create new topics for some reason, perhaps because I am new to the forum? But that isnt the issue.. I have noticed and couldnt find mention of it (I looked), that SE has incorrect distances to stars in some cases that off pretty badly.

SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

So how can I go about fixing erroneous distances? I am willing to make it a task I do on an update basis to repair the star catalogs. I love to use SE in m astronomy lectures around the world and would like it to be more accurate.

Happy to help here! Again sorry I cannot post a new topic so I am tagging this on to an existent bug post.

Marc Dantonio

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jul 2019 07:42
by fxmodels
  a silly question:

I cannot seem to post a new topic but only reply to existing topics. Is this because I am a new user? I only see "post reply" in the forums,

I use SE in my lectures around the world in Astronomy and love this program... Would love to contribute somehow.

Marc Dantonio

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jul 2019 07:44
by fxmodels
fxmodels wrote:
SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

So how can I go about fixing erroneous distances? I am willing to make it a task I do on an update basis to repair the star catalogs. I love to use SE in m astronomy lectures around the world and would like it to be more accurate.

Happy to help here! Again sorry I cannot post a new topic so I am tagging this on to an existent bug post.

Marc Dantonio

Ok I was wrong on this... My bad!  I didnt realize I had moved several LY away from the earth... I did it while fat fingering... Sorry...

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jul 2019 08:16
by JackDole
fxmodels wrote:
Source of the post I cant create new topics for some reason, perhaps because I am new to the forum? But that isnt the issue.. I have noticed and couldnt find mention of it (I looked), that SE has incorrect distances to stars in some cases that off pretty badly.

SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

For errors in the SpaceEngine catalogs, there is this thread: COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE
(So you do not need to create your own thread!)

Besides, what kind of SpaceEngine version do you have?
For me, Sirius is 8.44 light years and Procyon 11.4 light years from the Sun.
scr00182.jpg
scr00184.jpg

This is true for SE 0990 and also for SE 0980 and SE 0.980_e.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 Jul 2019 08:56
by fxmodels
JackDole wrote:
fxmodels wrote:
Source of the post I cant create new topics for some reason, perhaps because I am new to the forum? But that isnt the issue.. I have noticed and couldnt find mention of it (I looked), that SE has incorrect distances to stars in some cases that off pretty badly.

SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

For errors in the SpaceEngine catalogs, there is this thread: COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE
(So you do not need to create your own thread!)

Besides, what kind of SpaceEngine version do you have?
For me, Sirius is 8.44 light years and Procyon 11.4 light years from the Sun.
scr00182.jpgscr00184.jpg
This is true for SE 0990 and also for SE 0980 and SE 0.980_e.

HI Jack,
Yea I caught my error as mentioned in the post just above your response. Sorry for the exercise there... But I still cant post new topics... Is that a new user thing? After so many replies I can post new topics?
Thanks...
Marc Dantonio